We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, we may not be back!”
Review of Cosy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosy Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Having been to Cosy Beach last year I was surprised with some of the comments I read. But I fear things have slipped quite badly in some respects. Firstly the room we had (over in the Ocean Wing) was dreadful..It was a lovely,well decorated large room BUT with a HUGE crack down the entire wall from top to bottom! The plaster had bulged that much that it was about to pop off the wall at any time!And when you consider it was right over the bed side lamp,it looked very iffy.... When we went back to reception to say we weren't happy(or felt safe) in that room,we were shown another one...Dark, dingy, overlooking an alley with a eyeline view of the next buildings roof! We said the original room was a better position but was curtly told by the Manager that the hotel was full and that was that! He said he had ''already upgraded us''? We told him that the room should not be given to anyone and called out Kuoni rep...First time we have ever been disappointed with Kuoni..he came,shrugged and laughed when I told him that the Bell boy had said the crack was from an earthquake(very re-assuring)..When we asked could we move hotel..Nope...Kuoni came back to us 3 days later and said we could move for £424! They should have paid me that to stay in there! Anyway, we could't waste any more of our holiday and settled into the routine of ''getting the towel''on the sunbed..What a shocker..we went down the 2nd morning to find the pool on the original Cosy Beach side(which we prefer as the sun is better on this side) was like a garbage site! A cat ran past us with it's mouth full of food it had scavanged from one of the many plastic food containers left lying around..This I might add we also told the rep about whilst we were trying to sort the other problem out. By lunch time we could see where the problem was coming from...Now I must stress we do not expect everything to be ''British'' when we go away..far from it ...but it was basically the way the ''Russian'' customers ate and drank..I commented on this last review and things had got worse not better! We went down in the evening to see that the lovely dimly lit pool area was no more than a take away cafeteria. Sunbeds were used as seats..and the pool tables filled with food and drink brought in from the local supermarket and food stalls...And sadly all the empty beer bottles and plastic containers were left for the poor Thai staff to clean away in the morning.Of course we were down there pretty early to get a sunbed so saw the carnage they had to clear away...It was the same all day around the pool and in the evening at the bar in the Ocean Wing side where Mia and Sam would would sing some lovely music..They even had the cheek to come to the bar and ask for their wine/lager bottles to be opened!...That was the negative..very sad, as this could be a little gem..it's so close to the Cliff beach..within easy reach of Pattaya Beach and Jomtiem.....we could walk to the major tourist sites..The Naval Point and Big Buddha...There are some gorgeous restaurants to eat in and yet it's spoilt because the management don't seem to want to keep the rooms in a good state of repair or sort out these tourists who basically don't want to pay for anything in the hotel and bring it all in and leave it for other people to clear away...The most annoying thing was to try and tell these people to stop spitting their chewing gum on the floor around the pool. There's nothing like stepping in hot sticky gum and having it stuck to the bottom of your nice pool shoes....Sounds disgusting I know but IS disgusting to have happen! And it's so annoying because the food around the hotel is good and very reasonable..and if you sign it to your room and pay at the end of your stay, the hotel gave us 20% off...which in our case amounted to £80! We ate some days at the BBQ..which cooked your bef/chicken/prawn and mixed seafood kebabs as you ordered. I amd going to add some pictuers(good and bad ) for you to make up your own minds..but I fear we would not want to put ourselves through listening to foul mouthed,drunken Russian, tourists again....and I did check with several people that we were correct in our Nationality and we were...sorry ..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

I've just been in to have a look at how 'Cosy Beach' is doing and can't quite understand some of the reviews..Things must have taken a big dip from last year! We are going back again in May and are looking forward to it...One comment about no Bar? Both sides of the hotel (Original and newer Ocean Wing) all gathered in the evenings in the Ocean Wing side which opens out onto the Main Street and listened to and sometimes sang with resident singers Mia and Sam..There's a lovley BBQ area going with Chicken/prawn skewers etc which they will bring to your seat or at the Bar.
There's the nice ''Infinity Pool' on the Ocean Side but we preferred to go to the Original Cosy Beach side and sunbathe or eat...Jai was a wonderful waiter and the cost fo food and drink was cheaper than down on Cliff Beach..It was good freshly cooked,quality food . I will say that the Pool area was a little run down and ''Yes'' the Russians can be very overpowering..We've been to Pattaya for the past 10 years and have seen the increase in their numbers..and yes, I used to be very intimidated by them (as are the Thai's) but found that one could stare and ''No'' does wonders...I don't think that their culture is fully up to integrating with others yet and the fact that the drink makes them even more aggresive is no good....I think the Thai's are now startiing to see that they must be told No no matter what the cost..We saw some terrible behaviour towards the staff from them...But I think that is up to higher Management to stamp this unruly, drunken loud behaviour out by some...and it's sad that it's not by all Russians...we spoke to a few who were really nice people...Yes, the Standard rooms are basic ..that's why we pay to stay in the Ocean Wing side....but even this is quite reasonable compared to staying in close to the main Pattaya Beach area. I will now go with an open mind but still loved all the staff that dealt with us last year and that was under very difficult circumstances because of the curfews etc when there were riots in Bangkok...we never had any language difficulties with the staff, so I am surprised by these comments..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

me and my partner stayed at cosy beach in oct 2010, hotel staff spoke little english and at times were quite ignorant to us british, although if we were russian that would be a diffrent question!! we stayed in a standard room and it was very basic no balcony,our out look was a noisy boiler room,the pool area was very nice with a georgeous view, it cost us 120 thb to go to walking street 150thb to get back,although they will try to charge 200thb to get back,just walk away they soon come running!overall i would not recomend this hotel to british travellers,unless you dont mind been overwhelmed with russian tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dezandkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Having previously stayed at this hotel before and really enjoyed it thought I would try it again.BIG MISTAKE. Totally taken over by loud mouthed Russians, including surrounding area. Who only dress in swimwear, regardless whether in hotel or, outside with the "must have" large bottles of beer.Don't expect to sleep until after 3am- that when they get back to their rooms. So noisey. The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation throuhout. Rooms/bathrooms so out dated.
Majority of staff have a "can't be bothered attitude, especially the Reception.
Breakfast is no way classed as "Amercian". Nothing is freshly cooked nor will they that do it.
Certainly give this hotel a miss- ony , of course, if you want to stay in "Russia"

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Shore47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

good location - not in the center of the city (so quiet street and more clean beach) but enough of cafes, fruit salers, massages etc.
good personal.
good rooms ('ocean wing' building)
and a lot of 'goods' :)

Alex Y.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beavisssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.3 km away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
3.9 km away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#28 of 456 in Pattaya
782 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#24 of 456 in Pattaya
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Zing Resort & Spa
Zing Resort & Spa
#31 of 456 in Pattaya
476 reviews
4.4 km away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#53 of 456 in Pattaya
622 reviews
1.2 km away
Tara Court Hotel
Tara Court Hotel
#21 of 456 in Pattaya
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Beach Hotel

Address: 400 Moo.12 Soi Rajchawaroon, Pratamnuk Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: ₹ 3,639 - ₹ 6,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosy Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Beach Pattaya
Hotel Cosy Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing