We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Shangri-La Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 369 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Shangri-La Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Shangri-La Hotel is well known with its typical unique lobby and beautiful garden, and this Chiang Mai one is no exception, great hotel! They brought us to Horizon Lounge for the private check-in, accommodated our need of 2 connecting rooms, and everything then was excellent: high quality of foods, friendly staffs, well-maintained building, free wi-fi cover the whole hotel including in swimming pool.

Location is 5 minutes walking distance to night market, and 10 minutes by tuk-tuk to old city, which not really much to see though.

Room Tip: If you travel in near future (April 2012), please check for the HAZE from farmer burning the woods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    459
    116
    28
    20
See reviews for
420
714
111
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

At opening the buffet dinner was 299B, but as March 2012 it's now 465Baht inclusive of tax and service fee. We ate there on a Friday night which happened to be BBQ night. Food was good, ambiance and lighting was fantastic. Service was flawless.

The tiramisu was quite possibly the very best I've ever had in my life. I'll let the photos speak for the rest....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarksFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai is a beautiful hotel and in a great location--easy walking distance to the Night Market and a short tuk-tuk ride to the old city. We booked the Aranda Suite and it was beautiful--we were a little hesitant to book it as there are no pictures of the suites on the hotel's website, but it was well worth the extra money. If you don't need/want a suite, I would still recommend booking a Horizon Club room--WELL worth the extra money if for no other reason than to get to meet George in the Horizon Club--he has a great wealth of knowledge and information about Chiang Mai as far as things to see and do both in the city and the surrounding area. Plus he's very personable and it was a pleasure to get to know him. I would recommend a trip to see the long neck women and also going on an elephant trek--both of which George can book for you. We took the 14 hour "day" trip to Chiang Rai and Laos--I guess I'm glad we did it, but it makes for a VERY long day, so think twice before you commit to it--you spend an inordinate amount of time in the bus driving VERY fast on roads with a LOT of curves and hills. I definitely recommend the Shangri-La Chiang Mai and would certainly stay there again the next time we are in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and tennis court and was beautiful. Not sure what the view is like from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We love Shangri La hotels. To some extent, this location was selected because there was one - although we did want to go to Chiang Mai, so this choice 'ticked two boxes'.
As we found the cost of upgrading to an Horizon room a relatively small addition to the total cost, that is what we did. But we did this at the time of booking.
On arrival we were taken to the dedicated check-in, so from the point of arrival, we were made to feel special. This continued throughout our stay.
Our room was really comfortable and we overlooked the pool. I have seen comments were it is suggested that a room overlooking the poll is preferable, but when we went outside we were not particularly conscious of traffic noise.
The hotel is still fairly new - I think 5 years old - but is in very good condition. we used the pool a couple of times. The complimentary cold towels and jugs of water and fruit are a really nice touch - everything in the hotel is a really nice touch.
The hotel is very well located and apart from trips to temples etc, we walked.The night market is close, and there is a really nice small bar called 'bamboo bar' at the end of the market. We had a cocktail and a beer for about £4 (total) - while we were there two accoutic guitarists played. Nice way to spend an hour.
We tried the Kad Kafe in the hotel one evening. It is buffet style. Not expensive, but the food was only OK and not very warm. There were two huge wedding parties the evening we used it, so maybe that accounted to some of this. But it wasn't expensive, so we were not overly disappointed and it had no impact on our overall enjoyment.
While we were there, we went to the elephant camp and did the ride. We really enjoyed that. In the afternoon we went to Tiger Kingdom - interesting but I am not sure how I felt about it. The tigers seemed well enough - we wondered whether they lose some of their undoubted majesty in this environment. But it does keep lots of locals employed, so I am 'on the fence' on this. We found a fish restaurant just up the road from the hotel - it is more like a covered market area. Our local guide told us that they moved here as it has become so popular. I cannot translate its name, but on the sign outside it was called 'Fatty Funny'. We had two meals there with beer, prawns, steamed fish, rice and vegatables and the bill was about 950 Baht for the first meal, the second slightly more as we had extra bbq'd prawms. It would have cost significantly more than that in the UK.
We stayed for four days, we had a fantasrtic time and I would have no hesitation in rcommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanchang, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed as a family of three for three nights before moving to another hotel for business meetings. We didn't want to leave. We booked a Horizon Club Deluxe room but we were upgraded to a Horizon Club Premier room!! The room was very spacious with a nice sitting area and King sized bed. Our daughter slept on the "day bed." The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub and great amenities, including bath salts and plush towels.

It's worth spending the extra to stay on the Horizon Club levels. They provide great service, free drinks and snacks at the lounge and a free Happy Hour from 5-7 where delicious snacks and desserts and drinks are provided. Horizon Club guests can also choose to eat breakfast at the lounge or downstairs in the main dining room. We tried both and preferred the privacy and service of the lounge, and some foods like waffles, eggs, etc are made fresh and to order!

The pool and surrounding area are beautiful. Pool staff service was mixed. Some were fantastic and friendly but others were lazy and kind of rude. Ice water and fresh fruit and washcloths are provided to the pool guests. Pool food is good but a bit pricey (to be expected). No other food is allowed at the pool. Some kid toys are available as well. The weather was a bit cooler in late January when we stayed, and the pool was therefore quite cold. It didn't stop my daughter from having fun, though!

Free wireless throughout the hotel was nice. The Night Bazaar is a 10-15 minute walk away.

Banquet rooms are beautiful and food excellent. We did a company banquet there after we checked out.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Horizon Club floors! Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somewhereinasiatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#23 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.6 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
0.5 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 369 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.8 km away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.9 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,966 - ₹ 22,477
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing