We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place to stay in the heart of Chiangmai”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay in the heart of Chiangmai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If what you want is to stay in a place that feels like being at private comforts of your own home while enjoying the warmth of Thai hospitality, then Baan Orapin is the perfect choice. This bed and breakfast had tasteful old Thai design and a very attentive staff members (headed by Khun Pepsi) who always respond to your requests with a positive tone. The room I stayed in is clean, spacious, has good WIFI connection and very comfortable. Breakfast is good and if you are lucky, the resident rabbit will emerge from the garden to greet you a shy "good morning." All these private and homey stay is actually found within in the heart of Chiangmai, just 10 minutes away from the bustling market and the city's hotspots. This has become my favorite place to stay whenever I visit the beautiful city of Chiangmai.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room. If you are bit sensitive about noise, the rooms by the roadside may not sit we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merchantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    104
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
396
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

My cousin and I stayed here for 7 nights and it was perfect from start to finish. We had a junior suite which had a bedroom each a bathroom each a fridge each and a tv each and two patio/ balconys and a very large living area and tea and coffee making facilities! We were at the back of the house so it was perfect and quiet. It was spotlessly clean and anything we wanted or needed they did no problem! The breakfast was absolutely great and Pepsi and opas did a great job! It really was completely perfect if your thinking of going to this hotel then go for it it's a real treat! I can't rate it highly enough no negatives at all!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyclover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

You can't go wrong with Baan Orapin: beautiful setting, tastefully decorated and spacious bungalows and friendly staff. The wi-fi works well, the breakfast is good (except the fresh fruit option didn't include mangos, as usual) and the garden with swimming pool, very relaxing.
The place is quiet (you can't hear the traffic). The traditional wooden house which hosts the reception and other facilities is worth a look...
Make sure you don't miss the pet rabbit hidden under a bush!
Although not cheap, it was the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Thailand.

Room Tip: Back of the garden is probably better than front (closer to the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gribbz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Had 5 nights here and enjoyed our stay. We were in the rooms at the back of the guest house which were great. No noise from the road which might be a different experience in the front rooms. The room was comfortable and spacious. Good working aircon, free wifi and a very reasonably priced mini bar. Bathroom was big but my husband found it irritating there was no hot tap at the bathroom sink when he wanted to shave.

The pool was small but refreshing in the afternoons. There were limited sun beds available.

Breakfast offered many choices however a few 'sets' need to be pre-ordered the day before. Not a problem but I thought they should ask you at breakfast if you wanted anything for the next day as I often would forget and have to find someone in the afternoon to order.

Regretfully we felt we didn't have the personal service that other trip advisor guests have experienced. While everything we did ask for was accommodated we were not wowed. It was difficult to find someone at reception anytime after breakfast service. Sometimes waiting 10 minutes to find someone. We asked a few suggestions of how to best combine sights or of other things to do or see near things we wanted to do with little advise, enthusiasm or suggestions.

There are many guidebooks and a healthy book library on offer in the main house. Also a PC with Internet for guests to use.

The location is good. There are many restaurants to eat along the main road. The several that we ate at were all satisfactory or better. It was great to be able to walk to dinner. We easily got saeong thews to and from the old city for 20 baht per person.

There was a lovely lady just up the road who does laundry for 40 baht a kg. Much more reasonable than the service offered by the guest house - their price list was between 5-20 baht per item.

Be sure to pack your mosquito repellent as there were plenty around the guest house.

The green leafy surroundings of Bann Oripin was the perfect retreat after a day out and about in the hot humid dusty Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gribbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Beautiful guesthouse near the river in Chang Mai, quiet with a calm feeling, lovely owners, pool and breakfast was great, beautifully decorated large rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
1.2 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.0 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.3 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 km away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,245 - ₹ 6,360
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing