We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #228 of 758 Hotels in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Deal”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

A perfect balance of everything, service, relax, food, spa.

Room Tip: Villa's are good when travelling with childrens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    42
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
53
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

For the money, you cannot beat this place. It is off the beaten path but near everything you need. No car necessary. You can walk to various seafood establishments, bakeries, supermarkets, dive shops, laundry, bars, etc. Everything is here. Far from bustling Patong and Phuket Town, this area has girly bars but not in your face. You can walk to Chalong Pier which is just a few hundred yards away. The boats to the other islands leave from here and you will see divers from all over the world embarking and disembarking daily. Tour boats leave here with thousands of passengers every day. I loved the location for that reason. I did not want to rent a car on this trip and wanted to enjoy the local flavor of Chalong. Pier 42 is a small, eco friendly, all nonsmoking boutique hotel thoughtfully crafted from recycled woods and materials. They have only 24 guest suites and all are nicely equipped. They cater to divers and the accomodations are first rate for the non resort prices that you will pay. The rooms are large with wooden floors, spotless, have lots of windows, privacy curtains, remote controlled a/c, flat screen TV with great movie channels, complimentary WiFi, large garden style bathroom with lots of nice towels and spa products. The furnishings are simple but adequate. A nice desk with a great reading lamp, bean bag chairs, decorative pillows, electrical adapter, stocked mini fridge with reasonably priced products. Even complimentary bottled water daily. My King Size bed was a little on the hard side but I was OK with it. Not a big deal. I slept fine. Egyptian Cotton Sheets and duvet comforter made for great sleeping after a long day in the sun. I was impressed with the "do not disturb" or "maid service" ritual. They had two darling wooden statues that you used to indicate the service that you required. One was a monkey that covered his mouth for "do not disturb". The other was a kitty cat waving "hello" for service. Brilliant touch. They thought of everything. There is a lovely black tile pool which is small but great for sunning, wading and cooling off.There is a modern waterfall, lush gardens and lovely tables with parasol umbrellas if you wish to sit and have a cocktail, cup of coffee or have room service from their dynamite cafe'. A spacious library is equipped with an internet station, printer, books, tables and brochures for your pleasure. They thought of everything. The open air checkin area/lobby is lovely and personal. I loved the design. The housekeeping staff did a slam dunk job of keeping the rooms tidy and well supplied at all times. I stayed on the 2nd floor and loved it. Very nice. Viset Road could get a little raucous at night but I knew that would be the case. Mostly music playing loudly. Some nights were quieter than others. The in house Cafe' was exceptional and their prices were low compared to western standards. If you get the inclusive rate which includes a breakfast buffet on their 2nd floor veranda, it is generous and adequate. Nothing fancy but better than some other places of this size. The a la carte menu was great and you could order breakfast, snacks, smoothies, western style sandwiches, Thai specialties, drinks/beer, coffees during their hours of 0700-2200. They made the most luscious Eggs Benedict with a perfectly poached egg in the $3 USD range. I had it and it was better than any that I have had in the USA. The young, inventive Thai Chef makes a range of specialties and has a 5 course pre-fixe Thai Menu w/dessert every single night for $15 USD. A bargain in my book. You can order ANYTHING form the menu for room service. If you are looking for a lavish 5 star resort with butler service, this is not the place for you. I have stayed in those resorts and chose to stay (this time) in what I deemed to be a more personal, bed and breakfast style environment that was safe, secure, comfortable, immaculate, and spacious. Pier 42 fit the bill for me. They do have a full service, in house SPA that has extremely reasonable rates compared to the large resorts. I would recommend it to anyone that is laid back, non demanding and cherishes spotless surroundings. This management has done a superb job. I would not change a thing. (I noted that the "hot box" for the shower water was not as hot as I am used to. Hot water heaters are not common in Thailand. I rolled with it and was fine!) I will definitely be back.......loved it! P.S. 24 hour "7-11" across the street for beer and essentials.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. That way, you won't hear anyone above you. No elevator...just a few st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parisflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

used as a staging post for longer stay in Racha island - extremely convienient for that purpose. A great hotel in it's own right though - tasteful - very friendly and accomodating staff. Luxury.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonJonnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Booked at Pier 42 for five nights in January 2012. Our stay was nice as we were looking to stay away from the super touristy areas of Patong. I wanted my family to experience a more local flavor... something outside of the 5-star big hotel, big price, huge pool, beachfront resorts. We booked two rooms for about $60 each which was about 10x less then what the rooms in the 5-star places wanted.

The rooms were nice, clean, etc... Bed was hard, but it just takes a bit getting used to.

The hotel location is in Chalong, which is about a 15 minute scooter/tuk-tuk/taxi ride away from the main touristy areas. Pier 42 is right next to the pier where many people take boat rides to the nearby islands. The road that it's on is filled with "bar & massage" joints that can look a bit seedy. Never felt unsafe, but it's not Kansas.

This hotel is NOT near a beach ... you need to take a cab/tuk-tuk/scooter to the nice beaches of Kata/Karon. We took all 3 modes of transportation ... cab rides cost 500 Baht, Tuk-Tuk cost 400 Baht and the best is renting a scooter (200 Baht a day!). Note, scooters are cheap and fun, but it's freakin crazy getting used to the traffic. Tuk-Tuks and Taxi's are available at stands at either end of the road and the bar next door (and many other bars on the street) rent scooters. But cost wise, unless you have a real need to have immediate access to a beach, the economics of this place make a lot of sense... and you get a better feel for the culture.

We used the spa a number of times for massages and foot massages. They were really good and relaxing. The prices are higher then what you can pay, but the quality and serenity were worth it. It felt like a real spa experience vs. a massage on a table on a beach. "Tick", the spa manager was great. You pay about 900 Baht/hour, probably 2x the cheaper places, but the location and product is well worth it.

Pool was small but very refreshing after being out all day. It is a salt water pool. Kids enjoyed it.

We did laundry a few doors up the street ... cheaper then at the hotel... it cost like 40 Baht per Kg ... so very cheap. Pack light and do laundry ... it comes back clean and folded nicely.

The restaurant at the hotel was actually really good. It served both western and Thai food and the quality was good. The breakfast included was OK ... eggs, toast, croissants, bacon, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, etc...

A few doors down towards the water is a great restaurant called Kang Nang... it literally feels like you are walking through into Wonderland ... you go from a bit of a grimy street to an oceanside oasis with great Thai food. A few blocks the other way, we went to Sabai-Sabai cooking school and did a Thai cooking class... it was the best time and the best food - it was so authentic, personable and fun ... small, intimate and just fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier42, Owner at Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Peter, Thanks for the generous and helpful review,
I am pleased you appreciated what we are trying to achieve at Spa 42 with our 100% natural products philosophy.
We will be including in the resort rooms some information on the beaches in the area and how to get there + placing some bicycles in the resort so that guests have another free of charge transport option.

Housekeeping do have some mattress toppers on request to soften the beds for those that find them a little firm :)

Hope to welcome at Pier 42 again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After staying a week near Patong, the peace and quiet of this side of the island was so inviting. The hotel has a beautiful setting-so much vegatation around the pool offering both sun and shade in the chairs. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our massage was wonderful, very professional, very reasonable and highly recommended. Not much in the area but we shopped a lot in the attached store and restaurant. This is a popular dive area but we just enjoyed laying around the pool, our massages and the peace and quiet. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar except for being on first or second floor. If stairs don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
3.8 km away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
1.0 km away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 15 in Chalong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 km away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
#29 of 42 in Rawai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
5.3 km away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
Chalong Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 42/5-6 Viset Road, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 758 Hotels in Phuket
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,390 - ₹ 4,715
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional and intimate 24 room boutique resort & Spa in Chalong, Phuket, distinguished by first rate service & an eclectic style which features renovated hardwood floors, retro furniture + contemporary urban design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing