We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with solving a incident”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Fortune Hotel
Ranked #466 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not happy with solving a incident”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We booked a room for 3 nights with HotelClub .com(because of the reviews!).After the first night,we changed our mind,because the hotel did not deliver,what we expected.We decided to check out,hoping to do that with no problem.We paid a deposit(US 12.60),hoped to pay the difference,what we owed.The person in charge insisted,that we had to pay the full amount for the one night,trying to tell us,that they will not see that deposit.In the end,we paid it,but feel and know,that is not the way to keep customers coming.Because of our experience...be aware..only make reservation for one night(just in case).

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melmiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
30
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We got a 25% off coupon on TripAdvisor and paid only $US22.5 for a double room. The hotel is nicely tucked away inside Old Quarter and very central. The rooms are rather big and neatly kept. The staff at the reception are friendly and can help organizing tours too. Breakfast is included in the room
price and was pretty good.

We happened to check out Amazon hotel too, where the rooms are much smaller and smell funny! I think we got really lucky in choosing Hanoi Fortune.

I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a budget hotel in Old Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShootingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I spent one night there with my parents. The location of the hotel is excellent, it is in the center of the old town. The rooms are spotless. For 40$ a night for three people, this is a good value hotel. However, I thought that the breakfast was poor and the dining room was not very clean...I saw a mouse running through the dining room when surfing on the Internet on one of the two computers available (the other computer wasn't working). The air conditioner wasn't strong enough in the common parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Our driver who we had paid $80US for the day, took us to the Hanoi Fortune Hotel when we asked him to take us to the airline/train booking office. No amount of convincing would get him to change his mind and as we didn't know where to go, we allowed the staff to book our airline flights and train tickets. We specifically asked for the livitrans train and he confirmed that yes, this was the livitrans train. On arriving at the train station, we found out that it wasn't the livitrans and also he had charged us twice what he paid with both the airline tickets and train tickets. My advice, don't let this hotel book your tours or transport tickets. they make a fortune out of it.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our trip to Hanoi was one of the best holidays that I've had and was greatly influenced by the people and the staff at the hotel. They were very friendly, accommodating and helpful in planning trips and also finding local attractions. In particular were the night staff who helped us plan all our dinners, shopping trips and coffee hits. Ask Michael for places to eat and drink (ask him where to get "weasel coffee"), he's a coffee connoisseur and very easy to get along with.

The rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. We had two queen (or king?) sized beds in our room and though our room faced the main street, it was still quiet in the mornings and nights. There's also a TV in the room with a clean inroom bathroom.

Tour organizing is also made more convenient with a desk downstairs in the lobby who, as best as I could gather, has the hotel guests interests. Also, they are more than happy to help arrange transport from and to the airport (for a small fee that is well within the recommended price on tourism websites).

This hotel has good ratings for a reason, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingparnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
3.5 km away
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
#169 of 586 in Hanoi
312 reviews
1.2 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 km away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Fortune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Fortune Hotel

Property: Hanoi Fortune Hotel
Address: 68 Hang Bo | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #466 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,615 - ₹ 2,907
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Fortune Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Fortune Hotel. Located at the heart of the Old Quarter, our boutique hotel envelops you in comfort and acquaints you with the different facets of the Vietnamese capital. Thirty-plus rooms and suites, scrumptious dining, banquet facilities, exciting tours and cruises, all readily available and pegged at a price you certainly can afford. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing