We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location & Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfect Location & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

From the check-in to check-out there is nothing to say about the service except that it is perfect and the usual Marriott quality. Here some more details:

The room:
It is renovated, clean and comes with the Marriott standard. Shower tub is a bit small but it is ok.

Location:
The hotel resides between the Beach Road and the second road and is the middle of Patong. To south from the hotel there is the main entertainment area with the walking street and to the north there are more shopping malls, other hotels and nice restaurants. Next to the hotel is also a shopping mall, we tried the one at the Hilton which is bigger. The beach is just crossing the street from the hotel's back entrance (poolside).

Breakfast:
Huge choice and I liked especially the fresh juice and the rice noodle soup.

Pool & rest:
Pool is great and the garden area where the pool is located is like a small oasis in middle of the hectic and busy Pattaya.

Spa:
The spa is expensive compared to ones outide but the quality is 5-star. If you tired in looking for a cheaper spa outside I can really recommend.

Overall only the new built Hilton looks nicer but I haven't tried that. So if you want to have everything from pool to entertainment, this one is the perfect hotel for you. With Marriott you won't make any mistakes.

Room Tip: Ocean view might be better you see the sea from far, and the windows is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    386
    112
    22
    16
See reviews for
183
330
189
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you stay at Marriott hotels, then you will know what you are getting when you check in here. Not the newest of the big chain hotels (Hilton takes that prize), nevertheless, its central position and high standards makes it a good choice if you need to stay in central Pattaya.

The rooms are standard, but as others have commented, the design of the shower/bath beggars belief. It is impossible to have shower without flooding the bathroom. Using light water pressure and copious quantity of towels helped to diminish the flood. I am pleased to read from a reviewer that the management intend to spend money to upgrade the bathrooms. When they do so they should remove the glass wall; why do designers think you want to watch your other half sitting on the toilet!

The pool is a place of respite in the hurly burly of downtown Pattaya and a much better place to sunbathe and swim than the nearby main beach across the road, which is awash with uncomfortable deck chairs and sun umbrellas. Happy hour at the pool (two cocktails for the price of one) is a popular time!

There is a big fitness centre to which guests have access - much better than many hotel gyms.

Eating in is expensive, but there are plenty of eating places in all directions.

We checked this hotel out on a previous visit and were pleased to stay here on this occasion and would do so again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woolloongabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is probably the best one in the area. Well located for the Pattaya area and guest friendly. Security is good, rooms large (although missing some furniture...too much empty space) and all have an ocean / swimming pool view! AC works wonders. TV channels are limited (no, no in my book). Internet service excellent...no down times or interuptions. Breakfast (Buffet) service very good, although can get crowded near closing time (10 am) since everyone tends to sleep in. The VIP lounge service is spectacular. Everyone is always welcoming you and so polite. Hotel is connected to a mall for light shopping. No complaints or concerns from my side. If you can afford the hotel give it a try. Definitely one of the most expensive in the area (price is relative for the area) but worth it if you are with family or on business. Pool and pool bar well kept and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best ocean view. Also request two keys since you need one to keep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Overall my stay at the Marriott Pattaya was a very positive experience! The location was excellent. The property is located adjacent to a very modern mall and within easy walking distance to "Walking Street." The grounds are very nicely kept with an enjoyable garden and pool area to relax. The staff was exceptional with attentive service. I was somewhat dissatisfied with the "garden view" room. Although the room was large enough it seemed short on furnishings. A sofa, another chair, and/or a table would have added to comfort and fill in vacant space. The bathroom felt small. The high step into and out of the shower/tub was difficult. The contrast on the television was not working properly. These were minor inconveniences contrasted to the positives of the property. I will stay at the Marriott again when I am in Pattaya. Oh yes, the breakfast buffet is one of the best anywhere!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Used our Marriot points so it was an okay place to stay but I wouldn’t pay the rack rate to stay here. We used the handy Bell Travel bus from the airport and they dropped us at the hotel for 200 BHT each. Staff met us and helped us with our bags and we received welcome drinks and cool cloths. Check in was super fast. Sea view room is okay – fairly clean (could use some bleaching in the bathroom), beds are fairly small but comfy with decent linens. Lots of hangers and there’s a fridge, kettle, hair dryer, tub/shower combo, TV with movies, WIFI that’s solid and a/c that works well. View of the harbour is good.

Unfortunately the tub is too small for the shower head so water sprays onto the sides and drips onto the floor. They’ve placed a piece of wood on the floor to divert the water to the drain but the drain is higher than the floor so water pools. It makes quite a mess. Turn down service cleaned it up for us but it’s a hassle. We asked reception if this was typical in each room and it was so we didn’t bother changing rooms. On a good note: there’s plenty of hot water, the water pressure is great and the towels are large and soft.

The manager spoke to us at departure and was genuinely interested in feedback so that was nice. He said there are plans to renovate in the very near future. Opted out of breakfast but did eat lunch at the pool and both food and service were good. Our night was super quiet. After our last day of diving we could use the health spa to shower and clean up for our 6:30 bus pick up and that was very handy.

Had Indian food across the road and it was decent. There's a great food court on the top floor of the mall - as well as coffee shops and fast food if that's your thing. Diving with Mermaids was merely okay – I’ve certainly been with better companies. If they started earlier one could easily get three dives in instead of 2. Diving in Pattaya isn’t great for experienced divers: visibility ranges from 4 to 8 metres with not much to see.

I would not return to Pattaya – it seems more inclined towards men seeking the company of Thai women. Divers looking for an easy dive spot to get to from Bangkok should go to Koh Chang or better yet, Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.9 km away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
0.7 km away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#15 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort
3.4 km away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#3 of 441 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa
Address: 218/2-4 Moo 10, Beach Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
#3 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#17 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#22 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,280 - ₹ 12,451
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style, at AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa. Located in the heart of the city, there's so much to see and do - and you'll love the view. For work or play, we'll make your day, with endless options to adventure or unwind. Gather your team in contemporary, airy meeting rooms with state of the art facilities, or bring the family to experience the simple pleasures of fun by the sea. We'll keep everyone interested, with AVANIKIDS for the little ones. Take in a game of golf with friends. Share fun with the family at a nearby waterpark. Taste a world of flavours in our selection of the finest restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pattaya Resort And Spa
Marriott Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Pattaya Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing