We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't listen to the good reviews...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Ranked #129 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Please don't listen to the good reviews...”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I'm so confused by the positive reviews from the other guests. Granted, the service was good, but that hardly makes up for the old, dirty, yellow tinted sheets and over-used, stained towels. I was so worried that I would catch something from sleeping in the hotel beds. After taking a shower, I hesitated drying myself off with their towels lest I dirty myself again with their unsanitary towels.

The heater kept making loud noises throughout the night. And there were mosquitos and/or fleas that kept biting me throughout the night. Let's just say that it was the worst night's sleep I've ever had.

My recommendation, look elsewhere. This hotel isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesjane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    118
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
227
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were originally booked into the Rising Dragon Hotel. However, after being picked up at the airport by the hotel and brought to the Rising Dragon Hotel the manager explained that there was a problem with the hot water heater so they were moving us. I freaked out a bit, thinking it was some sort of scam, but it all worked out well. They moved us to what was then called Rising Dragon II (now Rising Dragon Grand), which was quite nice. The bed was pretty hard, but that's common for Asia. Room was very clean, breakfast was delicious, and staff was very friendly and helpful! They kept our bags for us when we went to Ha Long Bay even though we didn't book the trip through them. There was a computer in the room, which was a nice extra, and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our family of four have just returned from 3 weeks in Vietnam. Our first stay was at the Raising Dragon 2. The hotel was great and the breakfast was wonderful. It has a very personal atmosphere and the staff could not be friendlier which was much appreciated as our kids took a bit of time to adjust to the whole vietman experience.

We had also organized a cruise on halong bay through the hotel. We were very lucky with the weather and this proved to be delightful. All in all I have no hesitation recommending this family run business to anyone interested in staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morrishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Wonderful staff - very polite and nice. Front desk receptionist was very helpful with recommendations and directions. Great stay. The staff made everything so easy. I can't get over our visit. It was incredible. Clean rooms, perfect location and delicious, strong coffee and breakfast (extra price to hotel rate, but worth it - still affordable). I loved this hotel. Thank you, Rising Dragon II!

Room Tip: Wifi is available in rooms with a password, but sometimes the connection is easier in the main lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goeastfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

One of the best customers service I ever had with a hotel. Reached the hotel at early 9am and I got a free breakfast, free map (nice map with recommendations on food) on Hanoi and free advice on traveling from the staff. As I was going to stay for 3 nights, I even got a free airport pickup. Sadly, there was no free airport drop off even I extended my stay for another 3 nights, but they packed me a little breakfast at early 6am for my early flight home. The hotel room itself was comfortable enough with flat cable TV and computer with internet. Staffs were nice and helpful. Located in the old quarter at the street where they sell wedding cards. Walking destination to the St Joseph's Cathedral - 8 mins, lake 10 -15mins, Citadel - 20 mins, HCM Mausolium - 25 mins.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 km away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#117 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 km away
Icon 36 Hotel
Icon 36 Hotel
#134 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 km away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#60 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#143 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 km away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#55 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 km away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#81 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Grand Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Address: 24 Hang Ga St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Rising Dragon II Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,809 - ₹ 2,197
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Grand is located in the heart of The Old Quarter, just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater and alongside a thriving outdoor market. Along Hang Ga street, you will find cafes, an award-winning spa, pharmacies and various shops and stores carrying clothing, handicrafts, and other amazing finds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Dragon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing