We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort - Great Pool, But Poor Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Ranked #4 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Resort - Great Pool, But Poor Beach”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Overall, very happy with this Hotel. I stayed for 2 nights at the end of April 2012.

Room Review: We had a deluxe ocean view room. Beautiful view, room size was good, lovely view of the ocean. One of the issues in the hotel is the steps, as the hotel sits on a hillside, and you may have to walk up many steps to get to reception, the restaurants, the pool or your room. Lovely comfortable bed, fast internet access, and room appliances. Lighting the the bathroom a bit dark.

Restaurant review: Great food in the hotel restaurant. I had one of the best prawn curries I've had here. Waiting staff excellent, special mention to the assistant manager (i think called Kitti?),

Pool review. The first time i could ever say that the pool was too hot! it was 40 degrees and the pool felt like a bath, personally for me it would have been better just a little cooler, as there was no relief from the beating sun. But my wife loved the warm pool temperature, so its just my personal opinion.

Spa review. We had a 2.5 hour massage. Was fantastically delivered by the team. well done.

Taxi ride to Bangkok. Beware. Crazy fast drivers on the express way from Pattaya to Bangkok. Make sure you tell your driver to drive carefully.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex19671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    280
    66
    22
    6
See reviews for
304
406
94
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were welcomed well and got offered a good room next to the swimming pool. As soon as you got near the swiming pool they imeditaly gave you a bottle of water and some clean towels. They also changed the beds everyday. There was 24/7 room service but it was a little bit expensive. The hotel is not located near shops or resturants so its the best place if your there to relax. The only thing that wasent good was the beach, there wasnt much sand.
Overall we liked it and we would recomend it if you want to relax peacefully.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel in excellent location. We stayed here for 11 nights in April 2012. We travelled as a family and found the location excellent, being only 5 mins taxi ride from either Jomtien Beach (more family orientatied) or Pattaya City. The peace and quiet is well worth the handy £4 taxi ride without bartering. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and have incredibly comfortable beds. There is a choice of three pools, one shallower for children and two more suitable for adults. The breakfast is an amazing spread and there is an egg chef on hand. Room service is excellent. We were there during the Thai New Year and the special dinner for this fell on our last night and was superb. All the staff are extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. We would wholeheartly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Pattaya and hopefully we will return. Colin & Melissa - England

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have lived in Thailand for over 10 years and during that time have travelled extensively throughout the region so I feel relatively well positioned to comment on hotels here.

The Sheraton Pattaya is my favourite place to stay in Pattaya. The resort is very well laid out in a garden setting on a hill sloping down to the sea (there are alot of steps so keep that in mind if travelling with elder guests). The rooms are very well appointed, with great sea/pool/garden views. The breakfast is fantastic as is the infinity restaurant. Drinks can be a bit pricey at infinity but if you go from 5pm-7pm during the happy hour you are treated to a buy one get one free deal.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed one week in March 2012 in two deluxe pool terrace rooms.  The hotel is beautiful. Rooms are very big and ours had a deck that looked out onto one of the three pools.  The hotel is set on a hill so there are stairs everywhere.  We had expected this from reading previous reviews and even though it meant carrying our two year old almost everywhere, it really wasn't that much of an inconvenience. 

There are three pools: a shallow one mainly for little kids, one that is about 4 ft deep that seemed to attract mainly adults and older kids and one that was more of a relaxing pool with a number of small jacuzzi cut outs for a pretty much adult only crowd.  The beach is a small, man-made area at the very bottom of the hotel and there were usually a few people down there. If you are going to the  resort to spend time on the beach, I would go somewhere else as it isn't very nice of a beach.  The pools close at 7pm at which time the entire hotel goes quiet (very quiet).  

Since we weren't going to take our children into the red light district that is the entire city of pattaya, we ate at the hotel every night (which was really the only let down of the stay).  There are two restraunts at the hotel.   One is near the beach and the other is all the way back up the hill in the main building.  The breakfast buffet was great in the mornings, but the lunch and dinner menus were pretty bland.  The western food options were tolerable and the Thai options were  extremely oily.  After we found out that the room service has a 30 minute delivery guarantee, we decided against climbing up the hill for dinner each night and just ate in the rooms.

Overall, it is a great hotel. Just be prepared for the steps and consider eating outside of the hotel if you want any variety.  Also, there is not much of a night life at the hotel and there is nothing within walking distance.  You will need a cab or take the hotel shuttle if you want to get into the city or even to a small mini mart.  One last tip is that the pavilion rooms seemed to be the ones that were right next to the pools if it is important to you.  

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gjr26645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
4.5 km away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
2.5 km away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 449 in Pattaya
1,663 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 449 in Pattaya
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#17 of 449 in Pattaya
2,304 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 449 in Pattaya
1,564 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#23 of 449 in Pattaya
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Pattaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Pattaya Resort

Property: InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Address: 437 Phra Tamnak Road, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly Sheraton Pattaya Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#5 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#7 Family Hotel in Pattaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,973 - ₹ 26,407
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Pattaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Pattaya Resort is located on a cliff headland, overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, with just less than 2 hours drive from Bangkok. The resort enjoys a beachfront location with unsurpassed views to Koh Larn (Coral Island) and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Prestigia, Ostrovok and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Pattaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Pattaya Sheraton
Sheraton Pattaya Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing