We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money. Great Rooms and views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandalay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandalay Resort
Ranked #119 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money. Great Rooms and views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have stayed here several times and will do again. The rooms have a luxurious feel, are clean and well decorated. The views are GREAT. The pool is good. Breakfast is very good indeed - lots of choice - and the chef cooks a great omlette to order.The food is good in the restaurant too - reasonable prices and a good location for people watching. The beach is just across the street. You can walk to Walking Street in about 25 minutes or, if you are lazy (i.e. on holiday) like me you can catch the Baht Bus. Staff were fine. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Very good views from about the 4th. floor up, and nearer to Beach Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    78
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
29
56
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This mid-sized hotel really was very nice. We particularly like its location, a two-minute walk can lead us fom the hotel to the beach. The room was great, it had a nice beach and sea view, and the L-shape bathroom was spacious. Bed and sofa (day) bed were both very comfy. There also was a nice corner in the room decorated to handle dining needs of the guests. Satellite TV and local cable box were all included. Last but not least, breakfast was far better than what we had expected. And we paid only half of what we would have paid had we stayed at other hotel of the similar quality for a similar type of room in Pattaya city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbe_thaiwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The location of this hotel is great for those who are not overly interested in the Walking Street 'attractions' as it is right at the other end of Beach Rd. Just accross the road from the beach and surrounded by some curiously designed hotels, you will feel like you are in a dry dock when you see the, literally, ship shape hotel next door.
As for the Sandalay itself I was quite impressed with the hotel. Nice rooms although from reading other reviews I understand that the standard rooms are a little small. I went for the Deluxe Sea View and it was more than adequate for space. Great shower and toilet facilities but they are a little cheap when it comes to the shower gel etc. this is not in the little bottles we all love (to take home!) but in a dispencer on the wall! at this price a couple of bottles should not be an issue.
The balcony was a little small but fine for one person to sit and take in the view of the bay, slightly obsured in my case hence the reference to the 'boat' next door.
Breakfast was plentiful although not the warmest I have eaten. Ate in the restaurant at the front of the hotel a couple of times, as good as anywhere in the area for Thai food and reasonably priced. Sit at the front as the deck is slightly raised so perfect for watching the world go by.
I only marked the service down as average because some of the front desk staff were not full of the famous Thai smile and more importantly they booked me a taxi to the wrong airport even though I had made several attempts to ensure that they had me down as going to Utapao not Bangkok, which is where I very nearly ended up!
I would and am planniing to stay there again as it is the best location for anyone visiting Pattaya but is not overly interested in Walking Street in all its sordid glory!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimBann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have stayed there 2 nights and it was really good for our needs.

+ location - exactly center, sea just across the street
+ free wi-fi
+ really good quality of room and modern interior (for us wasn`t the best view from room, but if curtains are closed, then room was perfect)
+ attitude in hotel was welcomed and warm

Hotel is good 3* hotel. Behind the corner there is 2 little shops: 7eleven and FamilyMart, as well laundry service - perfect is you stay for 1-2 weeks, restaurants, shops - all for beach road and 2road (don`t need to drive nowhere)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel is showing its age with a lot of wear and tear. The standard rooms are tiny at only 23 Sq. Meters. I opted for the larger room at over 50 sq. meter. If you don't pay extra for a room with a beach view, you'll get a room with a view of the adjacent building which is not a good sight. The front desk inadvertently gave me breakfast vouchers for my three day stay. On my first day of breakfast after presenting the voucher to the restaurant employee(with the date/room/name) I began to fill my plate with food at the buffet. By the time I was about to sit down with my breakfast, the restaurant employee informed me the voucher was not valid. I protested, placed my plate on the table. Without touching my breakfast, she suggested I check with the front desk. The front desk expecting me with a sheepish grin said they were sorry, my room did not include breakfast. I told them they gave me the vouchers, I had a full plate and was embarassed by them asking me to leave and that my voucher was not valid. The front desk really needs more training. More than half the staff have trouble communicating in English. I would not return to this hotel. At best, the hotel is 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thaistyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pattaya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
3.3 km away
Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality
1.1 km away
Flipper House Hotel
Flipper House Hotel
#117 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 km away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#64 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Baboona BeachFront Living
Baboona BeachFront Living
#123 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 km away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#25 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.1 km away
Pattaya Sea View Hotel
Pattaya Sea View Hotel
#121 of 442 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalay Resort

Property: Sandalay Resort
Address: 389 Moo 9, Beach Road, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,715 - ₹ 3,685
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandalay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandalay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalay Resort Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing