We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotel Website
$150
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Trip.com$149
Priceline$131
ZenHotels.com$178
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,079)
Filter reviews
3,079 results
Traveller rating
1,218
1,153
432
150
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,218
1,153
432
150
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar five star hotel walking street vietnam city district foyer hcm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,079 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2020

Recently, my wife and I, on a 30 day trip through SE Asia, had the pleasure of staying at the Rex Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon).

We picked this hotel for its location and history. The Rex was where the US government briefed the press every day during the Vietnam war.

The Rex is located walking distance of many of the most desirable sites, including City Hall, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office, Museum of Revolution, Opera House and the Ben Thanh Market.

And, we would highly recommend that you walk along Nguyen Hue (directly out the front door) to the river. At night, this street fills with throngs of locals, enjoying the cooler temperatures and the company of friends/family. This boulevard appears to be where many young people gather to “date”, lounging on the back of their motorbikes. We think of it as HCMC’s equivalent of the “drive-in” movies of our youth!

In addition, the Rex has a great roof-top bar, with expansive views of the city.

Important Tip. Make sure that your room has a window and city view before booking. Their website’s room photos can be somewhat misleading.

After our great experience, we would welcome another stay at the Rex!

Date of stay: March 2020
3  Thank colth677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
First Impression Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2020

Dear colth677,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that you had good stay at Rex. We can not wait to serve you again in very near future.

With best regards,

Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2020 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my bday city break traveling from PhuQuoc island.
Booked it based on the internet photographs and God we did had a “surprise” when we arrived there :-)
A blast from the past, outdated hotel and in very bad need of upgrading.
Good location if you want to walk about.
Roof top terrace which we were so looking for to seeing the view was 10 years older than God! Food and drinks so overpriced for what it is.
Breakfast was below average.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mads2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
First Impression Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2020

Dear mads2787,

Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us was not as you expected. We wish you all the best.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

A charming old dame that holds true to its history and legacy and symbolises the democracy of Vietnam and witnesses transformation of Ho Chi Minh. However the room can be more modernised to meet business travellers needs

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
First Impression Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2020

Dear Peter L,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to learn that your recent experience at Rex was good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,

Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

This is my 2nd time (1st time in Feb 2017) staying at this hotel for my business trip. Booked the Premier room for 2 weeks. Got one free airport pickup. Nice spacious 32 sq ft. room with wooden flooring, huge toilet, shower area with rain shower and bathtub. No bidet in toilet. No laundry line in toilet. Bedroom slippers and bathrobe provided.

Convenient for food choices as it is located very central of district 1. Hotel staff very helpful in arranging taxi for my commute 1.5 hours away. Hotel breakfast on 5th floor has fresh pho, egg station, fresh fruits, salad, buns and etc, quite a decent breakfast spread. Love the daily fresh fruits provided in the room. I also love the switch panel where I can turn all lights off using the Master control. Just note there is no plug nearby the working desk for charging laptop and no plug beside the bed for charging phone, so I charge it where the hot water boiler is.

The hotel is wheelchair friendly but it may not be too convenient because it has random steps around, although a ramp is available. There are also various pillow choices available. Quiet time in hotel is 11pm to 8am, but rooms are generally quite sound-proof which is really a plus point.

Room tip: Room windows may not be opened if it is facing corridor.
Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
First Impression Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Dear Jamie L,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that you had good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future,

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

This is second time in last 3 years I have stayed at the Rex. Its situated right in the heart of district 1, close to great bars, restaurants. Rooms are large and very comfortable, fast check ins, and very friendly and helpful staff. The Rooftop bar is one of the best in Saigon, great food (best Pho in Saigon in my opinion) Amazing entertainment in the evening, and the view of this colouful city at night is wonderful. Will definately come back ....

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 70plustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
First Impression Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Dear 70plustravel,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to learn that your second stay with us was great. We can’t wait to serve you again in your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews