We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day 2 night Hideaway Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #37 of 473 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Loved my stay at Central Backpackers in Hanoi, but especially loved the Hideaway Tour. The tour was a good balance between social and active. It's not a total booze cruise, so you actually get to see and enjoy the islands more! The first day was more party with a great boat ride, swimming and kayaking. The second day, much more active, with trekking and biking, and the last day a little more chill.

The food was great! Fresh buffet style for all meals. The rooms aren't very nice, kind of reminded me of summer camp (a close quarters 24 person dorm) but because you there's so much to do they get the job done. Definitely recommend this tour if you're looking for a balance of fun and active, with the chance to meet lots of cool people!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Awesome hostel, really nice helpful staff and nice rooms and bathrooms. We went on a 3 day Ha Long Bay tour with them and 2 day sapa tour, both were fun and great value. If you're considering doing Ha Long Bay and like doing outdoorsy stuff definitely do the 3 day as it takes 5h to get there so it makes your time worth it. Sapa is fine for 2 days and they offer an option to take a 4pm bus back instead of overnight which I recommend (was scheduled to be in at 11 but was in at 9:30 which was awesome). Would stay again and recommend to friends!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Good value, good location. Room was clean, beds were quite comfortable and each bed had two plug sockets. The lockers in the room were big enough for our entire bags, and had a key to lock, and an option to use your own padlock if you want to be extra safe.We booked a Hideaway Tour to Halong Bay through reception (also really good value, and was a great trip) and our onward train tickets to Sapa. The free breakfast was fairly generous, and free beer 7pm-8pm was a perk! We joined the free walking tour and bar crawl. Throughout our entire stay (including Hideaway) Nathan was such a good tour guide!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank annachap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

A group of us went on the hideaway tour last weekend, food was amazing, tours were really good. Accomodation could have been better for the price. Nina and Nicholas were great tour guides really friendly. Nathan was not good, very rude and we couldnt wait to leave after one night with him.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Người quản lý at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciated that. It is good to know that you enjoyed our tour and had great time.
We have been trying to upgrade the room on the island and it could take some more time to be done.
We also had a meeting with all the tour guides and also with Nathan about your complaint and we all agreed that this problem would not allowed to happen again to our any customer, doing the hideaway tour.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to show us the things that we should do better. We wish you all the best!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Great hostel for a few nights or a week. Not the cleanest but at $5 it has good value. Showers have good pressure and hot water. Dorm rooms have good lockers. Great location to walk anywhere. Close to the lake to walk down to and relax. Lots of good restaurants near by as well. If it were a little cleaner it would be a 5/5. Free breakfast is not the best but it's free so it will do you for a couple days until you get to know the area better and find a spot for breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank williampsteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.1 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.1 km away
Chien Hostel
Chien Hostel
#57 of 473 in Hanoi
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#15 of 473 in Hanoi
1,184 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
#26 of 473 in Hanoi
286 reviews
0.8 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 473 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: ₹ 641 - ₹ 897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing