We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Bon Coin

Au Bon Coin
Ranked #64 of 911 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

What a gem! My husband and I found this one on tripadvisor and after wandering up and down streets trying to find this place for about 40 minutes, we ran into a Norwegian transplant to Pattaya who pointed us in the right direction and said Au Bon Coin was worth the trouble. I couldn't agree more.

The only bad thing I can say (other than how hard it was to find) is that we didn't try this place until our last night in Pattaya. We had the goat cheese spring rolls, crab salad, five hour lamb and duck in red wine sauce; all were incredible. We're convinced this has to be one of the best French restaurants in all of Thailand. The restaurant is quaint and intimate, and the staff and chef make the meal even more memorable. Very reasonable prices for an outstanding meal. Can't wait to go back on our next trip to Pattaya. Fantastic!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erikagotthetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    43
    9
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Without a doubt one of the most genuine French restaurants you will find outside France.
Great atmosphere, unobtrusive service and absolutely great food. Crap salad and the five hour lamb are superb. They also have a nice cheeseboard. In my view the best foreign eatery in Pattaya

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
539 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,530 helpful votes
“France in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Make a reservation days in advance - otherwise you've got NO chance to get the best meal in Pattaya and maybe Thailand.

It's a beautiful place, romantic, with atmosphere. The owner is very friendly & you see that he loves food.

They make their own paté, everything was really good! Not Nouvelle Cuisine, but substantally good France country style food.

Fantastic!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vive la France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The owner is very clear with his concept. Food is excellent, service (possibly purposely) very average. Wines are chosen by yourself from an airconditioned cubicle. Two shifts, one at 7 pm and one at 8.30 pm - by 10.30 pm you have to be out. Very French; the French food though is second to none indeed. Try the agneau a cinq heures!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Diether P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would love that restaurant to be in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The food quality and service are outstanding!
A very nice range of wines available, certainly value for money.
The restaurant is mostly fully booked, do make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MTrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Bon Coin also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Bang Lamung, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Au Bon Coin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing