We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks Can Be Decieving..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #525 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Decieving..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

When We First Arrived We Were Really Pleased With Our Room, It Was Large, Bright New Looking. We Opted For The Aircon Room With Shared Bathroom. Bathrooms All Needed Updating Really And All Had Lots Of Mosquitos Flying Around. Bedroom Was Fine Until A Cockroach Landed On My Girlfriends Head While She Slept Forcing Us To Move Rooms At 4am. We Then Decided The Next Day To Chill By The Pool..Which Had Rats Taking Food To And From The Bin On The Side To Their Nest Under The Decking. Internet In Rooms Was Useless And air Con Wasn't Brilliant.

Room Tip: Fans Are Probably More Use Than The Aircon Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    50
    37
    21
See reviews for
14
58
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night upon arriving in Chiang Mai. The rooms are nothing special, and at 500 baht a complete ripoff. The "pools" are a joke too, as one was totally disgusting, and the other was also dirty. The WiFi service also didn't work, in the room or in the lobby. I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisY900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Smile house is conveniently located and reasonably priced. The pool and hang out area are comfy and nice. They book tours- we did the elephants trekking and bamboo rafts and it was only medium as far as the staff but we had fun. Rooms are pretty basic, beds are not great. We stayed in an air con room for $700 and room looked more like 500, but still clean and adequate. Fan rooms $400, a better value. Beware making reservations on their website- mine didn't work and I had no room when I showed up the second time I was going to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moab1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The rooms are basic and the bed was uncomfortable with springs poking into back and mosquitoes bothering me at night.
For the price you can find much better rooms if you just look around a bit. The next day I was in a hotel about 5x better for the same price.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LuluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was probably my favourtie Hostel Ive stayed in. My boyfriend and I stayed here at the begining our trip and both really love it. Its a very good location, and its clean, plus its one of the only local hostel's with a pool. We had a double room, that was all white and had open sky light windows, with mozi nets, it was really pretty and cost 300TBH a night. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#245 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 km away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#292 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#140 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.2 km away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#198 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 km away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#508 of 720 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Property: Smile House Guest House
Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 321 - ₹ 449
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing