We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wifi. Besides this, I would go to some other area”
Review of Thapae Gate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thapae Gate Lodge
Ranked #180 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good wifi. Besides this, I would go to some other area”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We ended up here by mistake (we wanted to go further north, to Soi 6 or Soi 8) but the tuk tuk dropped us here. Nothing worth mentioning, except that the wifi worked perfectñy and reached our room (C7 on the 2nd floor). Paid 350 THB for it (with fan). Didn't have any problems with the bars outside because it's low season, but can imagine there's probably lost of noise in high season. Wouldn't recommend it. It doesn't have a pool, but paying 100 THB/day you can go to the pool of the hotel right in front.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta/Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This hostel on the surface is nice. I booked a standard room on the 3rd floor. Paid 350baht per night for 3 nights. The owners are German and Thai. The wife is sweet, the husband isn't. Shower/Toilet combo. Sink is outside on the balcony. This hostel is located directly across the street from Top North. The beds are tough..that's to be expected. I suggest aircon room for 100baht more.
PROS-Bright airy rooms, hot water, restaurant on site with very good food and lush garden area, cable tv in the room, GREAT LOCATION!!! Kuddos to GIL<<he's a very under appreciated worker. God bless him!
CONS-VERY SPOTTY 'FREE' INTERNET(they turn off the internet at night), the water in the sink is recycled and if you run the water long enough you'll catch some green gunk that comes out. It's hit or miss..but it happened to me when I was brushing my teeth. I thought i was seeing things. Theres no breakfast(not even light breakfast) included, so expect to pay to eat onsite.

I'd stay here again, but not extended stay. If i were German I'd definitely come back, but i'm from the states...so probably not.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goMalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Our room was surprisingly chilly compared to other places we have stayed in Chiang Mai. The shower/toilet room was kind of gross, molded ceiling panels. The bed left some to be desired, but it was a place to sleep. We went during Loi Krathong, so it was very noisy well into the night! The staff was nice, but did not keep good track of your payments! The place did have free internet!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kydemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My rating would not be so bad if there wasn't that bar on the opposite turning up the music like crazy. It was extremely loud from around 11pm until 3-4am and we hardly could sleep. We stayed 2 nights. We thought it might have been a special event on the first night but it seems to be like this every night. I can't believe this wasn't mentioned on a previous review. Also the free Wifi was not working half of the time. The people who run this place were very friendly and the location would be quite good if there wasn't that noise.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skagit flats washington state
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

started my trip in chiang mai at top north guesthouse but left after one night and walked 50ft to thapae gate lodge guesthouse just across the narrow soi... this place is very clean, a great value and has the nicest couple running it ( husband goes by jack...but is thai)...i highly recommend....there are. lots of great places to eat (next door is perfect value thai food)... internet cafe... laundry....all within the soi 1 and 2( they are same street just connect)...if you are at all interested jack can arrange a visit to a children's home he sponsors (this can be a very special thing when done from the heart)...he also offers full service treks and is well connected in the area...a kind man and good english .... his wife and kids are there too, so you just might fall in love with the whole gang!!!
by the way..... children' s home is not a "business" like going to see the gibbons.... much more something to ask about only if you are sincere...
good luck,
scotty

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank captsquidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 km away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 381 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.5 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#77 of 381 in Chiang Mai
440 reviews
0.1 km away
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
#78 of 381 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
1.2 km away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
1.0 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Gate Lodge

Property: Thapae Gate Lodge
Address: Moonmuang Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 936 - ₹ 3,384
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thapae Gate Lodge was one of Chiang Mai's "backpacker's heaven" with it's simple and quiet guestrooms. CURRENTLY UNDER RENOVATION! - OPEN FROM 15th JULY/2017! After we took over the building from the owner who has been successfully operated it for more than 8 years we did some major renovations and face-lifting what I believe that will bring this estabilishment to the next level and we can call it a "FLASHPACKER'S HEAVEN" :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Thapae Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Gate Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing