We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel, but select the right room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 372 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but select the right room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel has a lot to offer. At first glance you may be put off because it isn't centrally located and the street is very industrial. The rooms are lovely. They are clean and have nice touches. The property is well maintained and the grounds are landscaped well. Our first room was the farthest from the pool and did not have an outside sitting area or balcony. During the first of three nights, we were woken up by the sound of some creature scrabbling in the ceiling of our room. As if that were not enough - it began to make a chirping-clucking sound about every 30 minutes. It was so loud that it seemed to be in the room. We should have changed rooms, but returned so late our second night, we just hoped that the creature had moved on. Not so! At midnight it began again. We changed rooms at 1am, and our new room was excellent. No complaints. It was on the second floor, quiet, small sitting area overlooking the garden. Excellent. The manager was very apologetic, offered us free massages, free soaps, very sweet. The hotel breakfast was more than adequate, beds were fine, bathroom and shower all good. It's a little far from town but they do provide a Tuk-Tuk shuttle, and who wants to be in town? The idea is to get out of town, but the neighborhood is a little gritty. We ate in one of the local places nearby and the food was clean and cheap.

Room Tip: Get a room around the pool. Watch out for creatures in the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    252
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
186
464
59
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I really loved this hotel. The staff is very friendly and took good care of me. There are a lot of included services like tuk tuk to the night bazar and, airport transfer... The rooms are lovely and the pool is really nice. The restaurant is also very good. I can only recommend this great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

At first glance this resort appears very unpretentious. But..when you enter into the resort..magic happens!
There is greenery everywhere..2 pools are delightful..breakfasts are excellent & staff are very friendly.
I loved this place & would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxed, peaceful holiday!

Room Tip: The further away the room, the quieter it is from main road, but noise was not a problem ever with u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitepip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We initially chose this hotel on the basis of the lovely description of the spa which is always a key decision point for me. A local friend recommended it over several other choices due to its location - quiet, edge of town but within easy reach of the local night markets. We also chose it over the several well known large chain hotels since these appeared rather soul-less.

When our bus pulled in to the reception courtyard, we were certainly not disappointed. We were greeted by the charming staff and after checking in taken to our lovely room which was beautifully furnished in a rustic style with teak furniture. We were informed that the toiletries were locally produced and organic - beautiful hand made soaps, honey and turmeric shower gel and bamboo charcoal shampoo and conditioner.
I am extremely fussy about the toiletries I use and almost never use those supplied in hotel rooms - even in well known 5-star resorts but those provided in the Shewe Wana were fabulous quality.

The spa was everything I expected and cannot be faulted at all - perfect service, skilled therapist beautiful ambience. I had two sessions of traditional Thai massage with hot compress, each lasting 2 hours and felt thoroughly pampered. Having booked two sessions of two hours each, I was presented a lovely gift of full sized bottles of the shower gel, shampoo and hair conditioner as supplied in the room as well as ceramic pump bottles.

The breakfasts were freshly cooked and we were amazed to be served hash browns which were freshly prepared rather than the frozen patties found in so many places. The fruit salad was also freshly prepared from seasonal fruits.

We stayed 3 nights at the Shewe Wana resort, the first two nights, we met up with friends who were staying elsewhere in Chiang Mai and ate in restaurants around the town but the third night we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the basis of the menu looking good and the breakfasts being so impressive. We chose western food as a change from the lovely Northern Thai food we had been eating throughout our 6-day stay in the region and were pleasantly suprised. Western food in so much of Asia is catered for the local palate but the meals we were served here would not have been out of place in any good restaurant in Europe.

We would certainly choose to stay here again for a fabulous pampering treat but we would probably choose a suite rather than a room since our room was a little small.

Room Tip: The "boutique rooms" are quite tiny so if you feel you might need a bit more space - i.e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriandPaul64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Loved this place, great friendly staff, clean grounds. The family room was just divine. The owner was so accommodating when the floods hit in Sept 2011. She organised for us to go to another resort which was higher ground and not effected by the floods.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#15 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
1.8 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#32 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 372 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.9 km away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#18 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,562 - ₹ 5,583
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing