We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #37 of 473 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Room is clean, price are great, staffs are friendly, Great breakfast. Free beer is great and also the bartender Alex is cool. Bunch of awesome people in this hostel too. Staff can speak english. Tour guide for the pub crawl is good. Lady in reception Trang is beautiful and friendly.

Room Tip: Everthing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chern Mao N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Người quản lý at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in the hostel. Thank you for encouraging us to do better and better. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Can't fault this hostel. A delicious free breakfast (fried eggs in baguette with pineapple banana and tea and coffee) and free unlimited beer between 7-8pm. The tours to halong bay and sapa are reasonably priced as are the dorm rooms at 5$ a night (£3.60). All the staff are really helpful with organising everything. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jackmoore93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Người quản lý at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a good review. It was great to hear that you had good time in our hostel. We have been trying to do better and better in order to improve our services. On behalf of the hostel, we wish you nothing but the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Amazing ,this hostel was great for its price, staff were really helpful and always approachable. Very clean, the breakfast is also great. Can't go wrong with free beer also. Little bit out of town but they also have a sister in the Old Quarter which is bigger.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Người quản lý at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you so much for encouraging us with a great review. We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again here in our "family".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

The guy who owns this place speaks pretty good English and remembers everyone's names which is a nice touch. He was helpful with booking the halong bay tour. Although seemed a bit too determined to get us into certain tours and not others. He got cross when we wanted to chose other options which caused some tension. Otherwise the atmosphere in the hostel was great especially in the evenings. Everyone gets together for some free beers, shots and beer pong. We made some great friends here. The rooms were clean and there's a nice balcony in every room overlooking the street. Great location too.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MooPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Manager at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you had good time in our hostel.
For the tour booking, there are alot of cheating agencies in the old quarter which have been trying to get you to book with them. They show you one thing and let you do different thing. There are a lot of customers who stayed in our hostel got scams. Therefore, our staffs tried to give you all the informations that we know exactly about cheating agencies and they probably might have made you by accident feel not so comfortable. You are our customer so we just wanna the best things for you. Anyway we will be receptive and adjust our working way in order to avoid potential misunderstandings between us and next customers. Once again, thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciated that and hopefully you could understand for what we did. We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Nice rooms, helpful staff and free beer from 7-8pm. What more could you ask for? Located smack bag in the middle of the city I must admit getting there was a tad hairy, but I soon realised it was close to pretty much everything we needed. They helped us plan our ha long bay trip and our bus south. They even discounted our room price because there was trouble with the bathroom door. If Hanoi, it's a safe bet for a good hostel

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hoildaybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hienvantran, Người quản lý at Central Backpackers Hostel - Original, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you so much for your review. It was great to know you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We hope to see you again here in our hostel in the very near future. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.1 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.1 km away
Chien Hostel
Chien Hostel
#57 of 473 in Hanoi
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#15 of 473 in Hanoi
1,183 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hostel
#26 of 473 in Hanoi
286 reviews
0.8 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 473 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: ₹ 641 - ₹ 897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing