We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giang Son Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 875 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The staff are really lovely and the larger $25 dollar rooms are pretty nice, very clean and have a good bathroom. Breakfast is included, it's simple but hey for $25 who is complaining. No elevators so the four flights of stairs may be a bit tough if you're a bit of a sook.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    130
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
25
153
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were actually looking for Giang Son 2 but I guess we got confused. Didn't matter because it was great. Clean (and the best smelling linen I've head in SEA) big enough room to move around but not so big that the AC doesn't cool it. Had a fridge which is always a bonus. Breakfast is simple but hey it's an included meal. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great location but down the back ally so it's quiet and its mere steps from where the bus from Cambodia dropped us off. I do not recommend using the massage place across the street, it's dirty and they got oil all over my shorts which stained them!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in the Giang Son 2. It was a very reasonable rate - £47 for three nights for a "large" double. The room was really small but well designed. The bathroom was not really a separate room - just partitioned off from the room - but the shower worked well. Everything was modern and newly done. There was air con but no room safe.
We had a bit of an issue when we arrived. They tried to say that they didn't have a room for us because some other guests had stayed on. We didn't accept their offer to go to another hotel in the street (they didn't offer their sister hotel) and they eventually backed down, saying it was because we had requested a room on the lower floor, which wasn't available. Not sure if this was mis-communication but our stay here was quite pleasant in the end.
The staff were really helpful and friendly and the location is great if you want to stay in the backpacker district but still have a quiet night as it is in a quiet lane away from the main traffic and buzz of the surrounding streets.
The breakfast consisted of eggs and bananas and some crusty bread. The orange juice was squash. It was uninspiring but considering the price, you can't complain.
They had a couple of computers in reception which worked well, but no printer. They organised a bus journey to Dalat for us and a flight from Dalat to Danang. We may have paid slightly over the odds but it took the hassle out of going round all the agents. The bus journey to Dalat was very comfortable for minimal cost.

Room Tip: If you want a window in your room, make sure you specify this. Some rooms don't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

new bigger rooms, quiet (due to its slightly off-the-main road location), privacy of using the internet as 3 machines are tucked in a corner on the second floor makes this a value for money stay whatever way you see it. Free breakfast provided (with very strong lime juice).

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fellcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Surprising find in a fairly quiet little lane near a main street. Very friendly staff. Good value

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 km away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#17 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
92 reviews
0.2 km away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
562 reviews
0.0 km away
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
#29 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Vinh Chung Hotel
Vinh Chung Hotel
#15 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
142 reviews
0.5 km away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
0.0 km away
Phan Lan Hotel
Phan Lan Hotel
#18 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Property: Giang Son Guesthouse
Address: 14 283, D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 875 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,035 - ₹ 1,488
Hotel Class:1 star — Giang Son Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Giang Son Guesthouse Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing