We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real family experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 892 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandra Vic Australia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A real family experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We chose this little gem from reviews on TA and are glad we did . From the moment we arrived we were looked after better than any of us expected with helpful advice to help with sim cards and most of all the help that was offered when our daughter had a day/night of vomiting . I would highly recommend this little home to anybody wanting to experience life as a backpacker, even with kids.

Room Tip: Just experience life in a hostel with a Vietnamese family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    124
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
95
131
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel in December 2011. found the staff helpfull and the rooms quiet and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodster554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Having had little backpacking experience, I was somewhat uneased to walk through a small alleyway to find this guesthouse. The cheap neon sign out the front did little more to reassure. It certainly is a ''guesthouse'' in the sense that a fairly large family lives in the premise and rents out rooms to backpackers. It's funny seeing the oldest son having to sleep on the couch near the entrance each night, and being woken up at all hours to let in drunken guests.
We requested a private room, and although they told us we could fit 5 people this turned out not to be the case, and I was left to stay in one of the dorms. This turned out to be a win, because the private rooms are actually in another building about 20 metres away, where the majority of the owner's family reside. I found it quite awkward to have to sneak past a bed full of sleeping girls to get to my mates' room.
The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. The hostel makes its own simple-to-read map with all the major attractions and how to get there marked out. The free breakfast in the morning was made to order by the mum and the grandmum, giving that át home' feel you expect from a B & B
Aside from being in a seedy alleyway, the guesthouse is in my view perfectly sitauted - just close enough to the main hub of restaurants and pubs that you can walk, but far away enough that you can get a good night's sleep if you so desire.
All in all, for 22 000 VND (~1USD) a night this was incredible value, even by southeast asia standards. I'd higly recommend it to any backpacker.

Room Tip: Avoid the private rooms, and try to get a dorm on one of the lower levels - the stairs are a hassle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at Ngoc Thao Guesthouse twice in November, 2011. The guesthouse is run by a lovely family who were welcoming, friendly and remembered our names and our stay details.

There are several types of rooms to choose from - private share and dorms. The private rooms were clean and cool (perfect to get out of the Ho Chi heat!) and the dorm rooms were great as well.

The owners were so helpful, recommended great restaurants and went out of their way to provide excellent service. Booking Taxis, tours and transfers, and I didn't feel any pressure to do so.

We messed up our travel plans and had to stay an extra night (hence staying in both private and dorm rooms!) but the owners were just lovely and accommodating.

I would recommend this guesthouse to my friends. It was a great place and central to the backpacker district in Saigon.

Room Tip: The price of a private room is really reasonable and I would recommend if you want a break from a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I wanted to write this review because the people in this guesthouse were amazing...

As this was my first time in Asia, i wanted to stay somewhere nice at least for the first few days to find my feet and this place was exactly what i needed.

They made bookings for tours and my onward bus, at cheaper prices than the travel agents on the street.

Also the communal area was a great place to meet and chat to the other guests, and they have 3 pcs free to use all 24 hours a day, as well as free wifi.

After check out they even looked after my bag whilst i went on a 2 day mekong trip, then let me have a shower on my return.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with a window if you prefer, as the internal rooms, which i had, dont and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Hulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#107 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
785 reviews
0.5 km away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 892 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 892 in Ho Chi Minh City
239 reviews
0.3 km away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 595 in Ho Chi Minh City
719 reviews
0.1 km away
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
#34 of 892 in Ho Chi Minh City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Property: Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Address: 4 241, PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 892 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): ₹ 775 - ₹ 1,098
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOCTHAO Guesthouse was opened in Nowember 2006. It is friendly, bright, clean and hospitable family run.Located in a quiet alley off Pham Ngu Lao street, in the heart of Backpacker area in District 1.We have different kinds of room according to your budget. Every room has air conditioning, ceiling fan, double bed and cable TV with more than 70 channels. Most of the room have a fridge. Our rooms are cleaned and fresh towels is provided daily.Breakfast is included in the price bettwen 6:30 and 10:00 daily. In addition we provide free internet and WiFi in every room is also provided fast internet with cable personal computer.Besides, we're ready to provide many services such as pick up and drop off at the airport by taxi, information about the city and tour, money exchange, laundry, baggage store.Pick up service!Tours desk!We are looking forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing