We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Cheap Hotel”
Review of Especen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Especen Hotel
Ranked #224 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have nothing good or bad to say about this place. They helped us when we asked, did a good job, did nothing bad. The rooms were basic/unspectacular, and we had heard of other hotels that had similar services at a lower price (we paid 24$). But for the convenience of organizing our hotel pickup, and sending us off well to the train station, they did a good job of easing us in to what can be a difficult city to navigate.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Girlfriend and I had booked 5 nights at this hotel but left after 4. We wanted to leave more because we had experienced all we wanted to in Hanoi but the hotel had run its race as well.. Hard to sleep not because of the obvious tooting but because of a water pump that started up every time someone flushed the toilet or had a shower. Not overly concerning just slightly frustrating.
Clean and nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the rooms are basic but nice. The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom are clean (they are cleaned every day). We were supplied with clean towels three times during our stay!
One negative, it is a bit loud. Sound seems to travel from the reception area to the rooms, it was fine in the evenings but there is a computer in the lobby downstairs and the staff played music on it from quite early on in the morning... and sang along.
Internet is free (although the wifi was pretty unreliable) and so is printing! A bonus!
Great location, in walking distance of most things. Would highly recommend the day tour of Hanoi. (A reasonable $30 per person)
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I booked an individual room here. It was ok : clean, with tv, fridge. It was really cold and the a/c could not heat the place. Although I know that in superior room, it can heat.

Overall, I was a little deceived that they were not serving breakfast, the wifi did not work in my room, and that my room was so cold (I had to sleep with hat and gloves).

On the other side, the staff was really helpful and nice to me. When I came back from my tour to Sapa, they let me take a shower in one great room, even if I had checkout days ago.

So if you plan to stay at this hotel (which is very well situated by the way), I would recommend not to take an individual room, but a nicer one.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at the Especen for 3 nights at the end of January, 2012. It's decent. I think the best part about it is that it's a bit off the beaten track so it's a lot quieter than most of the hotels in the old quarter, yet it's still a super close walk to all of the hustle and bustle of shops and services. The people at the front desk have very limited english, as we found with most people in Hanoi. Now that we are down south we can see it gets much better. The room was nice, it had a good closet and a decent amount of space in the twin bedded room. The bathroom is the shower (not a seperate one) if that matters to you. One mistake we did make however was booking our trip to Halong Bay through the hotel. We did the Heritage Cruise which was absolutely amazing, and I would totally recommend them, but while on the cruise found out many people had paid half the amount we did. We paid $135, but others paid only $60 when booking through travel agencies which are EVERYWHERE. So I recommend you shop around! Other than that I would recommend this hotel primarily for it's location, and the free internet in the lobby. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs, and no elevator, so try to get a room on the 2nd floor if that's impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippeesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#322 of 606 in Hanoi
193 reviews
0.1 km away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#206 of 606 in Hanoi
427 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#143 of 606 in Hanoi
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#197 of 606 in Hanoi
222 reviews
0.9 km away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#157 of 606 in Hanoi
350 reviews
0.3 km away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#132 of 606 in Hanoi
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Especen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Especen Hotel

Address: 28 Tho Xuong street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: ₹ 1,213 - ₹ 1,532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Especen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especen hotel is one of the first mini hotels built since the 1990s located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph's Church (Cathedral) on a quiet alley off of Au Trieu Street. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Thang Long water puppet theater, night market, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, Eroupean and Vietnamese traditional restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,... as soon as you step on to the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Especen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Especen Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing