We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steamed rice pancakes”

Banh Cuon Gia Truyen
Ranked #222 of 3,941 Restaurants in Hanoi
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Steamed rice pancake is my favourite Vietnamese dish. This joint makes them exquisitely light and with three different toppings: chicken, pork or shrimp. There are other dishes on the menu as well but rice pancakes is what they are really famous for. Three portions set us back 115,000 VND which is great value! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

I am pretty biased against chee cheong fan and it is a dish i will not eat unless have to. I find the texture strange and tasteless. And guess what, this (bad attitude not very clean looks dubious) shop changed my perspective. It actually tastes decent!! ( i will still not eat chee cheong fan in sg)

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Rach_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Definitely a MUST TRY if you are in Hanoi. It's too delicious to miss. Like what some other reviewers have mentioned, the shop is indeed a little dirty with some tissues strewn on the floor but we don't even mind one bit. Tried the rice rolls with pork and prawn. Both are good!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank travelholicj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Try to taste Banh Cuon Gia Truyen when you travel to Hanoi and want to know how is local food. It's great when you eat with herb.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank AnnaCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Stumbled upon this little shop by chance. I've tried Banh Cuon (rice pancake with meat filling) in Saigon so I was happy to find it. The banh cuon are made to order by a middle aged lady in front of the shop. It is served steaming hot, topped with toasted garlic and a sprig of coriander. At 60000VND (around $2.5), it's a great way to get a taste of Hanoi.

Staff could be a bit more helpful and attentive though. But all things considered, this one is a must try.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leonardr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Banh Cuon Gia Truyen also viewed

 
 

Been to Banh Cuon Gia Truyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing