We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find, wonderful food and ambiance”
Review of The Boudoir

The Boudoir
Ranked #2 of 1,279 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing find, wonderful food and ambiance”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Like many others we found Boudoir through TA and have now been twice in two weeks. Wonderful experience. Food is fantastic better than most meals we've had in France. Service is impeccable and the house is amazing. Very eccentric, red everywhere little nooks to dine in, the night sounds of Samui to accompany the meal; frogs, cicadas, sometimes quite deafening but amazing. Quite wonderful and an incredible find in any city, but in Samui! A real life saver for residents and tourists alike. Many people find it hard to find. Ignore the map which shows it in Bang PO, it's in Maenam, soi 1, the road before the soi that Angelas is on coming from Bophut and about a kilometre up the road, it is signposted. And it's prices are excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    46
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Deservedly highly rated.”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Ok, so it's difficult to find but well worth the effort.
Set in a bungalow off the beaten track, this restaurant is passionate about offering excellent, freshly prepared food at good prices.
The menu in most respects comprises of typical French dishes with an Asian twist.
No starters as such but my wife and I shared a salad before then having beef carpaccio with frites and a very slow cooked lamb shank.
Large portions and all excellent.
The passion fruit crime brûlée is masterful.
All in all, faultless.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew9551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Relaxed French Dining”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I admit to placing high level of reliance on the views of other TA contributors when researching hotels/restaurants, and The Boudoir was already receiving very good reviews. We were not disappointed. I can only echo the views of others: fabulous hosts, charming and welcoming; good food, quality and copious amounts.

A couple of items of interest:
1. Directions - On reaching Mae Nam, turn left atthe Family Market (just before the bridge), go up the road approx. 250m and turn left again. Go a further approx. 100m and turn left into the grounds of the restaurant
2. No Credit Cards taken. Got caught a bit short paying for the 4 of us, but not really an issue - got on the back of Isa's scooter much to the amusement of the rest of the family (as a good amount of apero and wine had already been consumed by then) and whisked down to the ATM at the Family Mart at the bottom of the road.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Relaxing Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had an amazing meal at The Boudoir; It is quite difficult to find a decent French Restaurant on the island and it's difficult to compete with this one! The restaurant is located in a very quiet place and the owners will meet you at your arrival with a huge smile :) there are just a few tables in the restaurant so it is very private and intimate. We shared a goat cheese salad (HUGE one!) and then had seared tuna and lamb shanks. Wow.. The plates were very consistent and the quality of the food second to none. No dessert taken as this was already more than enough. We had just a glass of wine so the bill was very reasonable (less than 30 GBP, 40 Eur). Will definitely go back when im in need of french food..

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vinzsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING! Great find!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We knew we wanted to visit this restaurant after reading the tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately our first attempt dirivng a rental car from the other side of the island was unsuccessful - we couldn't find it!

We didn't give up though and after calling the restaurant and getting better directions we were able to find it for dinner on our last night of our honeymoon in Samui.

The food was INCREDIBLE. Everything was very good - large portions of food. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.

We are so glad we went and everyone really should go if visiting Samui and in the mood for some delicious French food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boudoir also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Boudoir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing