We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, awesome service, fab breakfast, rooms smallish...”
Review of Joseph's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Joseph's Hotel
Ranked #38 of 591 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, awesome service, fab breakfast, rooms smallish...”
Reviewed 26 March 2012


Stayed here with our 21 month old daughter, stay was fantastic. Joseph's is geared towards folks looking longer stays (think NGOs) and delivers on the comfort.

We were in front on the 6th floor, nice open balcony with furniture and views. I think we paid $45 per.

Pros:
- best breakfast I've had in SE Asia. All sorts of options, and the manager adds in great local street food vendors around the hotel (the phobia from down the street)
- super helpful staff, always happy to assist and were great with our daughter and plans.
- awesome location. Central to everything, quiet street.
- loved the deck, especially when it was bedtime.
- were running a promo with free airport
Pickup... Long ride, perfect job.
- one of the better beds we've had in SE Asia.

Cons:
- bathroom is poor mans open shower... Not horrible, but not a fan, and hate wet floors in the bathroom.
- room isn't large. It was a tight fit for us,would be tight for any couple.
- hotel arranged our taxi to the train for Sapa, dropped us at the A side despite multiple requests for b side. Not necessarily their fault, but annoying since we trusted the instructions had been relayed correctly.

Brian, the gm, is a solid guy and the hotel is great. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat if I was in Hanoi.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    50
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
78
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We really felt at home at Joseph hotel. The staff were very helpful in accommodating our various requests on short notice. Great and personalized breakfast, well located and decent accommodation at the price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room On the rear of the building and on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

If you've been searching around for a good, reasonably priced hotel in a perfect location, look no further. Joseph's is a lovely and well-run small hotel right near the Cathedral. The hotel has a boutique feeling but is superbly down-to-earth, thanks in large part to the kind and helpful owner, Brian. The rooms are spacious and light and have a tasteful modern feel (and the rain-shower in the bathroom is a great touch). The breakfasts are FANTASTIC -- all you can eat fruits, yogurt, cereals, juices, french press coffee (you get your own press -- small or large), plus eggs, french toast, bacon, etc., and pho from the delicious noodle shop down the road. I genuinely looked forward to breakfast each morning and enjoyed reading the English language Vietnamese papers provided at all the tables.

We stayed at Joseph's with our 20-month-old son for just over a week after three weeks of apartment-style living. Although the hotel does not have any suites, the rooms are really airy and lovely, and we enjoyed being right in the heart of things while still on a quiet street with open space in the cathedral grounds right next door.

I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Perhaps not lively enough for 20-something backpackers, but lovely enough for everyone else from young families to my parents and in-laws.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had read the reviews and after a recommendation from a friend we decided on Joseph's. All the reviews were accurate! The location is great. The rooms comfortable. The breakfast excellent. However what really makes Joseph's stand out is the level of service. The staff made it feel like home for us. They went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed, going beyond what you would expect. We especially appreciated the effort Huong went to in helping us plan and book not only our stay in Hanoi but travels beyond. We also appreciated the friendly support of everyone including the kitchen staff, cleaners and reception. The owner Brian also made himself available to help, making us feel like we were staying with friends. Would recommend! We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at Joseph's for a work trip in Hanoi, and was impressed with the perfect location, friendly component staff, and best breakfast in the city. Highly recommended! Would advise you to utilize the hotel's transport to and from the airport to avoid the taxi cab scams that seem all too common in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanbagpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 km away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#107 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 km away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#42 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#46 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 km away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#203 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 km away
Church Legend Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph's Hotel

Property: Joseph's Hotel
Address: 5 Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 591 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,944 - ₹ 2,851
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Joseph's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joseph's Hotel is a small western managed 10 room boutique style hotel right in the centre of Hanoi's historic old quarter. Our rooms are light and spacious and tastefully furnished and all have reverse cycle air con, free WiFi, coffee and tea making facilities, minibar, cable television/LCD screens and some have a balcony. Our rates include a full breakfast. Our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are able to assist with any travel arrangements you may require either pre-arrival or while here in Hanoi: airport transfers, train tickets to Sapa/Hue free, guided walking tours, car hire, hotels elsewhere in Indochina - Laos and Cambodia, flights for onward travel.Please Note: ALL rooms are non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joseph's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing