We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:45 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best street food tour

The tour guide Tony was so nice and have wide knowledge about the streets in Hanoi. All the... read more

Reviewed 13 July 2018
IngoH377
Street food tour

Had a great time; the tour guide Sim was excellent made it very enjoyable. All round wonderful... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2017
JoshuaC2766
via mobile
Read all 116 reviews
  
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
72
15
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
15
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The tour guide Tony was so nice and have wide knowledge about the streets in Hanoi. All the restaurant that he takes us are so good in quality and price

Thank IngoH377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

MiMi, our guide, is very friendly and a knowledgeable person. We had an interesting tour with her and learned a lot about food and culture!

Thank Cocobanana_7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Had a great time; the tour guide Sim was excellent made it very enjoyable. All round wonderful experience.

Thank JoshuaC2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have a habit of wondering around cities outside the "tourist zones" and into the local areas.

Doing this gives you a better appreciation of the local culture. For example locals use tuk tuks in Siem reap but not in Hanoi where they are only for tourists.

We tried to visit a Bia Hoi on a non tourist street and we're waved away, refused service. This was repeated at multiple establishments across the city.

If you are white or black or anything other than a local, expect to be denied service in low priced areas outside the tourist zones. Street carts and retail stores were no issue, and the food from carts is very good, but don't expect to let the locals to let you join them in sit down street food Bai Hoi

((That said the walk in the real Hanoi was quite fun and my wife had to prevent me from buying a new CNC mill and Tig welder in the construction tool district))

Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Had dinner at the street food area in the old quarter of Hanoi. The area is filled with bars, cafes and resturants thriving with locals and tourists. You wont see a McDonalds or any other giant fast food joint around this area. There is large selection of food for everyone here at a reasonable price. Tried the bbq sizzling pot. All i can say is its such a simple dish, but the taste was to die for. The service was excellent as the staff look after you well. Great food, great atmosphere, and what an amazing culture.

Thank KiwiSanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We did use a guide to negotiate the streets, but the food was wonderful ! Stopped for Pho, something like a kabob, boun cha' and more .. so fun, great people watching, and crazy! Gotta know how to negotiate the traffic, but walking the markets and food stalls is a must!

Thank bayfieldbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This was a great introduction to Hanoi and Vietnam street food. We had an amazing time with AMY as our guide. All the places we visited were delicious. We were hesitant to do the tour at first thinking it wouldn't be authentic but every place we visited was full with locals and I can't stress how tasty everything was. Even though it was street food the places looked clean enough. If you book ask to do it with AMY. She was very energetic, funny and knowledgeable. Overall a great experience and incredible introduction to the delicious food of Vietnam!

Thank slustgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect for when you have just arrived in Hanoi. For 20usd you get to try so much food, along with water, beer & egg coffee at 7 different locations in & around the old quarter. The guides are very helpful & happy to answer any questions.

Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Any food should start a trip to Asia with a food tour! Ms. Moon was so friendly and smart. She described everything in detail in a witty and warm style. You'll taste Bun Cha Hanoi, soups, salads, fruits, etc.. Don't delay.

Thank Boulderflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Me and a friend went on this tour last night, with a massive variety of street food avaliable it was good to have some direction. We paid $15 for the tour, worth every penny. Obviously if you went around yourself you can eat for probably half the cost, but you are paying for the guide. Our guide Tony was really good and full of information on local customs and the places we where eating. Good value for a two hour tour and food :)

Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews