We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place at an excellent location and a reasonable price with very friendly staff.”
Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camel City Hotel
Ranked #24 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice place at an excellent location and a reasonable price with very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

make sure you get a room with a window because some rooms dont have one (they still place curtains to trick you). the staff is friendly and they offer reasonably priced tours but be sure to bargain, its never their final price and there is plenty of competition. we paid 14 USD a night, which is cheaper than most rooms.. we had no window and we got the room closest to the lobby so it was very loud all day and night. even so, well worth the $$.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eilonmorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    148
    41
    16
    17
See reviews for
57
213
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We came to hanoi with no booking and wandering finding a hotel when one of the guys from camel city hotel found us and wanted to show us a room. We just looked ad green street hostel room for 20$ and thought that was to much to pay for room so when he offered us room for 6$ per person we didn't see the harm in looking. At first i didn't like the location so much because you walk in kind of a "dark" alley, but when i thought about it it was perfect, NO FREAKING TRAFFIC, so no noise. Also the street next to it has great relaxed bars. The rooms where just as good as green street hostel, even better. They had a heater so in cold cold january it was nice. After hearing horror stories about hotels scaming people we where extra cearfull, but there was no need. They gave us a great deal on the room, there was free internet and always welcomed us with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogggud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

comfy beds, big room, hot water etc. The woman on reception made a mistake booking us in a superior room on our halong bay tour and overcharging us, but what happened next is the sign of a great company. The manager hunz refunded us $20 back with an apology, and arranged for a taxi to the train station for us. He then got a member of his staff to escort us, to ensure the taxi driver didnt rip us off, and the staff member even showed us directly to our cabin room on the train. GREAT customer service, we all make mistakes, but its how they are rectified which shows the true colours.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzyb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Only stayed here for one night because we had to change our travel plans and our original hotel (Hotel Aurora) was full, so we were recommended to their friends.

As we only stayed one night and had all travel plans sorted we were not harassed for tours, etc. However, we were asked once and the staff's face showed clear disappointment when we said that we had everything booked already.

The room is clean, new and modern. We stayed in a room without a window for $18 USD for it's good value for money. However, during shower the hot water suddenly stopped so that was very annoying. When I called the staff they simply said "wait 5 minutes and call back if there's no hot water". I could not see the electric water heater in the bathroom so either it's hidden on the ceiling, or it's shared with a central system (which would explain the sudden outage).

We stayed on the first floor facing the lobby so it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alec-Ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

More on the quieter part of Old Quarter of Hanoi but all the key places are still accessible via foot. It is also located in an alley so it's a bit hidden but you can easily locate it using their map in case you want to walk around. The staff were very accommodating (even treated my brother when he wanted to compare the pho in Hanoi to the one in Ho Chi Minh), although they pointed us to the wrong direction in their map. The Ha Long Bay trip we booked through them was also very enjoyable.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank resident_nutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 km away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#10 of 601 in Hanoi
192 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.2 km away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#8 of 601 in Hanoi
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Little Hanoi Diamond Hotel
0.2 km away
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
#27 of 601 in Hanoi
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#4 of 601 in Hanoi
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Property: Camel City Hotel
Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 970 - ₹ 1,423
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing