We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Thai Akha Cooking School tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Thai Akha Cooking School
from US$ 32.00
More Info
from US$ 29.00
More Info
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
1,487
43
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,487
43
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning class cooking school local market thai food great cooking class at home the kitchen highly recommend this class market tour cooking experience amazing dishes learn how curry come hungry morning session cooking class in chiang mai amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a wonderful time shopping at the local market, trying unique items we wouldn’t have otherwise known or tasted during our trip and learning how to make authentic Thai cuisine. We made so many dishes and everything was wonderful!

Thank alyssab569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

If anything is worth the time, this has to be it. Best excursion in Thailand & it wasn't even close. Our instructor "J" was awesome, explaining the market in great detail, he's funny, his cooking skills & instructions are awesome and he has great command of the English language. He's from the Akha Tribe as well so it makes it very authentic.
This is worth it, absolutely worth it.

Thank 204kristopherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This was an awesome cooking class!!! Most amazing experience! Cooked so much good food and they even gave us beer the whole time!

Highly recommended!

Thank Rachit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Cooking thai food can be scary because of the complex taste of the dishes. Here you learn that its actually not that difficult. You cook 11 different dishes each one better than the previous!
Everybody was really nice and the food was shared with everybody so you could taste all the different dishes.
In the end you will be more than full so bring an empty stomach.
You also learn about akha culture and get to take home a bag of spices for creating a curry paste and a recipe book for all the dishes. Must try when in chang mai. :)

Thank peterpenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What a fun experience! They are so friendly, organized, and delicious food! Make sure that you Come hungry! And no worries, you get a cookbook

Thank aedidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Perfect amount of pre-prep and cooking, good choices of food and a nice selection. The local akha food was delicious! Our teacher Deau was fun and energetic, would definitely recommend!

Thank MoLeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Do provides an amazing experience for us. He was patient and attentive. I have an onion aversion and he made sure to help prep my dish that had no onion. We enjoyed it very much.

Thank Griot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Such a knowledgeable and friendly teacher who gave us a very nice introduction to the Thai and Akha cuisine. I am recommending this to everyone who has time, is open minded and up for some chopping.

Thank TravellingHeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were picked up on time by local transportation where we met up with a very international group and went to a local, non tourist market to pick up local ingredients needed for the days cooking session. We were twelve people of many different nationalities which made the day even more interesting. Very hands on cooking sessions in an outdoor kitchen which was part of the owners home in a true Chiang Mai residential area. We cooked 12 different items and had many to choose from so we had many different things to try and sample together during various times of the day. We concluded the day inside the home at their large dining table sharing our various dishes and learing more about the Akha people and the various dishes that we made. We were also each given a cookbook of he recipes so that we could try them on our own in our respective homes. Cofee, tea and water provided at no charge with other beverages available at a very resonable rate. A truly authentic and enjoyable experience close to town.

Thank travelgeek122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I would highly recommend this class. I have never taken a cooking class before and was a bit nervous, but at no point did I feel that way. The guided journey through the market was so helpful to learn about the different vegetables.
The cooking class itself, is perfect for anyone of any skill.
I seriously highly recommended this class!

Thank Venture07544622930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews