We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WE LOVE THIS PLACE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
Ranked #21 of 3,109 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: New York Italian. Warm casual eatery
taipei
Level Contributor
411 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“WE LOVE THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Ok so it might not be authentic Italian (and it is after all a "American-Italian") but who cares when you get served very hearty Italian style food, short but quality winelist, cozy setting, great 50's/60's music and a rare find in Saigon-friendly service. We have been 4 or 5 times since it opened and the owner has created something really special here. Very rare to get served free dips and bread plus a nice glass of sparkling wine for the ladies before you order, plus an aperitif for all at the end. We have had pizza, pasta, salads, chicken and pork dishes and all have been tasty and filling. 1 standout dish was the starter of courgette flowers tempura style filled with goats cheese-superb. Carbonara was good too with nice meaty bacon bits and using Pecorino cheese which gives it a more pungent taste. (Yes, it does have cream so don't go if you're an Italian gastronom). Nice bottle of Pinot Grigio went well with most of the dishes and then to finish was 2 outstanding desserts-chocolate fondant and a wonderful flaky pastry and cream strawberry concoction, simple but superbly executed. The owner is a really friendly, chatty guy who has been there every time we have visited, and unlike many other foreign owners here he knows when to chat and when not to. I can highly recommend this place, but if you need a table on the buzzy 1st floor I recommend you book-twice we've had to go round the block until a table became available, although there are more tables upstairs on the quieter 2nd floor. A great find.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    367
    108
    47
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic NYC-style Italian food & atmosphere in the heart of Saigon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We had the pleasure of spending time with the restaurant's owner, Tony Fox, as we ate, and learned about his history as a restauranteur all around the world. He brings his authentic and valuable experience to his restaurant, ensuring that every bite of food you have the pleasure of eating is exactly as it should be. Besides the fact that the food is just straight up delicious Italian food, reminiscent of our neighborhood's local fare back in NYC, the atmosphere is cozy and classy, rounding off the whole experience as extremely enjoyable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO THOSE SICK OF VIETNAMESE FOOD!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ekasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only ate there once, but will again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Brand new restaurant-- but fantastic!! Of four people we all ordered a different meal and each was great.Nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank ronijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks for a perfect evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My girlfriend and I were on the look-out for some Western cuisine as a change from all the delicious Vietnamese we had been eating. Wow, did we choose right with Ciao Bella! Besides my girlfriend receiving a complimentary glass of wine on arrival, we were also furnished with three baskets of bread with a selection of delicious dips, and a glass of limoncello each to round off our meal. Both my girlfriend's sea bass and my linguine puttanesca were delectable, as was our goats cheese and aubergine entree. I loved the musical selection of Italian Opera and Barry White, and Tony the owner is an absolute champ. I would recommend this place to anyone who is craving great Italian.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loose NY Italian, totally overated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Tried the lunch set (185,000 VND or so) with my wife.

There was some sort of sour liquidy thing which came with the bread, and this caught me with surprise, since it was not something that would qualify as a sauce. Just some sour liquid.

The Ceasar salad with extremely concentrated dressing was not edible. Salt above limit.

The fish was underseasoned and the caponata was so crisp and felt very wierd. I guess the Celery in the Caponata was totally under cooked.

I would just say that this place is an ordinary and average loose Italian you find overseas. Should not be in top 5 of the list.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank HCMEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing