We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings with average amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saphir Dalat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saphir Dalat Hotel
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Da Lat
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings with average amenities”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on BB basis. Got a standard room - but it was rather small. Not as many amenities as you'd expect from a hotel at the rate we paid. Breakfast was okay, service average and the cleanliness was good. The decor is reminiscent of a Victorian estate bungalow with nice touches. The hotel had some nice touches with a Soy Milk every evening and a Chicken Broth at 8pm daily which comes complimentary. Note, to anyone who doesnt speak Vietnamese - this hotel is probably not for you cos the staff doesnt speak any English. Probably why the other reviews are pretty bad.

Room Tip: Dont choose a "standard option" / Try the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    27
    26
    15
See reviews for
14
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

First the good, older building, interesting layout and setup, vintage car collection parked throughout.

Then the not so good...
1. Rooms are small
2. No A/C (not by itself a problem) but top part of room windows is a grille so this is the NOISIEST night's sleep I've had for years. Also the quaint elevator is very noisy in the rooms from ~4.30am onwards
3. Sheets and bedding are nylon or polyester. Yuk. For the price this is just not acceptable.
4. The cheapest flimsiest toilet paper I've ever come across
5. Poor English skills at front desk (to be fair most of the clientele was not English speaking)
6. The nice looking Bar;Coffee lounge was closed all the time we were there, so no relaxation option.

I would definitely NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

From the outside you think you are entering French royal quarters......oh but thats where it stops. The staff at the front desk would rather talk on their cell phones than assist you with any questions or help. They all look at you like they are doing you the favor so just stand there, shut up and wait till they are done talking to their friends on the phone. I'm from Canada but speak fluent Vietnamese so I know they are not talking about work related things. The rooms are nice but the walls and doors are made of rice paper. You can hear honking at all hours of the night, people opening and closing doors. The breakfast was actually not bad tasting but the stuff you in the basement to eat it. Feels like having breakfast in a dungeon. There is a coffee bar upstairs with natural light that could serve breakfast since no one goes to the bar at night there anyways. If they moved breakfast up there it wouldn't hurt as much. If you don't go to bed till 3:00 in the morning and enjoy eating in a dungeon than this place is for you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spadejunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt barker, WA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Being the off season and a walk in got a room for $15.
Well priced and well appointed rooms, with all the mod-cons.
Although some of the rooms overlook the foyer it would be problem if the place ever got busy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We'd come again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked a superior room via telephone 1 month prior to my visit to Da Lat. The photos and info from the internet (which i found out not long before, are from the hotel staff themselves) blowned me away.

It was extremely disapointing that my room is way to small, just enough to fit one table, one bed and one chair. The TV is not older than my grand parents, no safe, no extra pillows, no pot... I decided to upgrade into a deluxe room (cost extra $25 for 1 night), which is exactly the same with the superior room except for more floor surface and a bath tub. No table, no sofa, nothing.

The bed was small, tough and coarse. But that is nothing compared to the horribly thin walls and ceiling. I could hear every single conversation and foot steps from the family who stayed in the room right above us.

The only good thing about this hotel was the vintage setting in some random areas.. well just not worth it. I'd rather pay $10 for a museum trip than this. They were lucky I paid in full while booking because I regret staying there from the very first moment I arrived.

Well I wouldnt be this mad if the hotel owner is being honest about its state instead claiming that they are a 4 stars hotel to be able to get more money. I wasted $120 for 2 nights, which is extremely over priced for this kind of hotel, or guest house, whatever it should be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Res-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.6 km away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#23 of 74 in Da Lat
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
#25 of 74 in Da Lat
14 reviews
0.5 km away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#21 of 74 in Da Lat
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 74 in Da Lat
519 reviews
2.1 km away
Dalat Cadasa Resort
Dalat Cadasa Resort
#29 of 74 in Da Lat
55 reviews
0.9 km away
Kings Hotel Dalat
Kings Hotel Dalat
#45 of 74 in Da Lat
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Dalat Hotel

Property: Saphir Dalat Hotel
Address: 9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Da Lat 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Da Lat
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,814 - ₹ 8,550
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saphir Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest and most impressive hotel in town. Right in the city center, minutes from most city destination on foot, eco friendly design, impressive bathrooms, rainforest showers, all solid wood decoration, with turn of the 1900 century decorative features, impressive views and the towering hotel of Dalat City. Rooms are cosy and very well decorated., WiFi in all rooms and as well as public areas,cable TV, hot and cold water, telephone, smoke and fire detectors, Friendly service by competent English speaking staff. The must see hotel in town with restaurant and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Saphir Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing