We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Room given away although we reserved with a credit card” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Fortune Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Fortune Hotel
Ranked #460 of 576 Hotels in Hanoi
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Room given away although we reserved with a credit card”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We made a reservation and said our plane would arrive at 5PM so we would check in at the hotel around 6PM. When we arrived they said there was a problem with our room and we should go to dinner while they fix the issue. Upon returning to dinner they said there was someone else with the same first name and they gave two rooms to that person so our room had been given away. They helped us take our luggage to another hotel that they recommended and said they would have a free room for us the next day. The other hotel they sent us to was horrible; we had not been there five minutes when we saw a huge cockroach. We immediately asked for our money back and found another hotel ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
30
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Our first night we arrived at 9PM and received a bad room on the back alley. Next morning we were switched to a nice large room in the front of the hotel on the 4th floor. Our biggest complaint is that there is absolutely no heat in the rooms and since it was a cold spell we went to bed with four layers on. We have been warmer camping in the mountains. All the carpeting is in desperate need of cleaning. Water is super hot as each bathroom has its own hot water heater.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We were not lucky because we had a bad room the first night we stay at this hotel (dirty, mold, bad smell room). We asked to change the room and they gave us the best room they have in this hotel so it was good. Therefore, you should ask to see the room before you decide to stay at this hotel. So do not book with Agoda because you have to pay the total at once and can not cancel if you do not like the hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simba-Begin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

leicester UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed here during a very cold spell in Hanoi. The Hotel is in a great location right in the heart of the old quarter. The staff are friendly and helpful (there are a lot of them too) but many speak very little English, that said there was always someone around who could speak to us. The rooms, whilst clean and comfortable are quite stark, bare and old fashioned. There are a few minor jobs that could be done to make the place much better such as doors which stick and keys hard to turn.
The public areas of the hotel are quite pleasant.
Freshly cooked omelettes were available for breakfast along with toast and Asian style food.
The coffee is STRONG and cool and served with condensed milk (which is traditional I think), but we managed with mime and pointing to get some freshly boiled water to add to the coffee to make it more to our taste.
On the whole we had a pleasant stay and for the price it was just fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wineshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Hi,
Just stayed 5 nights at the Hanoi Fortune and had a good stay.

Booking and communications with the hotel was prompt and easy, hotel pick up went smoothly and check in was quick and efficient. Hotel taxi is normally a bit more expensive than just getting one yourself, but at least you know that the taxi knows where the hotel is.

We deliberately asked for a top floor room at the back of the hotel to avoid the very noisy Hanoi roads, so we had to climb 4 flights of steps to get to our very quiet room (room 319). This kept us fit over the stay, (might be too much for older guests).

Rooms over looking road would be very noisey.

Room was spacious and clean, with TV with lots of English channels, kettle, hot good shower, efficient air-con.

Wi-fi was average, kept dropping out for long periods of time, and one of the 2 computers in the breakfast room was broken.

Breakfast was average, and always gone by the time we got there (and we went both at 7 am and 9 am so no difference. Couple of noodle / rice options, bread, egg, ham, fruit and juice.

Coffee in Vietnam is truly awful if you are really into your coffee.

We booked a trip to Halong Bay with the hotel which was great (Paloma, reviewed seperately) and the tour guide man was very helpful at the hotel was and imformative to book more trips, though we were ready to move on from Hanoi.

The hotel describes itself as 2 star luxury and i would say this is a good description. We paid $36 a night which was about right i think, we popped in to a couple of other places at around the $35 and $40 mark and they seemed a similiar standard. I'm sure if you had the time and effort to really look around you could find something a bit cheaper.

Location is in the heart of the old town, so very manic and noisey and challenging!

There is a quieter, slightly more posh area in the old town with nice cafes and restaurants, this area is to the side / left of the lake near the St Joseph Cathedral, (Pho Nha Tho area) and i would recommend this area to people who may want a 'softer' introduction to the city but still in the old town.

This area is great for food, can highly recommend La Salsa and Paris Deli.

We viewed a standard room at Golden Sun near here ( no window standard room) for $40 that was clean and immaculate with large plasma TV and all the facilities. This was on Hang Hanh road.

With any rooms throughout Vietnam, don't be put off by rooms at the back of the hotel with no window, or a window looking at a brick wall. This may seem strange to Westerners, but in Asia this helps to have a quiet nights sleep. Asia is a noisey place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
3.5 km away
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
#157 of 576 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 km away
La Dolce Vita Hotel
La Dolce Vita Hotel
#123 of 576 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 km away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.5 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Fortune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Fortune Hotel

Property: Hanoi Fortune Hotel
Address: 68 Hang Bo | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 576 Hotels in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,680 - ₹ 3,024
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Fortune Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Fortune Hotel. Located at the heart of the Old Quarter, our boutique hotel envelops you in comfort and acquaints you with the different facets of the Vietnamese capital. Thirty-plus rooms and suites, scrumptious dining, banquet facilities, exciting tours and cruises, all readily available and pegged at a price you certainly can afford. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing