We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
from US$ 11.00
More Info
from US$ 39.00
More Info
from US$ 32.00
More Info
Reviews (10,832)
Filter reviews
10,832 results
Traveller rating
3,995
3,948
2,100
518
271
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,995
3,948
2,100
518
271
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front row traditional music story line cultural experience english translation vietnamese culture take photos hoan kiem lake old quarter theatre performance tickets storyline audience rows stories stage
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 10,832 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was a very unique puppet show, with amazing puppets and puppeteers. Fantastic traditional music played by locals.

Be prepared, nothing is in English, but the stories are somewhat easy to follow.

However, it is very busy, crowded, and the theatre isn’t set up so children can see well. We were in the 8th row from the stage and my kids saw hardly anything.

My recommendation, if you have small children, book wayyyy in advance to get front row seats. Otherwise, it’s almost a waste.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank wmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This art show is meaningful and unique really. We learned a great deal about Vietnamese culture and lifestyle along with reputation through this functionality. Definitely, look at leaflet or maybe guidebook about what the scenes suggest just before the functionality or else you certainly will not have a clue what is going on.
This's certainly the one to not be skipped in Hanoi.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

You can find the theatre opposite Hoan Kiem lake. For shows, there are a few of them every day as early as 3pm to the last show at 8pm. I advise you to buy ticket at least one day prior since the shows usually are fully booked. Entrance fee for adults is 100k vnd. If you wish to bring in digital camera, you have to add another 20k vnd before entering the hall. The show was fully in Vietnamese but despite that, I still enjoy every bit of the show. Aim for front rows if you can.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Farahhsuziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We didn't really know much about this but our friends asked us if we wanted to join them so we thought why not!

The first night we tried to go it was actually sold out, so may be worth booking in advance, even if just the day before or in the day of the show!

I didn't really know what to expect but the show was incredible, a must do when in Hanoi! Such a good price as well, only a couple of pounds for a ticket! Highly recommend

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Tashasmith94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you are going on the weekend book early.We booked 2 days before to get in on a Monday, the weekend is full of tours. Very entertaining show. The men and women who work the puppets are very talented
Great if you have children, the show is not to long and it moves at a good pace. It is well priced and a lot of fun

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank HappyTraveller5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews