We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camel City Hotel
Ranked #17 of 551 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

comfy beds, big room, hot water etc. The woman on reception made a mistake booking us in a superior room on our halong bay tour and overcharging us, but what happened next is the sign of a great company. The manager hunz refunded us $20 back with an apology, and arranged for a taxi to the train station for us. He then got a member of his staff to escort us, to ensure the taxi driver didnt rip us off, and the staff member even showed us directly to our cabin room on the train. GREAT customer service, we all make mistakes, but its how they are rectified which shows the true colours.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzyb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    137
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
192
83
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Only stayed here for one night because we had to change our travel plans and our original hotel (Hotel Aurora) was full, so we were recommended to their friends.

As we only stayed one night and had all travel plans sorted we were not harassed for tours, etc. However, we were asked once and the staff's face showed clear disappointment when we said that we had everything booked already.

The room is clean, new and modern. We stayed in a room without a window for $18 USD for it's good value for money. However, during shower the hot water suddenly stopped so that was very annoying. When I called the staff they simply said "wait 5 minutes and call back if there's no hot water". I could not see the electric water heater in the bathroom so either it's hidden on the ceiling, or it's shared with a central system (which would explain the sudden outage).

We stayed on the first floor facing the lobby so it was a little noisy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alec-Ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

More on the quieter part of Old Quarter of Hanoi but all the key places are still accessible via foot. It is also located in an alley so it's a bit hidden but you can easily locate it using their map in case you want to walk around. The staff were very accommodating (even treated my brother when he wanted to compare the pho in Hanoi to the one in Ho Chi Minh), although they pointed us to the wrong direction in their map. The Ha Long Bay trip we booked through them was also very enjoyable.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank resident_nutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked Camel City over the New Year and it was one of the few more budget places my husband and I could find in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. We stayed in room 369 for 3 nights (window on the street, double bed and bath with endless hot water), the deluxe double room. The beds are hard like all beds in Vietnam, the room was clean, sheets were decent and breakfast was average. The staff were really what made this hotel shine though, incredibly helpful, very accommodating - I was sick for part of the time and they would bring tea, hot water, etc. They also have a travel booking place in the hotel, usually Mr. Hung does the booking and we booked 3 flights with them and our trip to Halong Bay - all was very helpful and as affordable as if we'd booked online ourselves. For Halong Bay we took Oriental Sails, small boat of 8 cabins, it turned out very nice for the price ($115 USD each for 2 days one night). The staff also invited us to dinner in the street in front of the hotel on New Years day, we drank rice wine and toasted in the new year, was very festive, fun and nice to get a bit of an insight on the culture. The staff all speak decent English. They offer a taxi pick-up to and from the airport, I recommend it, by private car and the rate is comparable to other hotels. The other pro for this hotel is that it is on a small alley that cars cannot go down, so it is much quieter than some other hotels for this reason, still loud, but better than some other places we've stayed. The staff are responsive via email and phone and we would recommend this place, and would stay there again. Actually, we returned to this hotel for one night on our trip when we have a night over in Hanoi between flights, very accessible to everything in the Old Quarter within walking distance.

Room Tip: 369 for double bed and bathtub with endless hotwater, other rooms with shower (like 269) have on dem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel was located on the old town of Hanoi, really near the lake. It was really easy to walk everywhere.
Hotel staff was amazing! Really helpfull, funny and careing. Hotel has a great airport taxi service and good variety off trips.

Only minus was that we could hear all the sound from the hall and other rooms into our rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjs_6Espoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#55 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.0 km away
Hanoi Elite Central Hotel
Hanoi Elite Central Hotel
#103 of 574 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 km away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#53 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 km away
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
#23 of 551 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#3 of 551 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Property: Camel City Hotel
Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 551 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,296 - ₹ 1,773
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing