We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beautiful Baan Orapin.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Baan Orapin.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently (April 12) had a nine night stay at the beautiful Baan Orapin. This is our third stay in this oasis in the wonderful city of Chiang Mai.
If you choose this property you are in for a treat. In over twenty years of traveling to Chiang Mai it is simply the best place we have ever found. The centerpiece of the property is the grandmothers 99 year old original grand home. There is a common room, computer, travel books and a lovely breakfast area in the old house for use by guests. Opas, the owner, has developed a number of lovely buildings around the old house and stunning gardens and a very serene atmosphere. When you walk through the gates you are instantly relaxed.
The front wing is a two story building with lovely balconies off the rooms. There is a two room family suite on the top level of this building and a number of other rooms options including the spacious superior king room on the lower level. In the middle of the property there are a number of suites, including a double room which adjoins a suite – this can be opened to provide another space for families. The rear of the property has a two level building with a number of different room options. All of these areas are good choices. We stayed in the middle section which is near the pool.
Breakfast is a choice of a number of sets – all meals are freshly cooked as you order and include fruits, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and juice. There are then hot meal choices and special Thai breakfast options which need to be ordered one day ahead.
Opas – the owner and his cousin Pepsi lead a wonderful, polite team of staff who are always ready to help.
This year the Baan Orapin will be renovated – bringing the old house back to its former glory.
The street outside the Baan Orapin has lots of interesting places to eat and drink. It is the strip of road along the river and there are lots of choices for riverside dining. The quirky Reginas has great, very cheap meals and can be done as takeaway. The Pink Tea House (Vieng Joom On) is very special – do order the banana caramel crepes. The Art Café meeting space is worth dropping into as is The Healing Family Foundation – in the little soi opposite the Brasserie. Intellectually disabled young people making hand woven products to sell. The Riverside is a good place for an evening drink.
Just up to the right of the Baan Orapin you will find Jun’s shop – she is the local washing lady and she does an excellent job for 40B a kilo. Just a bit further on, is Padma, a really nice massage place.
The Baan Orapin has won a number of awards over recent years – you won’t be disappointed. (and no 9 nights isn't too long - we still didn't want to leave!)
Caroline.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank caroline08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    103
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
394
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a wonderful guest house hidden behind big gates and white door but the secret is starting to become known.

Pespi will met and greet you like a well known friend and will be on hand for anything that you request, anything you would like assistance with or bookings for cooking classes, retaurants, tours etc.

On my first night the airconditioner was broken in my room and straight away the next day a brand new airconditioner was installed without any trouble known to me.

The swimming pool is a little small but nonetheless great after a day out and about to be able to return and have a bit of a swim was great - it was very refreshing and also the garden area was very relaxing for some quiet time.

The rooms are spacious and very clean, the surrounding gardens are kept beautifully, the breakfast by the pool was a great way to start the day especially traditional rice soup - it needed to be ordered the day before but then it was something extra to look forward to.

On the same street are some very interesting shops for those that are on the lookout for something a bit different to take home and we didn't have to go far for great restaurants.

I would highly reccommend Baan Orapin - I will certainly be staying longer than 4 nights next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We enjoyed a short stay for 2 nights in March as we were primarily in Chiang Mai to see the Elephants. I am so pleased that I found the Baan Orapin after looking on trip advisor. It was lovely to stay in a traditional Thai house full of charm and character as opposed to the standard modern places for a change.

Breakfast was of a very high standard but the only slight issue we had was that breakfast begins at 7.15am and our early more excursion began at 7.30am so it was a little rushed.

All the staff were really helpful and overall the place just had a brilliant atmostphere. Wish we could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisas407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. We had a junior suite in the rear of the complex, very comfortable and quiet. This accommodation was a pleasure to come back to at the end of a busy day sightseeing.

The staff were very friendly and breakfast by the pool every morning was a pleasure, starting with fruit and juices and then onto your choice of various dishes cooked fresh.

There are numerous bars and restaurants around this area, a lot of them catering to the coach tour groups. However, we did find a couple of lovely restaurants behind the main street and further down off the tourist strip, worth exploring if you want a more authentic experience.

Chang Mai is a lovely city and with so much to do we could easily have stayed longer to explore more of what this area has to offer and it would have been very easy to stay longer at Baan Orapin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

A quaint, peaceful heritage building with its old world charm and lush gardens welcomes you on the banks of the Ping river to Baan Orapin, in the, Charoenrat/Wat Ket area. From bustling Bangkok, this seemed like a Oasis of tranquility.

The collection of bungalows rest alongside a landscaped tropical garden – Baan Orapin takes its name from the 90-year-old teakwood family home at its centre. The decor of the rooms is simple and elegant, floors are teak or hardwood, furniture handcrafted and the beautiful breakfast laid out by the pool side and attentive service make one feel very special. The traditional Northern breakfast deserves special mention, though you will need to inform the staff a day in advance.

The location is very central, a historic street along the sleepy Ping River leads one to the beautiful restaurants by the river and the arts and craft shops. The much famed Night Bazaar, the bustling night market is a comfortable walking distance away. One needs to mention though that Nightbazar, though huge, has spectacular displays of its traditonal fare inside rather than the the outside shops that mostly sell cheap fakes from China. The local artists at work on the premises of the Night Bazar enthralled us with their sheer skill and artistry.The Warorot market with its beautiful traditional textile and cotton work from the local hilltribes does not fail to impress the tired traveller with its unfailing local charm and the unique essence of the Lanna culture. The promiximity to the old city area and the beautiful Wats of Chiangmai made our stay at Baan Orapin very memorable. The ancient Wats of chiangmai with their intricate wood carving and stunning hand painted murals left a lasting impression on us. The emaciated Buddha at Wat Umong, that almost escapes attention was a unique find.

Thanks to Trip Advisor, Baan Orapin was a great find for us on our visit to Thailand in December 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anu023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.7 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.9 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 km away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 km away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,257 - ₹ 6,394
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing