We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”

KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 2,628 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: KOTO stands for "Know one, teach one." KOTO is one of the most unique experiences in Vietnam for travelers who can enjoy a meal at a real working vocational training restaurant operated by one of the leading non-profit social enterprises in Vietnam. KOTO is a unique not-for-profit social enterprise that started in 1999 in Hanoi. The program targets at-risk and disadvantaged youth—aged 16 to 22—with a 24-month-long training program in vocational hospitality, life skills and English. KOTO’s Vision Positive permanent change for at-risk and disadvantaged youth through the transformative power of social enterprise. KOTO’s Mission We believe at-risk and disadvantaged youth should have access to a holistic program that provides career training and life skills in a nurturing environment, where each builds self confidence and exercises their right to live a life of dignity.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Truly amazing ambiance, friendly staff and great high quality food, all coming with a reasonable price tag. I must say, this was the best food I ever had, top notch quality!

No visit to Hanoi is complete without a visit to Koto! Book before you go! I recommend to ask for a table upstairs.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review! We will make sure that we pass it on to our team!

We look forward to seeing you again.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited as a group of 8 with 4 adults and 4 teenage children. Great mixture of western and local dishes which please the teenage children and adults. Interesting to read the history of the training restaurant, and see the pictures on the wall. The waitress and waiters despite being in training were wonderful, polite, and attentive. While it was the most expensive meal we have had in Hanoi, we left very full, and the food was worth it, not to mention we are more than happy to support this great endeavour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DBH000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful fresh food. Great service. Menu covered western and local dishes. Free wifi. A nice place for lunch after the Literature Museum

Thank ToneLoc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review! We will make sure that we pass it on to our team!

We look forward to seeing you again.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a special trip to eat at this restaurant. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent and the project a great one to support. The restaurant was busy when we went but the service was very good. After the meal, the manager was helpful in organising a ‘normal priced’ taxi back to the old quarter for us.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for your great review for KOTO Hanoi Restaurant!
We are very grateful to have received these positive comments. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the quality of our food and service. Receiving comments like yours keeps us motivated and striving to exceed the expectations of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon and trust that you will enjoy trying other dishes on the menu.
Best regards.
KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the place on April 1 2018 with the family (2 adults of 40 and 2 kids of 10).

At our arrival, the waiter was very friendly and found a nice place close to our luggage (we had to catch a train just after).

After being seated I realised that my phone had just been stolen and the waiter had done everything he could do to retrieve it. He even joined me in a taxi to make some research.

Apart from that part, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. We went for the Hanoi menu. I took the duck and my wife the prawns. Just delicious.

On top of this the concept to help children is simply great!

If you're in Hanoi, it's worth eating there.

Marc

Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOTO_ONLINE, Manager at KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words.

KOTO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KOTO Van Mieu Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing