We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 702 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

You can't go wrong with Baan Orapin: beautiful setting, tastefully decorated and spacious bungalows and friendly staff. The wi-fi works well, the breakfast is good (except the fresh fruit option didn't include mangos, as usual) and the garden with swimming pool, very relaxing.
The place is quiet (you can't hear the traffic). The traditional wooden house which hosts the reception and other facilities is worth a look...
Make sure you don't miss the pet rabbit hidden under a bush!
Although not cheap, it was the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Thailand.

Room Tip: Back of the garden is probably better than front (closer to the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    103
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
157
391
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gribbz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Had 5 nights here and enjoyed our stay. We were in the rooms at the back of the guest house which were great. No noise from the road which might be a different experience in the front rooms. The room was comfortable and spacious. Good working aircon, free wifi and a very reasonably priced mini bar. Bathroom was big but my husband found it irritating there was no hot tap at the bathroom sink when he wanted to shave.

The pool was small but refreshing in the afternoons. There were limited sun beds available.

Breakfast offered many choices however a few 'sets' need to be pre-ordered the day before. Not a problem but I thought they should ask you at breakfast if you wanted anything for the next day as I often would forget and have to find someone in the afternoon to order.

Regretfully we felt we didn't have the personal service that other trip advisor guests have experienced. While everything we did ask for was accommodated we were not wowed. It was difficult to find someone at reception anytime after breakfast service. Sometimes waiting 10 minutes to find someone. We asked a few suggestions of how to best combine sights or of other things to do or see near things we wanted to do with little advise, enthusiasm or suggestions.

There are many guidebooks and a healthy book library on offer in the main house. Also a PC with Internet for guests to use.

The location is good. There are many restaurants to eat along the main road. The several that we ate at were all satisfactory or better. It was great to be able to walk to dinner. We easily got saeong thews to and from the old city for 20 baht per person.

There was a lovely lady just up the road who does laundry for 40 baht a kg. Much more reasonable than the service offered by the guest house - their price list was between 5-20 baht per item.

Be sure to pack your mosquito repellent as there were plenty around the guest house.

The green leafy surroundings of Bann Oripin was the perfect retreat after a day out and about in the hot humid dusty Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gribbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Beautiful guesthouse near the river in Chang Mai, quiet with a calm feeling, lovely owners, pool and breakfast was great, beautifully decorated large rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here in mid April 2012 with my wife and 2 daughters (6 and 9) for 3 nights. The place is magically beautiful, an oasis of calm surrounded by the tempests of Thailand, a treasure; Clean, well designed, with its majestic central teak "house" and modern, functional apartment style rooms, it has a beautiful pool with spa, relaxing, neat gardens and a character more befitting a more upmarket establishment. Managed by the delightful Pepsi and Opus, they provide quiet and cheerful service without fuss. We booked 2 tours through them, and I'm sure we received better pricing because of their good relationships with operators and drivers.

I highly recommend this great place, knowing that as long as Pepsi and Opus are running it, it will have an excellence way above its price point. Enjoy!

Doric

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Baan Orapin is quite unlike anywhere we have stayed before, and I'm so pleased that, following a recommendation, we cancelled our booking for a five star chain hotel, and opted for this hotel instead. It's beautiful and we loved it from the minute we arrived, on a rather stormy Saturday night, after a long journey from the UK.

We had opted for a deluxe junior suite, which was very spacious and had a lovely, well equipped bathroom; this was just as well, as one of our sons, decided to meet up with us at the last minute and there was more than enough room to cope with his clutter! The room was lovely and cool, with the Lana style teak flooring and surrounds, assisted by the effective air conditioning unit. We also appreciated the fact that the fridge was stocked with drinks, at shop prices; as a result, we used it. I wish more hotels would take this refreshing approach - no pun intended! Laundry was also very cheap - and again we took advantage of an excellent service. At night time, one of the staff came around and lit a mosquito coil on the patio outside the room; this was a lovely place to sit, as dusk fell, drinking the odd beer or two. And in fact, we didn't get badly bitten at all!

Breakfast is taken in the main house, next to the pool, and the service was exceptional. We really felt as if we were being welcomed into a home, and treated with both courtesy and consideration at all times. Something that we didn't always experience in our next hotel (which was five star). We enjoyed the different options, and my husband particularly liked the northern breakfast, which you have to order the previous day; be warned though, it's very filling!

The hotel is beautiful, but we also loved the street that it's in with its quirky shops, restaurants, bars and a tea shop on the riverside. We loved The Goodview Bar for a nightcap after a night in the city, but enjoyed meals at Reginas (very, very quirky, and one for cat lovers), The Riverside, Brasserie and high tea at 'The Pink House' (cakes to die for!) All of these places are on the opposite side of the road, to the left. If you turn right, out of the gate, and walk a little way along the street, you will come to the nearest roaf bridge over the river, which will bring you into the market area. It's not a long walk and we enjoyed the exercise, but invariably got a tuk tuk back, as we did cover some miles on our strolls around the city. We found that the tuk tuk drivers all knew the Baan Orapin, and we were rarely charged more than 60 to 80 baht.

When we return to Chiangmai, we will certainly stay at the Baan Orapin. Opas was great to deal with - emails were answered promptly and we felt nothing was too much trouble. We were picked up from the airport and looked after from the minute we arrived, to the minute we left. We also felt that it was tremendous value for money. So a big thank you to: Opas, Pepsi and the team for helping to make our stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.7 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.9 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.9 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 km away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,295 - ₹ 6,504
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing