We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse: basic with a very kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed 6 days at H.M.G.
Rooms basic, with shower/toilet.
The guesthouse is situated close to a very busy road/crossing so you can hear the traffic clearly. To the city centre is prox. 1,5 km.
The garden offers a real place of relaxation. This is situated on the Ping river and offers you a nice view.
The restaurant/kitchen: Lovely. There was never a better reason to return to the H.M.G.
The food was delicious and offers a lot of different meals.
Personel was friendly and adequate. No frills guesthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PausJoh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

stayed at the hollanda montri for 3 nights in April 2009 during songkran festival. Great little place and really good food. Only downside is that its a little bit out of town - easy to get a tuk tuk though! the owner is a lovely lady - very good service!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spow_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Yes, we were in Chiang Mai once again.
Nice city with at lot of different things to do. And what better place than Hollanda Montri to start the discovery of the city. Clean rooms, very nice staff and perfect kitchen. Am really knows how to spoil the customer.

I will be back for the shoarma, count on it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thailandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Centrally located, on the banks of the river Ping, the guesthouse is only a 5 min tuk-tuk ride from the old town. The rooms were large, very clean with a nice big bathroom and tv. The balconys are small and on the lower floor have no view, on the upper floor they are dominated by the air con. There are wall murals, pictures and works of art dotted about ,a pretty garden, floaty curtains, sofas, loungers, and a little aviary. It is very atmospheric and looks exceptionally enchanting at night. There are free bikes to borrow, and a free internet connection- although a little slow and only one computer. The food , drinks etc were very nice but a little expensive. The staff are friendly and can arrange trips and other journey requirementsfor you. The only problem we had was that there is a lot of traffic noise at night, and also a nearby restaurant had live, very very loud-awful !- music playing until late on 3 of the 5 nights we stayed there. One of the drawbacks if you stay near to the centre of things. So if you are an early to bed person, or a light sleeper you may find it a problem.We paid only 500 baht for our room with hot shower and fan, which is really good value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We've just spent a fantastic 12 nights at the Hollanda Montri It's located slightly out of town bang smack on the river with dining locations right next door and up the road.

First and foremost, it's clean and affordable (550 baht A/C fan room, double; tv; warm shower). An easy 15 minute walk into Thae Pae gate area, or a 50-70 baht tuk tuk ride. Great staff, wonderful kitchen on site with an extensive menu at reasonable prices - run by the Thai half of the business Am, who is good value.

The HM organised our cooking school (Chiang Mai Cookery School) and a 2 day trek via Buddy Tours - both were excellent and we recommend both organisations very highly.

The Hollanda Montri have drivers in their employ which was very handy and well priced to get into town and further afield. Free internet, and free bicycles too!

The only minor complaint would be the noise from the restaurant next door, but given that we stayed here for the new year period, it was to be expected! We met Brits staying in town who got it much much worse!

As the name suggests (and other reviews state!) there is a Dutch connection. We're from New Zealand so it was interesting to meet some Dutch people (and sample the Dutch food they had added to their menu!).

They have two lovely dogs - one called Lucky, a 3 y.o golden retriever, who must be the unluckiest dog in the world because he has bad kidneys (and had a nasty incident with a tuk tuk early on), but they take really good care of him. He' so sweet that i wanted to try and smuggle him in my backpack when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Houligans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 km away
Mountain View Guest House
Mountain View Guest House
#92 of 801 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
2.0 km away
Soisabai Guesthouse
Soisabai Guesthouse
#129 of 801 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
1.3 km away
Kamala's Guesthouse
Kamala's Guesthouse
#110 of 801 in Chiang Mai
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 801 in Chiang Mai
324 reviews
1.8 km away
The Chiang Mai White House
The Chiang Mai White House
#126 of 801 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
2.1 km away
Tato House
Tato House
#243 of 801 in Chiang Mai
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollanda Montri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollanda Montri Guesthouse

Address: 365 Charoenrat Rd., Faham,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 911 - ₹ 1,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollanda Montri Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family style guesthouse along the river , with spectacular views and a relax setting . Great food western and Thai style room price starting from 500 bht . AL major tourist destinations are here we also provide a huge range of tours and trekking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hollanda Montri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing