We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iris Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 140
US$ 131
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 318
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$ 94
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 55
US$ 39
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 190
US$ 180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
162
56
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
56
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsau trieuphojoseph's cathedralgreat locationquiet streetold quartersmall hotelchurch bellscooked breakfastside streetexcellent breakfasthoan kiem lakeyogurtmini fridgemai chaulovely hotelbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We really felt at home at Joseph hotel. The staff were very helpful in accommodating our various requests on short notice. Great and personalized breakfast, well located and decent accommodation at the price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room On the rear of the building and on higher floors.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

If you've been searching around for a good, reasonably priced hotel in a perfect location, look no further. Joseph's is a lovely and well-run small hotel right near the Cathedral. The hotel has a boutique feeling but is superbly down-to-earth, thanks in large part to the kind and helpful owner, Brian. The rooms are spacious and light and have a tasteful modern feel (and the rain-shower in the bathroom is a great touch). The breakfasts are FANTASTIC -- all you can eat fruits, yogurt, cereals, juices, french press coffee (you get your own press -- small or large), plus eggs, french toast, bacon, etc., and pho from the delicious noodle shop down the road. I genuinely looked forward to breakfast each morning and enjoyed reading the English language Vietnamese papers provided at all the tables.

We stayed at Joseph's with our 20-month-old son for just over a week after three weeks of apartment-style living. Although the hotel does not have any suites, the rooms are really airy and lovely, and we enjoyed being right in the heart of things while still on a quiet street with open space in the cathedral grounds right next door.

I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Perhaps not lively enough for 20-something backpackers, but lovely enough for everyone else from young families to my parents and in-laws.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had read the reviews and after a recommendation from a friend we decided on Joseph's. All the reviews were accurate! The location is great. The rooms comfortable. The breakfast excellent. However what really makes Joseph's stand out is the level of service. The staff made it feel like home for us. They went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed, going beyond what you would expect. We especially appreciated the effort Huong went to in helping us plan and book not only our stay in Hanoi but travels beyond. We also appreciated the friendly support of everyone including the kitchen staff, cleaners and reception. The owner Brian also made himself available to help, making us feel like we were staying with friends. Would recommend! We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at Joseph's for a work trip in Hanoi, and was impressed with the perfect location, friendly component staff, and best breakfast in the city. Highly recommended! Would advise you to utilize the hotel's transport to and from the airport to avoid the taxi cab scams that seem all too common in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urbanbagpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is the place to stay! Immaculately clean, comfortable beds, and clean bathroom. Located in the center of the old quarter next to St Josephs giving easy access to the railway station for Sapa and other destinations. Breakfast was great! Staff could not have been more helpful and the owner has gone out of his way to make life easy. The city map labeled with the key spots, and the unsolicited advice to only pay 40,000 to max 50,000 dong from the railway station are all indicators of how they think about helping you their guests. You can book a Ha Long bay cruise and get help with train tickets. They will arrange to get you to and from the airport. If a room available you can get late check out, and they will keep your bags safe if you are
heading to Sapa or Ha Long bay for a couple of days. We were more than happy and highly recommend this hotel to anyone. First time in Hanoi, book here and you will save a lot of time getting yourself oriented in this fast moving city.

Room Tip: Lower floors a little street noise but good quality windows keep most of this out and on a back. Street so minimal anyway.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews