We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms,good value, funny setup!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #48 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Maple ridge, bc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms,good value, funny setup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Raming lodge is located very close to the night market and 3 minutes walk from the old east gate, so very good for wandering and restaurants etc. The hotel was very quiet, and the rooms were clean and huge, although I found the bed a bit hard (and I like a firm mattress) and the windows were very small, making the rooms a bit dark. The surprise for us was at checkin...a whole mitt-ful of coupons for free dinner and free spa treatments for the whole family! The breakfast was included and had good variety, and made to order eggs/omelets. The pool was oddly placed out the back door of the lobby and across a back alley, beside a parking lot. It was quite cute (though small) and there was good service for lunch, snacks and the bar. All in all, good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurakelly778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    631
    175
    50
    29
See reviews for
170
480
161
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had originally booked another hotel in Chiang Mai but less than glowing reviews made us look again. We had originally looked at Raming Lodge and we're all very glad we changed.

We had two stays - one night after the overnight train from Bangkok prior to taking a two night Intrepid trip and then two nights after the Intrepid.

We had booked deluxe rooms that included free transfers to the station or airport and were met at the station by a smiling driver who took us out to a fancy 4WD wagon.

Our triple room was ready when we arrived at about 11am. It was HUGE. A king bed and a large single. Room 517 was at the end of walkway and it was obvious it originally had windows that would have given you a view of Chiang Mai. Not sure why they had been blocked up as it would have made the room much brighter but that wasn't an issue as I was very worse for wear after enjoying the disco car of the overnight train.

The hotel fronted the street that went all the way down to the night bazaar, maybe a 15 minute walk. People have commented about it being in the red light district. All three of us have seen red light districts and this wasn't like any of them. Maybe it was all behind closed doors or inside the bars full of leering old caucasians??

The staff were amazingly friendly, smiles all around. Great breakfast (we'd booked bed and breakfast rate). We were able to store our luggage while we went on our two night trip and it was waiting for us back up on the 5th floor when we came back. This time we booked two double rooms and again they were huge. Wild bathrooms!!

What happened on our departure was just the icing on the cake. We were taken out to the airport for our flight to Krabi and when I went to check in realised I'd left our passports in the room safe. I called the hotel and they said no problem, they had a key and would bring them out.

Fantastic.

Do yourself a favour, don't look anywhere ales in Chiang Mai. Book Raming Lodge

Room Tip: I would imagine the deluxe rooms are all pretty much the same, as usual, we'd recommend rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Big room, biiiig bed, big bathroom, very good staff. Good localization, every things you cannot do inside them city iso around them hotel, so you can walk, rent a bicycle, or a motorbike just in them corner, but a lot of prostitute bar all around, not a problem for me, but if youre puritane...
They shower is a big problem, it keeps alternating between hotel and fresh water! Some times it burns!
They hotel receive a lot of tourists, some come to see they nature and they city, and some come to see cheap prostitutes, those uggly fat guys bring them to them hotel, and have breakfest with them, so is a little bit funny and shoking to see kids playing around and prostitutes. But not a big problem, they cant know that them women are prostitutes...
The breakfest could be better, but for asian standards is good.
They hotel spa is far more expensive then 90% of massage places in then city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caefoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed as a group of 4 staying in three deluxe rooms for five night. The rooms were large, clean and had good facilities. The breakfast was good and had great poached eggs. Every time we spoke to staff they were polite and helpful with good english skills. Free airport transfer for deluxe rooms and above.

Room Tip: I cant comment on the superior rooms but the deluxe were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highway0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was my 4th visit to Chiang Mai and I opted to stay at Raming Lodge for this stay, Raming Lodge is a nice three and one half star hotel. I found nothing about this hotel to be outstanding, however, l have zero negative comments. The hotel is located on a side street very close to the “old Town” river/moat. It is about a 10 minute walk to the night market. The hotel breakfast package is good value and offers a nice alternative to trying to find a place for breakfast. Lunch and dinner are also offered but the prices are high and there are many wonderful cheaper and better alternatives in lovely Chiang Mai. The hotel has a very small pool across the street, during the evening hours the hotel features a good guitar player in the main foyer and it is quite pleasant to have a drink and listen to his music. Avoid buying the hotel’s overpriced excursions as you can get the same excursions for 30% less dealing with different vendors along many of the streets. Overall I would not hesitate to stay at Raming again, but much prefer some of the other places I stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
2.7 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#52 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 km away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.3 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,488 - ₹ 4,910
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing