We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,997)
Filter reviews
2,997 results
Traveller rating
1,778
925
216
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,778
925
216
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature loungeopera houserooftop barvietnam warpillow menuexcellent locationbreakfast buffetwithin walking distanceluxury hotelfantastic hotelthe ground floorcentral locationpark hyattan upgradenotre dame cathedralthe heart of the citypost office
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 2,997 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is historic, clean, beautiful, and in a fabulous location. The room was spacious and had incredible views, the breakfast is phenomenal (sushi, congee, cold cuts, fruit, cereal, French toast, bacon, etc.), and the service is superb. It was absolutely worth the money to have a car from the hotel pick us up at the airport when our flight arrived around midnight. The inly thing that seemed out of place was the shower/bathtub. Looks like everything had been recently updated but that.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, Director of Sales & Marketing at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear WhitO5214,

Thank you for the nice feedback and recognising so many positives aspects of your stay with us last month @ CaravelleSaigon – from your seamless arrival to daily breakfast, and location taking in the heritage and buzz that is Saigon. 2016 will see an enhancement programme of our accommodation that will see the your bathroom comments rectified while maintaining the fabulous water pressure we enjoy.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Caravelle Saigon in the not too distant future

Carl V. Sladen
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Typical city centre hotel, very opulent in the public areas, rooms were straightforward but nicely done.

The in house bars and restaurants were all excellent. The rooftop bar Saigon Saigon is a must for cocktails; giving you an opportunity to soak up some of the city atmosphere before heading out for the evening. The quality and scope of the buffet breakfast was truly something to behold – not to mention the enormous gingerbread house created by the kitchen as part of the Christmas decorations!

Special mention to the front of house staff, in particular Dat – who couldn’t have been more helpful during check in / out and helping us to organise day trips too. Really very friendly and genuinely pleased to help you make the most of your stay.

Caravelle Hotel is a great central point to serve as a base from which to explore the city. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, Director of Sales & Marketing at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear SteveLemon,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous feedback on our recently enhanced public areas, rooftop Saigon Saigon bar, sumptuous breakfast, and of course, Dat, one of our consistently recognised team. Lastly, each year Caravelle gets into the spirit of the festive season, 2015 was the same, and we will again in 2016.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon and/or next Christmas to Caravelle Saigon

Carl V. Sladen
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Our multi-night stay at the Caravelle was our last stop in Vietnam and it's a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Because the hotel is large, I found it to be a tad impersonal after the very friendly and helpful service we enjoyed in smaller properties throughout the country.
The rooms were very up-to-date and large with elegant, well-appointed bathrooms. The bed was truly wonderful -- full of perfect pillows and comfortable linens. Best bed in any hotel we visited. Several reviewers have mentioned that the rooms could be in any big city and this is true, so if you are looking or atmosphere or a sense of history, this might not be your hotel.
Of special note is the amazing breakfast! The offerings were endless and everything I tasted was delicious. More interesting was the presentation -- in a country where all food seems to come to the table dressed in it's most beautiful garnishes, this display was unsurpassed. It was beautiful, abundant and a visual feast as well as a gastronomic one. It's worth staying at the Caravelle to experience this breakfast!
A fun option also is a trip to the roof top bar for cocktails, tapas, and lovely view of Saigon by night. Ben, one of the bar managers, made this evening choice into a good one by his humor, welcome and light-hearted conversation.
While we enjoyed our stay at the Caravelle, I do have to mention two disappointments: we had an odd experience with a concierge who did not seem to want to book us a dinner at the hotel restaurant (we never did eat there) and, I had some long black hair (not my own blonde ones) that found their way onto my bathroom floor during the stay. I addressed both of these problems when filling out the hotel's after-stay survey and received a very prompt response from the hotel manager who detailed the actions taken after my comments. I appreciated the follow-up.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabrinaByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, Director of Sales & Marketing at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear SabrinaByron,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Caravelle experience and very pleased to read the positives, in particular our breakfast which keeps getting accolades, Ben and his Saigon Saigon Bar team, and our beds, which again prove very popular. We were concerned (hence the response) relating to the two comments you have made and will continue to follow these through for future guests. Lastly, our heritage and place in HCMC’s history, most notably during the 1960’s and 70’s is an important facet to the hotel and we wish we had more icons and momentos from the period – we continue to source photos (have 7 on show in Saigon Saigon Bar) and additions to our history book. We hope to have more for you on your next visit and breakfasts with us!

Wishing you continued safe travels!

Carl V. Sladen
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

You cannot beat the location -- it's in the center of the tourist attractions and high energy all around you! It's a great spot from which to experience Saigon for the first time. I would say it's good value for your money -- very clean and comfortable. The rooftop bar is a nice option and the pool is lovely. I do not recommend the spa, it wasn't worth it. Better to find an option outside the hotel. Our room had a leak that they were unable to fix after multiple attempts, which was a minor nuisance. They felt bad and gave us complimentary fruit trays, though would have been nice if they discounted the room. The beds are very comfortable and we were able to request a quiet room, high up and away from the street noise. One of the main shopping thoroughfares is right outside your door and there's a lovely view of the Opera House from the rooftop and some guest rooms (though these rooms are noisier). All in all, I recommend, especially for a first-time visitor.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MellowYazNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, Director of Sales & Marketing at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear Yashamidi,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed experience of your stay with us last month – we are happy to see the overall recommendation including value for money and location to future visitors of HCMC, however we wish to follow up further regarding both the spa and your guest room comments in order to rectify the challenges faced.

Wishing you continued safe travels from the Heart of Saigon and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to HCMC.

Carl V. Sladen
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Locations dont get much better - in the middle of District 1, right next to the Opera, and within easy access of all the attractions of central Saigon.

Stayed in the Tower, which has great views. The beds are incredibly comfotable. The mattresses have 7cm comforters and toppers as well - which made them exceptionally comfortable. The pillows were also fantastic. Heaven! As a result, I slept incredibly well, despite the jet lag!

The swimming pool is fairly large, especially for a downtown hotel, and very relaxing, not overcrowded and not particularly noisy given the central location. at the time of visit, there were never more than about 5-6 people around the pool - the number of staff matched if not exceeded the number of guests on occasion!

The hotel has a number of restaurants/ bars, of which Saigon Saigon roof top bar is a must visit - it may only be on the 10th floor ( other nearby hotels have outside bars on the 23rd) the views over downtown, especially if there is a decent sunset are pretty spectacular, and you still feel the buzz of the city. There is a good selection of wines, beers and cocktails served as well as a food menu showcasing food from the different hotel restaurants. They also have live music most nights

Breakfast was served in the ground floor restaurant, Nineteen, which in the evenings serves a large seafood buffet, which looked very impressive. However, Breakfast is probably one of the most impressive in terms of displays and choice that I have experienced. The choice was substantial, with western, asian and vietnamese options available, as well as copious amounts of fresh fruit, pastries, sushi - they also did VERY crispy bacon - excellent.

The Caravelle is definitely worth staying at when in Saigon. It has the right combination of location, quality of service and comfort. By contrast I found the Sheaton, which is located on the same block, to be rather impersonal.

I am staying at 2 other hotels in Saigon during my visit so it will be interesting to compare, but I had a very positive experience of the Caravelle and would strongly recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank JPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, Director of Sales & Marketing at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear JPXC,

What a fabulous endorsement! Thank you for your kind comments and recognising so many positives aspects of your recent stay with us @ CaravelleSaigon including our location, accommodation, and culinary experiences in Saigon Saigon Bar and Nineteen - both being favourites for local and travelers! We wish you continued enjoyable times in Saigon and a welcome return to Caravelle soon. Until then, wishing you ongoing safe travels over the Festive season.

Carl V. Sladen
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews