We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool ceramics market”

Bat Trang Ceramic Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 42.00*
and up
Hanoi Full-Day City Tour
Ranked #1 of 207 Shopping in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This traditional pottery-making village is an hour from Hanoi. Visitors can participate in pottery-making workshops and purchase already-made goods from local artisans.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cool ceramics market”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Bat Trang was a fun market to visit. I took someone's advice to walk down to the river for the view and would never pass this advice on. Stick to the market area, that's my opinion anyway.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    145
    107
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely pottery”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This little village is a car trip out of Hanoi but well worth it for the lovely pottery which is very well priced.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So much repetition”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The products are available in Hanoi and it wasn't really worth driving all the way to Bat Trang to see so many shops selling the same stuff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“back to the tradition”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

learn how to make some useful things for your life, that's sound so great

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank gaja_2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun day out!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went there as part of a day tour with Hanoikids. It was really fun for young and old alike. Unfortunately, my husband & I absolutely suck at making pottery but the kids had success. It's really interesting to get your hands all dirty and see the final work of art after you paint it. This is somewhere that I'd definately go back again.

Bat Trang can be visited by yourselves but you'd have problems communicating. If you can get a local Vietnamese to bring you, all the better. I'm thankful that I did not sign up with a tour company for this place as most charge a pretty high price which in my opinion, makes it not really worth it then.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank icepeachtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bat Trang Ceramic Village also viewed

 
 

Been to Bat Trang Ceramic Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing