We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thapae Gate Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 137
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 46
US$ 44
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
US$ 126
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 55
US$ 43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 120
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 73
US$ 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 57
US$ 44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 244
US$ 153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 442
US$ 306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
48
57
30
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
57
30
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthapae gatemodern roomsground floorsmall streetone nightfive nightsquiet arealocation is greatold cityhot waterstayed here for nightssinkbalconyaccommodationbahtdryerrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This hostel on the surface is nice. I booked a standard room on the 3rd floor. Paid 350baht per night for 3 nights. The owners are German and Thai. The wife is sweet, the husband isn't. Shower/Toilet combo. Sink is outside on the balcony. This hostel is located directly across the street from Top North. The beds are tough..that's to be expected. I suggest aircon room for 100baht more.
PROS-Bright airy rooms, hot water, restaurant on site with very good food and lush garden area, cable tv in the room, GREAT LOCATION!!! Kuddos to GIL<<he's a very under appreciated worker. God bless him!
CONS-VERY SPOTTY 'FREE' INTERNET(they turn off the internet at night), the water in the sink is recycled and if you run the water long enough you'll catch some green gunk that comes out. It's hit or miss..but it happened to me when I was brushing my teeth. I thought i was seeing things. Theres no breakfast(not even light breakfast) included, so expect to pay to eat onsite.

I'd stay here again, but not extended stay. If i were German I'd definitely come back, but i'm from the states...so probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goMalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Our room was surprisingly chilly compared to other places we have stayed in Chiang Mai. The shower/toilet room was kind of gross, molded ceiling panels. The bed left some to be desired, but it was a place to sleep. We went during Loi Krathong, so it was very noisy well into the night! The staff was nice, but did not keep good track of your payments! The place did have free internet!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kydemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My rating would not be so bad if there wasn't that bar on the opposite turning up the music like crazy. It was extremely loud from around 11pm until 3-4am and we hardly could sleep. We stayed 2 nights. We thought it might have been a special event on the first night but it seems to be like this every night. I can't believe this wasn't mentioned on a previous review. Also the free Wifi was not working half of the time. The people who run this place were very friendly and the location would be quite good if there wasn't that noise.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

started my trip in chiang mai at top north guesthouse but left after one night and walked 50ft to thapae gate lodge guesthouse just across the narrow soi... this place is very clean, a great value and has the nicest couple running it ( husband goes by jack...but is thai)...i highly recommend....there are. lots of great places to eat (next door is perfect value thai food)... internet cafe... laundry....all within the soi 1 and 2( they are same street just connect)...if you are at all interested jack can arrange a visit to a children's home he sponsors (this can be a very special thing when done from the heart)...he also offers full service treks and is well connected in the area...a kind man and good english .... his wife and kids are there too, so you just might fall in love with the whole gang!!!
by the way..... children' s home is not a "business" like going to see the gibbons.... much more something to ask about only if you are sincere...
good luck,
scotty

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
2  Thank captsquidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I went to Thailand in April 2007 and was looking for budget accommodation in Chiang Mai. As I was backpacking, my only 3 criteria were 1) that it was in a good location, 2) it was clean, and 3) cheap. Taepae Gate Lodge proved to be all that and more.

1) Location. The guesthouse is located in a soi (small road off a main road) so you might have a bit of a hard time locating it if you're in a cab but other than that the location was good. It's centrally located (it's right near the moat) and you can easily walk to various bars and restaurants on the main road. Markets and temples are a short "tuk tuk" drive away. Not to mention, there were other quaint guesthouses (if you're interested in meeting other people) and small restaurants and the most amazing Thai massage parlors located on the same street.

2) Cleanliness: We didn't plan on staying in the room the whole time while we were there so we just wanted somewhere to sleep that was clean. The rooms were small and the bathroom was a "toilet-over-the-shower" deal but amazingly enough, the bedroom and sheets and toilet were really clean. I had no complaints. There was no air conditioning but there was a fan that sufficed (and we went there in April which is the hottest season).

3) Cheap. For 3 nights we paid $28 USD. Since there were 2 of us we only paid $14 each.

Another big plus was that the owners (a married couple) were AMAZING. They really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to make sure we got everything we needed. They always said hello and even remembered our names and drove us to the airport when we were in a bind. There are various trekking trips and cooking classes and muy thai boxing classes you can book through the front desk as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ccoquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews