We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
70
83
36
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
83
36
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel nice view of the city classic hotel price quality stayed for one night buffet breakfast room was large night market swimming pool xuan huong lake rooms are clean lobby wifi vietnam balconies furnishings tub
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I had room 208 which had a small balcony and faced the street. There was some street noise, but is it not too bad. Unfortunately even though this room was designated a non-smoking room, there was a long burn mark on the carpet as well as minor stains.

The hotel and rooms are very plush -- if this hotel were in London, it would be about $400 a nite. Room 208 was identical to the other rooms on the floor (201-215), except for 202 and 217 which were larger.

I was with a tour group and stayed two nights so it was easy to peek in the other rooms.

There are 3 computers for guest use in the lobby - the staff will turn them on for you and will turn them off when you leave. The connection is good.

It is an easy 5 min. walk to “The Crazy House” a hotel with Gaudi-esque architecture.There is a small admission fee and there are three nice gift shops in the building.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherP1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Arrived in Dalat late in afternoon to an exceptionally warm welcome from Nick and his staff. Rooms, service and staff were certainly some of the best we encountered during our tour of Vietnam. This hotel is a credit to the Sammy Group.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not open to the back of the hotel - can be noisy early in the morning.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The service and atmosphere of the hotel is great. But the simple necessities are lacking and the staff almost seem clueless to what they have advertised in their brochures.

Gym and pool services are said to be "available" but when i walked down to the basement where there were signs pointing me to those directions i didn't find anything. A lady that was in the massage place where the gym is suppose to be was clueless and said she never heard of those services. Kind of odd to have signs but the staff doesn't know of them.

The internet wasn't connected when i entered the room, the reasoning when i called reception was that some hotel rooms don't have wifi and the Ethernet cable were disconnected. Yet in the hotel description internet connection was a service that each room should have. Not a very good sign for people that want to use their own devices to connect to the internet.

The lightning in the rooms are very dim, so unless you prefer extremely moody and dim lightning then i don't recommend this place. The hallways are also darkened in some areas making entering the room difficult when trying to find the place to swipe your card.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they fix a lot of these small issues. Though the scenery and atmosphere is nice, its not worth the money. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0rthern88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The main reason behind my choice to stay at this property over the Novotel, was simply the name. My travelling companion's name is Samantha (Sammy), so for a surprise I booked this hotel mainly on it's name, but also it's quality and online reviews.

The hotel's appearance is quite luxurious looking, with large drive and entrance way, a fountain and a red carpet entry to their adjoining restaurant. Their foyer and reception carry this luxury feel and as I had already pre-booked check-in was fast and correct.

The elevator's interior is mirrored and has a pattern that may cause optical problems for those a little tipsy (check out the photo).

Our room was fine, but as DaLat is fairly cool, the internally ducted air-conditioning was off. We were told later on that it's mainly used for heating during their cold months. As we weren't in one of their cold months, I asked housekeeping (through shivering body gestures and pointing at the air-con vents) for an alternate means for cooling. Not too long after my request they came back with a tower fan, and although not air-conditioning it worked well - the cooler climate helped, and sufficed throughout our 2 night stay.

The bathroom was clean, spacious and well equipped, and even though the shower was in the bath, it too was spacious and served better than many other set-ups in other hotels within VietNam.

The room was well appointed (with all the standard amenities for a hotel of it's star rating) and had a balcony. The view was not breath taking, but interesting nonetheless - of houses, suburbs in the hilly region of town, some of the town and the mountains in the distance. Overall it was good, comfortable and worth the money, with the only fault being an internal networking problem with the TV signal. This occurred on our last day, and as we booked a late departure (and paid for it) for the sole purpose of relaxing in the room after a morning tour before driving to the airport, it was disappointing that we had to spend it without TV (also a maintenance man coming backwards and forwards to endeavour to resolve the problem.....it just wasn't too relaxing). I'm sure it was an isolated incident, so I won't hold it against them.

Room service was good (but nothing too fancy) and their selections vast - from Satay Crocodile Tail to Horse Spare Ribs and most other popular Vietnamese cuisine aswell as Western fare. The speed of delivery to the room was OK, too. We didn't use their adjoining restaurant (also connected internally in the foyer), opting on the second night to try a highly recommended french style restaurant, opposite the Novotel. (Yes, it was very nice but not cheap in comparison to many other restaurants in VietNam)

Now although I have nothing against the Sammy Dalat Hotel, if I were to go back I would use the Novotel instead. This is purely my preference, as I have found Novotel properties throughout are usually very good and a safe (though not always cheap) bet.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews