We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A WASTE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 913 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We unfortunatly swapped a week from our home resort(marriots phuket beah club) with Interval international, to the Village coconut island to try something new. Never again, I am amazed they rate these two establishments at the same level.
1 upside- great food at resturants, and cool happy hour, the rest is rubbish, let me break it down.

DAY 1 Arrival: No-one to meet us atthe pier, old boat turns up, tells us to wait 30mins(its a 3 min boat ride) then goes to sleep on the boat- seriously.........maybe a green approach dont use to much fuel.....

DAY 1 Villa: Smelt like window and doors been shut for 6 month's, showers dont work, stifiling hot- air con nor on or kicked in yet, back to reception to complain, Duty manager arrives, nice guy(ex marriott - and over the week the only one with a clue) he's also the F&B manager so no suprise foods good- he actually cares... anyway he sorts another villa for us , and aggrees with us thet there is a "funky smell" in the villa, hes had the sence to pre check the next one and all is fine- although the villa- garden view 2 bedder is basic at best, and poorly constructed(cheap).

DAY 2: open Kitchen cupboard- looking for the non exsistant toaster(is meant to be self contained after all) yep we sell bread but we dont give you a toaster... classic. anyway door comes off in my hand, as does the the second door- it took 3 DAYS to get them fixed.......

DAY 3: at the pool, which is 100 degrees as there is no shade and its shallow- felt like a chicken in a pot of soup..... Umbrellas around pool in need of replacing ,falling to bits- clarly Money is an issue at the resort- as in they aint making any......

Management: The resort from what i would see is managerd by 5 Foreigners, who at happy hour each day in uniform, sit in the best spot at the bar , smoke and have a few beers--- i suppose they call it guest interaction, but a poor look, esspecially considering how unhappy the other staff look and are not providing that normal Thai hospitality. The developor must be wrapt to know his "managers" are having a laugh, whilst they allow ,people to sunbake topless near the pool(i dont mind, but it states in the villas NOT TO as its disrespectful to the locals), kids run up the slide, and for workers to just stand there while other guests struggle with chairs and umbrellas. All while the "duty manager" sits in an air conditioned office- Mr owner your "leaders " are destroying your investment. I will never ever ever recoment this place to anyone nor will i return.

Finally the website show lovely pictures of the "fitness centre", weill in real life its a small room, with 1 treadmill, there are 2 restaurants not 3, and no "shops" except for an conveniance store(quite well stocked) Huge dissapointment... Low season or not- service should be better than it was, clearly did not meet my expectations. do your self a favor, book the Marriott Phuket beach club if u want a real, appeartment holiday....

I should say the beachfront houses/villas are spectacular and im sure better than the garden villas as I think there was plenty of money to invest in stage 1, stage 2 is a disaster and it shows- just not good enough......

Room Tip: if u can get a beach view or beach front villa- dont bother, garden view cheap and nasty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Malcolm P,

Thanks for your interesting review of The Village on Coconut island.

Lets start by saying that we are pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurants and enjoyed the happy hours that we manage and deliver for our guests.

You have given some interesting feedback, which of course we always value. I would like to take this opportunity to correct you on a few points and maybe explain in some areas.

We operate a water taxi schedule every 30 minutes from both Phuket side and the resort pier, from 6am until mid night. That is 16 hours and 64 trips a day, as a bare minimum. After mid night the water taxi service is a "on demand" service. We consider that to be fairly frequent. As much as we would like to offer a "on demand" service 24 hours a day, it is not really practical when the resort is busy. Imagine, 300 people want to leave and return to the island in a day, lets say average 3 people per family, that would be 100 trips a day each way!!. Take for example if everyone was ready for their water taxi every 5 minutes in the busy times, I can't even work out how many boats I would need. You are correct, the journey is very short, but once you allow for boarding and dis-embarking, loading, un loading shopping, the 3 minutes is not a reality.

It is unfortunate that your room (not villa) had a musty smell, i must admit,It is not something that we are pleased about. However you must have been over the moon when we offered you a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom private pool villa. Most hotels would have given your room a quick spay with air freshener.
It is unusual for a cupboard door to come off in your hands. I am pleased that since checking with the manager that you reported it to, this was fixed the same day, in fact they also delivered a toaster to your room within hours. I'm not sure your room at the marriot would have had a toaster on demand service? or do they?

I do agree that the pools sometimes are warmer than you would expect. Our ambient outdoor temperature is around 33 degrees centigrade, much of the time far hotter. An average public swimming pool is normally kept at around 28 degrees centigrade. It is next to impossible to keep the temperature down, without physically chilling the water. As for chicken is soup, I don't know what you look like, so cannot comment.

Thanks for your feed back about the management, they do sometimes have a beer after work. I appreciate that it may not be a good look, although they are mostly mixing and socialising with our guests. So we take this comment constructively.
I actually happen to be "Mr Owner", one of group, I also happen to be the developer and I am also that person sitting in the air conditioned office with full fronted glass windows labelled "Manager".

The fitness centre is actually state of the art. It has moved since the pictures were taken. We moved it to open our new Banana Boutique (shop) and re housed the fitness equipment in three rooms, cardio Vascular, free weights and a specific Yoga and Thai boxing room. The fitness rooms have 1 treadmill, 2 elliptical trainers, 2 bikes and one rowing machine. We have 3 multi weight stations as well as a vast range of free weights. We always thought that it was well equipped.

I am genuinely sorry that you did not appreciate The Village, we do make every effort to please everyone.

Once again, Thank You for your review.

Kind Regards

Mark Ashman
General Manager
Developer
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,229 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

My sister & I spent 8 nights at the Village Coconut Island & by the end of our trip we both agreed we would stay here again if we ever went back to Phuket!
The staff were so friendly, including the boat & tuk-tuk drivers - they would always help with your luggage, large amounts of shopping, anything!
It was our first time overseas, and being from Australia, we found Phuket to be extremely different to what we were use to! So it was nice to know our hotel was on a secuded island away from all the hussle-and-bussle of the main island of Phuket.
We only ate dinner at the resort - they have 2 restaurants to choose from, which both have AMAZING food and are very well priced!
We booked some tours through the hotel, the lady who helped us (I'm sorry, I've forgotten your name) was so helpful, she helped booked everything right down to someone picking us up from the resort.
This place was so beautiful! It was such a pleasure to stay at!

Some people on this website are complaining of power/water outages. We did experience a couple nights were the power went out, but they are on a little island trying to supply power to a large area, this can be experienced. It never lasted longer than a few minutes, so this did not worry us at all.

Thank you to all at the Village Coconut Island! Including the local residents who live outside the resort - you were all so warm, welcoming & wonderful!
:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristielea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear kristielea,

Thank You for your fantastic review here on trip advisor.

We are all thrilled that you had such a great holiday.
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. They do work so hard to please everyone. I am pleased that you appreciated them and will certainly pass on your thanks to them.

We agree that the food here is great. Chef Lee and his team work tirelessly to prove the best possible dining experience. It's not always easy when trying to provide for so many different tastes. We are thrilled that you enjoyed their food.

I'd like to personally thank you for the comments regrading electricity, as you say, we do work hard to maintain electric at all times, the small cuts to switch generators is not too much of a hardship.

It's also lovely that you have mentioned the friendly local villages, they are so warm and friendly to everyone.

Thanks once again.

Tropical Regards

Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were looking for an excuse to come back and found it when we was the super special the village was offering on the 2 bedroom pool villas.

Yee Ha - back to coconut island. 9 days of fun and sun!

Hannah loved the kids club and playing on the water slides and pool. The kids club staff were terrific!

Dad loved the free water sports - Hobie Cat and Topaz (like a Laser). There were also kayaks available too!

Mum loved doing nothing and the awesome frozen coconut frappes at happy hour by the beach

The free water taxi off the island made an easy escape one night for seafood dinner on the Laem Hin Pier but otherwise we had all meals in the resort

We found that the shop has reasonably prices food and drinks if you dont want to eat out every night too!

All the staff are great and whilst there were a couple of very minor maintenance issues - everything was sorted out very quickly.

We attended a sales presentation which turned out to be a very low key affair - no pressure at all and the deal they offered to us was extremely attractive too!! The high pressure sales guys from a previous marketing company have all recently all been kicked off the island and all the marketing is now done in house by resort staff!

Also make sure you get a Thai massage! Afterwards you will probably feel like you have been hit by a train but it was AMAZING!

We cant wait to come back again and I would like to thank all the crew for looking after us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

we spent 8 days at the Village coconut island and it was a great holiday, we had a 2 bedroom villa with our own pool, it was wonderful the bedroom was decorated beautifully for our 20th wedding anniversary. The food was fantastic we ate in both restaurants 7 nights out of our 8 day stay and was great everynight, the day spa was great we had a free massage but paid for another as it was so good. the staff were excellent at all times and there was absolutly no selling at all we had a meet and great afternoon which was fun.
I have read other reviews about the power going off and on all the time if it didn go off it was for a split second and didnt interfere with anything at all and as for the toilet paper we were on an island in Thailand for heaven sake. I would recomend the Village if you want a great relaxing holiday with great food in very good clean accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenjan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Ok so we did immediately pay to upgrade as we were not happy with our garden view two room villa and agree with other reviewers as far as website vs reality. The 3 bedroom 2 story ocean view villa we were in for 7 nights was AMAZING in every way. Views were insanely good and 5 star all the way (garden villa was 3 star at best). Villa was so clean and massive. Pool was huge although I think more routine maintenance of pools is required. Main pools of resort are incredible and very clean.

Massive thanks to Chris who is incredible at his job as client services. All of the staff here are amazing from check in to service staff. We ate every morning in the restaurant and were consistently amazed at the kindness and attentiveness of the staff. Food is insanely good!! We also enjoyed many cocktails at happy hour :) We ate most nights at either restaurant as they were both great but I loved The Deli. In regards to food there are many places near Coconut Island that serve great Thai food but I would have to say do NOT eat the buffet at the ladyboy show called Aphrodites. May just be my Westerner taste but it was really bad and over priced..

We had no problems with the boat over to mainland (although when we ate at floating restaurant for lunch we watched the boat go back and forth for staff frequently yet when missed it by a few minutes we had to wait 25 mins even though it was at jetty). The guys are great helping you on and off and impressed that they used a more closed in boat when it was raining. Personally love the exclusiveness of being on an island and found all the cab drivers at Laem Hin Pier great. Would recommend a young guy nicknamed Chai if he's there.

Loved the Thai massage I had and the ladies there are just gorgeous. The small shop there also has a great range and the nicest staff - always so quick with a chat and a smile. Oh and I wish I could remember her name but there was a staff member at The Deli restaurant with braces - we almost ate there just due to her great personality :)

We didn't get the hard chat from sales staff and def didn't notice any tourists there as part of a sales pitch. The only negative thing I can say is how horrified I was and still am at how insultingly rude some guests are towards the staff. Thankfully never witnessed an Aussie being rude but there were incidences where the restaurant staff were so polite and accommodating even to the most embarrassingly rude patrons. If you are planning on heading there a smile and a thank you takes 5 seconds and the staff deserve at least that.

The day trip over to the closest island was great. We had the beach and restaurant to ourselves and loved it. Simple walk down to front jetty at 11, at island 10 mins later with cocktail in hand and back to Coconut Island at 3 pm. Unfortunately we went on a day trip not through resort to go Phi Phi Island on a really rainy day. Boat staff were great but boat got stuck on mud on way back and we were stuck at front of boat in the rain. Plus sea was so rough we got thrown around and left very much battered and bruised. No ones fault just mentioned that if you book a trip don't go on a day of rain.

If you can pay for upgrade at The Village and you'll be more than happy you did :)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank WAFamily0f5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
15.5 km away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 386 in Kathu
777 reviews
27.6 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
19.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
7.7 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
15.5 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 913 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Price Range: ₹ 7,326 - ₹ 22,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort. 44 beautiful pool villas with sea views, 116 luxury Jacuzzi suites, 500 metres of untouched island beach front. A complete collection of water craft fun and exciting adventure activities, relaxed waterfront setting restaurant, bars and shop onsite. On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay. All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing