We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room , good hotel , professional staffs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #36 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice room , good hotel , professional staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were very happy with our room, they charged 500thb for extrabed for my 2 years old as she not go in the small cot but if you pick superior room with share balcony they will come with daybed which they will make up to a bed for you dont need to pay anything but as we required for private balcony so there is no day bed. However, we love our balcony over look to the pool with bird singing. The wireless is very good super fast and free. The bathroom ,There is no bath for superior room type come with rain shower which is not my favorite but I can live with it and the room had been clean everyday. The location is okay for me not great as quite far from 7/11 convenience store and not so many restaurants around walk about 1 km to the gate which sunday market happen hmm with the 2 years old is a bit far however you can take a tuk tuk anywhere esp the tuk tuk from around the cornor the hotel entrance at the shop , he charged us only 300thb for temples tour in the morning 3-4 temples and wait for us no matter how long also take us for lunch very impress for the price. I would defo recommended Ban Thai Village but for myself i will stay somewhere next time where we can find more bars and restaurants around

Room Tip: superior with private balcony very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    288
    77
    13
    11
See reviews for
165
276
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I booked a room here the night before I left for SE Asia, and what a nice surprise it turned out to be. The room was spacious, lovely, and modern, with a coutyard balcony and sitting bench overlooking the lovely pool and leafy green courtyard. The bed was comfy, the AC worked great, the staff was friendly and helpful. It was so nice to be able to return to this pretty, calm refuge after a day of being out on the bustling streets of Chaing Mai in the heat of the day.

While I was there, one of the staff members would come out in late afternoon and play some traditional music by the pool. Pleasant, relaxing, and a really nice touch.

I transferred later to Le Meridien as part of a group, and while Le Meridien was "nicer" and had a superior level of service (and toiletries), I much preferred Banthai Village both for the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is one of my favorite places.

You will not find plush carpet or designer decor. Other than the beautiful court yard, do not expect a view. You may not have hot water in the bathroom basin.

But you will find a serene refuge in the midst of the maze of small streets of Thailand's second largest city. Most of the current 23 rooms surround a lush courtyard with a great pool (a nice refresher from the Thai heat).

The pool bar offers all the food and drink you might want and I was tempted to forgo walks into the the Walled City for some meals.

Our group, seven adults, spent several hours by the pool just relaxing after excursions to take in some of the Thai experience. The location is near the Tha Phae Gate and is in easy walking distance of the two night markets

The staff was very friendly and responsive to any request.

The rooms are basic, some might say rustic: good bed, good air conditioning and good bathroom. The balcony overlooking the court yard offers

Room Tip: New rooms are being added which will not face court yard. I would request rooms on the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OccasionalJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

After having read the reviews on here I was looking forward to our 5 night stay.

We had booked a deluxe room and I cannot think what was deluxe about it apart from it was quite big. There was no shelving or draw space and a very little wardrobe hanging space. Thankfully the day bed was big enough to put our suitcases on so we lived out of them.

The bed was hard (now I know that is asian style but they are catering for wester (on the whole) guests. The aircon unit was great pointing down on the bed but one of the huge lampshades hung in front of it so my hsband froze in bed and I was cool or we had it turned off... The door did not close properly at the top so the mossies came straight in.

Our corridor leading to our room looked down on the street outside so at 5.30 every morning we were woken by the locals talking as they used it, not helped by the gap at the top of the door.

The bathroom - the shower was dirty/grubby in the corners and the ceiling, the window curtain was an old plastic shower curtain, there was only a cold water tap at the basisn so to wash your hands you had to turn on the bath taps or the shower. There were random pipes that came in and out of the wall that were not part of our bathroom.

There are only 6 sun beds for the whole hotel.

Breakfast was hit and miss, some mornings we were offered 'eggs' others you could not get served as they were too busy, one morning we could not even get coffee. The juice and milk was still in the cartons it had been bought in.

These are all things I would expect from a lower cost hotel not one that claims to be 'luxury'.

On the plus side they had free wifi no security code needed though, the staff were helpful and friendly and the location is great for the night market and Tapae gate. The laundry service was reasonable and quick.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in February 2012. Good location 5-10 minutes from the night market. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMICPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 km away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.2 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
0.6 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.8 km away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,862 - ₹ 7,069
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing