We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Choice for Saigon Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #59 of 444 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Choice for Saigon Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent little hotel right in the hustle and bustle of Saigon! As other reviews mentioned don't be put off by the alley way entrance because in the morning it becomes a hive of activity as the market swings into action. We thought is was an incredible local touch. The rooms them selves are spacious and clean. Beds are hard, as are most in Vietnam but I thought it was comfortable. The breakfast the next day was the best pho I had during the entire trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    191
    36
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
268
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed in the deluxe rooms in the Cat Huy and were pleased with the size of them. Don't be discouraged when arriving at the alleyway that the hotel is in, the hotel is clean and comfortable and quiet which is always a priority for us. The market in the alleyway is only there for the morning and you certainly couldn't hear it from room 602 at the back of the hotel. Hotel staff are helpful, breakfast is basic but adequate. The location of the hotel is right in the backpacker area of district 1 so very easy to walk or get to anywhere.
AS with anywhere in April, the air-con struggled but room 602 was fine. There is no lift so be prepared to walk up stairs.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on a high floor at the back if you are prepared to walk up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlock1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The driver was waiting at the airport with an older but comfortably air-conditioned ride to the hotel, At first glance the narrow alley didn't look too inviting but the friendly staff soon overcame any concerns. Being off the main street in one of the busiest cities in the world makes this an amazingly peaceful hotel.
The staff don’t all have good English so explaining a small problem with the lights was a bit difficult but the room had loads of different lights so a problem with just one wasn't a big issue. Breakfast is really fresh often being purchased from the seller next door after you have ordered it. If you are in a hurry there is always bread, fruit or an omelette made in the hotel.
The bizarre list of the entire contents of the room with a replacement price was a bit odd and in fact no one took any notice of the small differences with the No of items listed and what was actually in the room.
Saigon is all very busy and noisy, but we never felt threatened in any way, quite the opposite as people students especially were keen to talk to us and practise their English.
The park near the hotel is great in the mornings and evenings when people come out to chat and exercise and the circus is in the park. The major market is nearby and the centre of town is only a short walk away

Room Tip: Avoid the single room on the ground floor its likely to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-norf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and communicating directly with the hotel. we paid US$36 a night for a room with a balcony - what a bargain! We had room 402. The hotel is in a little lane way in sector one (the old quarter)...and I highly recommend staying here - the lane way is a saving grace far enough away from the madness of the main roads! The staff are very friendly, the free breakfast to die for, and the rooms are like apartments...there is a flat screen TV, fridge, and airconditioner in every room....just really good value for money in the heart of the best part of town!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location: Good. Quite convenient. It's along an alley where vendors of every kind can be found. But inside the hotel is clean, safe and quiet. You have to leave your shoes/ slippers when you enter the hotel. And don't forget to leave your valuables/ key at the reception safe.

Room: The room we had was on the 5th floor with windows - no elevator so you need to climb till the 5th.
Aircon, tv, and bed are comfortable. Nothing really much to see on those windows but cramped houses.

Service: Okay. They will promptly do as you request. Like the towels we requested, tours, etc..

Breakfast is for free - you can choose to have noodles or egg with bread, it includes banana and tea/ coffee for drink.

Note: we were told by the reception in the hotel to be vigilant of bag/ camera snatchers when we go outside.
There are books about Vietnam and maps you can borrow at the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#24 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.2 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#72 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#67 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 km away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#68 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#42 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Property: Cat Huy Hotel
Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,838 - ₹ 2,246
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat Huy Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing