We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 296
US$ 267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 124
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 119
US$ 91
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 161
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Serene Premier Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Hanoi(Hanoi)
US$ 117
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sun Suites Hotel(Hanoi)
US$ 64
US$ 62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 128
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
265
170
50
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
170
50
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomold quarterhalong bayprivate rooms arebia hoi cornerfree breakfastcleaned dailytop floorcat ba islandyour luggagestayed one nightairport transferlocation is excellenthoan kiem lakelillelaptopwifi
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I booked a Superior Room with window for 25usd which they confirmed on email. It turns out that no Superior Rooms have windows, so after complaining they upgraded me for all my stays to a deluxe room. The deluxe rooms are pretty nice (importantly, when you have a shower the whole bathroom doesn't get wet as its separated). I had an issue with the cleanliness of first room i was given, and they went over and above to compensate me for the next times I stayed, which was impressive.
The staff are really nice and professional.
The breakfast is 'ok', its Vietnamese mostly in style.
The LOCATION is 10/10. 10 metres away from BIA HOA CORNER which is where everyone hangs out drinking homemade beer, and the central place where all the bars are, though you can't hear noise as the hotel is set back in a sidealley by 10 metres.
They advertise that they have a relax room on the 1st level. Its lame and no-one uses it. Only kinda social area is the lobby.
Value is great if you get a Deluxe Room for 25usd, relative to their peers.
I highly recommend staying here, but just be aware, the Superior Rooms have no windows.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room, and superior rooms have no windows
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoA201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear TheoA201
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to receive such wonderful feedback highlighting the May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Hospitality and our team are so glad to know your recognization about their efforts in bringing the best trip for you in Hanoi.
Thank you for your kind recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the very near future.

All the best.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

If you haven't stayed here yet and you are in Hanoi, you are missing out! The mixed dorm rooms (6 ppl) are $4-6 usd per night and include FREE breakfast! Not only that but they have free transportation to the airport. On the menu you can get a chicken burger for 30 dong. That's seriously unheard of. I booked a two day Sapa tour and one day Ha Long Bay cruise including food and housing for a $129 usd. And the man who scheduled everything for me was very professional and wrote out a schedule for me. Highly recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank Kiley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Our Lovely Guests - Kiley Wilson!

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to know that we are doing our best to satisfy our guests. We will keep working hard every day to offer always the best service.

You're a good friend coming to our beautiful Vietnam. Being a host, we are willing to provide friends like you all information you need for a nice holiday. It's great that you found us reliable and it was a memorable impression on your trip. We are absolutely glad to know how satisfied you were and it is touching to hear that you found a HOME AWAY FROM HOME in Hanoi.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Our doors will be always open for you.

Wish you all the best.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed here for our first couple of nights in Vietnam. We arrived late in the evening and had trouble finding the hostel entrance which is down a dark little alleyway but once you have found it you enter a neat, clean hostel. The rooms were tidy with all the basic provisions - towels, shampoos, soaps, mini fridge, dressing gowns, extra pillows and a TV. Breakfast was simple but there was a selection of fruit and bread as well as noodles and rice. Top floor restaurant with views across the city.
The staff we're really friendly and organised taxis/pick-ups for us when needed.
The location was great, not far from all the restaurants and bars as well as the shops. About a 15 minutes walk down to the lake and temples.
Highly recommend for a short stay with friends if you're going to be out and about all day.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Rebecca D
Thank you for sharing this review with us on TripAdvisor for your recent staying at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel and our hostel. It is a delight to receive such wonderful feedback highlighting the Rendezvous service.
Thank you for your kind recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the very near future.

Warm regards,

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

The moment we woke up, a healthy and very delicious buffet breakfast awaited us. Fresh fruits, vegetables, noodles, fish and cold cuts we feasted on. They also included drinks which we think are freshly squeezed, lemon and orange juices. They also served hot coffee and hot tea, with sugar and milk on the table to complement.

When we stepped out of the hotel, various boutiques / specialty stores surrounded it. We also saw the way of life of the Hanoi people while we wandered around from morning until wee evening. We took a chance by sitting down the mini tables and chairs and tasted the different kind of noodles and of sea food they offered us.
The hotel staff also accommodated to our requests with friendly smiles. We booked our tour using the help of the hotel and surely we enjoyed every minute of the tour. They said they can also find taxi for us for safety reasons if we need one.

The hotel lobby was clean. Likewise, the bed and the rest room in the rooms. There was a strong water for the shower, hot and cold, and also in the toilet. If you run out of Vietnamese Dong the hotel offers competitive exchange rates for US dollars (don't forget to bring this denomination).

We will come back to this hotel and we will also recommend to our friends if they need a place to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kernyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Dear Claire Madrigal .
On behalf of May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, I would like to express my gratitude towards your very positive feedback of our hotel and our staff.

Manh Tien will be very excited to be informed of your appraisal. Manh Tien is one of my many staff who take your interests as themselves. Our staff understand of how important your vacation is; thus, we would love for you to bring back home sweet and wonderful memories of your Vietnam trip. Thank you for all your recognition, which makes our day.

Once again, thank you for letting us be a part of your special events. We hope to continue being your choice of accommodation when you are visiting Hanoi.

Best regards,

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

I had a dorm and it was clean and quite. The location is perfect in the centre of Hanoi in the old Quarter. It is not the best place to meet some people if you are backpacking but I would recommend it if you are starting your trip and just want to chill for a little. The breakfast is included.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Amélie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear Amelie Barascud
Thank you for sharing this review with us on TripAdvisor for your recent staying at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel and our hostel. It is a delight to receive such wonderful feedback highlighting the May De Ville Backpackers Hostel service.
Thank you for your kind recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the very near future.

Warm regards,

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews