We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little french restaurant”
Review of La Badiane

La Badiane
Ranked #50 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Created in December, 2008, by three French friends, Minh Spielmann, Benjamin Rascalou & Anthony Balenci, La Badiane -French for the Star Anise spice- is heralding its claim to be one of the best restaurants in Vietnam dedicated to fusion of flavors and international gastronomy. Surrounded by harmonious leaf plants, & walls predominantly white alternating with carefully chosen vivid colors, the place provides for a true feeling of calm and elegance, which gathers the best conditions to let your senses express themselves. When coming in, an open-sky corridor planted with luxuriant vegetation leads you towards the heart of the restaurant. One’s attention will be instantly caught by the multitude of perfumes & aromas flowing out of the open front kitchen. Then, depending on your mood & weather permitting, you can have your meal in the airy Patio, calm, convivial & surrounded by photographic art works. For a more intimate setting with warm colors you can choose one of the three air-conditioned rooms located between the ground and the first floor. At la Badiane, all is about food but there’s also great attention paid to the service and the overall atmosphere, so that we make sure you enjoy every aspect of your meal. La Badiane, top 500 Restaurants in Asia by Miele Guide and “Certificate of Excellence” by Trip Advisor in 3 consecutive years 2012, 2013 and 2014 will never fail to satisfy you. Moreover, at this very same “picky” travel community, there were more than 300 upvotes as “EXCELLENT” for La Badiane – a formidable rating which can only be seen for top-end restaurants.
Asia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint little french restaurant”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great little place for a Western/French brunch. Lunch menu is reasonably priced at US$15 per head for 3 courses. Outdoor seating - not much of a view, but comfortable al fresco dining. The food was average - nothing to write home about, but decent. Nice combination of atmosphere and decent food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    224
    77
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average looking restaurant, rewards inside”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

great menu, we had the degustation and liked everything on it (which i find pretty rare for degustations) right amount of food and good balance through the menu
Matched with a good Rhone wine and all good
Change from $100 per head

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teknostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average and not cheap”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived in the heat and were pleased to be in a cooling room but were alone upstairs so atmosphere was just. Food was ok but for the price and ratings of others on this site we found it average, steak was tough and little accomplishments with main meal as is French but overall disappointed with overall experience.

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Hanoi, hands down”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Can't recommend enough, amazing food, superb service. Just wonderful. We're both real foodies and were delighted with this place. Visited on our final day over lunch and wish we'd found it sooner. Other customers seemed to be diplomats and other international professionals as well as more affluent Vietnamese customers and tourists. Down and dirty this ain't. It's more expensive than the average Hanoi restaurant but it was worth every penny and was possibly the best meal we had in the country. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant for Hanoi's dining scene”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This restaurant is a superb highlight of Hanoi’s dining options. I went there looking for a high-class dining experience. I ordered three courses: the shrimp and mushroom ravioli, the Australian grilled tenderloin, and the apple and strawberry crumble. The ravioli was very good, although the tomato taste of the bisque was a tad strong for my taste. I loved it, but it would benefit from a little more refinement. The tenderloin is not my favorite cut of beef, but this was served extremely full of flavor, perfectly cooked, and extremely tender. The beef was an absolute joy to eat from beginning to end. I was then inspired to break my original promise and go for a dessert. I choose the apple and strawberry crumble. This was also very full of taste with a delicious crumble crust. The house wine was enjoyable.

The only criticisms are first that one small part of the apple crumble crust was mildly burned enough for the burned taste to come through. The other is the menu is too large, physically. It is a bit clunky to deal with. A classier menu printed on heavy stock paper and placed in a leather-type binder would be more manageable. Another complaint was someone's girlfriend was playing videos on their smartphone and the sound detracted from the ambiance. Of course, these are minor complaints. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Badiane also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to La Badiane? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing