We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service at the front office”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Ranked #44 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor service at the front office”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel has a good view of the pattaya beach provided you have booked a sea view room. he front office staff look "cold". The ;location is quite a distance to the walking street

Note: the beach is across the street and one has to walk down a small slope and cross themain road to reach the beach.


They hardly used words such as please, thank you or sure. They have problem with basic english. I have requested for my tax invoice on my stay and they just cant understand and told me they could not print out ...Absurd.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPL2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    470
    143
    36
    33
See reviews for
159
262
82
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

its very good hotel to stay near to beach and all major shopping mall as well as so many variety restaurants.its nice sea view with swimming pool,staff is helpful and can use business center free of charge and can give 100 marks for clean room with all amenities and i can say its more than value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great value for money. Stayed in Superior room with ocean view for around $75 AUD per night. Room was large with quality fit out. Great views and the hotel is located on Beach Road in the heart of Pattaya. Staff were excellent and buffett breakfast was fantastic. The Pool and restaurant were also very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, singles, couples and families.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room, worth a few extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The best was the room with sea view and very helpful and friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was delicious - I can't imagine a better way to start a day. The rooms are very quiet, clean and full of natural light. I had a great stay. location is perfect in the center, walking distance to anywhere,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 11SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nothing to look at from the outside. The hotel faces the beach, but the main entrance is tucked away on Soi 6/1 .
The lobby is smallish, not spectacular, but OK. The receptionists are friendly, helpful, and speak good English.
Our room was surprisingly nice, modern and fresh-looking... with the hugest bed we'd ever slept in....I mean huge!! Plenty of pillows, and good-quality bedding.
Good bathroom, with separate good-sized tub and shower cubicle.
I have seen a couple of Tripadvisor complaints about the shower....If you figure out how to use it, it's the best you can get....
An overhead rainwater shower with great flow, and you turn the switch on the wall, and it becomes a hand-held pressure shower.... definitely the best of both worlds!
Bathroom towels slightly off-white, but big and soft.
Had an ant issue in the bathroom at first, but borrowed the maid's squirty stuff, and cured it easily!

We had asked for a quiet room as we'd read reviews about noise. We were on the 9th floor, and we heard very little noise...slept like a baby!
Wonderful sea view, decent sized balcony. The balcony chairs weren't the most comfy, but ok. A bonus was a drying rack for wet swimsuits.
My only negative about the room would be lack of drawer or shelf space.
Lots of activity to look at from the balcony.....boats, paragliders, people, etc... great if you like staring out to sea, as we do! nice lit-up view of the town across the bay at night too!
Good breakfast buffet too....both Asian and western options...with eggs cooked to order, and lots of great fresh fruit.

Very nice pool, with 2 waterslides.....starts at the walk-in shallow end, graduating to the deep end. Suitable for kids and adults.
Decent sunbeds and umbrellas. Good beach towels too.

Soi 6/1 and soi 6 are amusing to walk down as adults... but definitely not a 'family' atmosphere!
6/1 is seedy....almost-naked ladyboys 'making a living' .....both day and night! In soi 6, they're slightly more organised.... sitting outside the bars etc.
As a retired couple, we found the people-watching aspect amusing....!!
But... plenty to do for families along the beach front and main road....wouldn't hesitate taking kids to Pattaya, despite some negative reviews.
If you're easily offended, it's probably not the place to go!!
Walking Street at night is lively, full of the same stuff, but more touristy.

Pattaya is easy to get around...stop a 'bus' (blue covered pickup truck with seats) ring the bell when you want to get off, and hand the driver 10 baht per person. Easy... no hassle service!

We were last in Pattaya about 5 years ago, and in IMHO, it's definitely changed for the better. Would definitely go again, and would probably stay at Discovery Beach if we did.

Room Tip: A higher room facing the beach is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mamasue111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.0 km away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#27 of 447 in Pattaya
905 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 447 in Pattaya
1,524 reviews
0.5 km away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
A-One The Royal Cruise Hotel
1.3 km away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#49 of 447 in Pattaya
510 reviews
0.3 km away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#32 of 447 in Pattaya
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel

Property: Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Address: 489 Soi 6/1, North Pattaya, Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,623 - ₹ 6,728
Hotel Class:4 star — Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing