We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$ 160
US$ 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 676
US$ 299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 61
US$ 47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 243
US$ 162
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
US$ 107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 455
US$ 403
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
665
107
22
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
107
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitefoot bridgetuk tukan oasisthe main houseacross the riverold cityfour postermosquito nettinglush gardensposter bedminute walkflower marketbreakfast is servedevery morningping rivernorthern thai
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a wonderful guest house hidden behind big gates and white door but the secret is starting to become known.

Pespi will met and greet you like a well known friend and will be on hand for anything that you request, anything you would like assistance with or bookings for cooking classes, retaurants, tours etc.

On my first night the airconditioner was broken in my room and straight away the next day a brand new airconditioner was installed without any trouble known to me.

The swimming pool is a little small but nonetheless great after a day out and about to be able to return and have a bit of a swim was great - it was very refreshing and also the garden area was very relaxing for some quiet time.

The rooms are spacious and very clean, the surrounding gardens are kept beautifully, the breakfast by the pool was a great way to start the day especially traditional rice soup - it needed to be ordered the day before but then it was something extra to look forward to.

On the same street are some very interesting shops for those that are on the lookout for something a bit different to take home and we didn't have to go far for great restaurants.

I would highly reccommend Baan Orapin - I will certainly be staying longer than 4 nights next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We enjoyed a short stay for 2 nights in March as we were primarily in Chiang Mai to see the Elephants. I am so pleased that I found the Baan Orapin after looking on trip advisor. It was lovely to stay in a traditional Thai house full of charm and character as opposed to the standard modern places for a change.

Breakfast was of a very high standard but the only slight issue we had was that breakfast begins at 7.15am and our early more excursion began at 7.30am so it was a little rushed.

All the staff were really helpful and overall the place just had a brilliant atmostphere. Wish we could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisas407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. We had a junior suite in the rear of the complex, very comfortable and quiet. This accommodation was a pleasure to come back to at the end of a busy day sightseeing.

The staff were very friendly and breakfast by the pool every morning was a pleasure, starting with fruit and juices and then onto your choice of various dishes cooked fresh.

There are numerous bars and restaurants around this area, a lot of them catering to the coach tour groups. However, we did find a couple of lovely restaurants behind the main street and further down off the tourist strip, worth exploring if you want a more authentic experience.

Chang Mai is a lovely city and with so much to do we could easily have stayed longer to explore more of what this area has to offer and it would have been very easy to stay longer at Baan Orapin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A quaint, peaceful heritage building with its old world charm and lush gardens welcomes you on the banks of the Ping river to Baan Orapin, in the, Charoenrat/Wat Ket area. From bustling Bangkok, this seemed like a Oasis of tranquility.

The collection of bungalows rest alongside a landscaped tropical garden – Baan Orapin takes its name from the 90-year-old teakwood family home at its centre. The decor of the rooms is simple and elegant, floors are teak or hardwood, furniture handcrafted and the beautiful breakfast laid out by the pool side and attentive service make one feel very special. The traditional Northern breakfast deserves special mention, though you will need to inform the staff a day in advance.

The location is very central, a historic street along the sleepy Ping River leads one to the beautiful restaurants by the river and the arts and craft shops. The much famed Night Bazaar, the bustling night market is a comfortable walking distance away. One needs to mention though that Nightbazar, though huge, has spectacular displays of its traditonal fare inside rather than the the outside shops that mostly sell cheap fakes from China. The local artists at work on the premises of the Night Bazar enthralled us with their sheer skill and artistry.The Warorot market with its beautiful traditional textile and cotton work from the local hilltribes does not fail to impress the tired traveller with its unfailing local charm and the unique essence of the Lanna culture. The promiximity to the old city area and the beautiful Wats of Chiangmai made our stay at Baan Orapin very memorable. The ancient Wats of chiangmai with their intricate wood carving and stunning hand painted murals left a lasting impression on us. The emaciated Buddha at Wat Umong, that almost escapes attention was a unique find.

Thanks to Trip Advisor, Baan Orapin was a great find for us on our visit to Thailand in December 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anu023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Bean Orapin is hidden gem behind very large doors off a busy street. We spent 5 night in a traditional thai Junior suite, in the rear wing, can not rate it high enough it was a perfect retreat after a days sightseeing in busy Chaing Mai.
Excellent breakfast, and the staff were very attentive.
There is a lovely swimming pool to relax round.
It is 5 minutes from the river were there are plenty of restaurants, we were recommended to go to the Gallery. This was a great place with excellent food.It was so good we spent 4 nights eating here.
Thankyou Opas for 5 wonderful nights
Carol and Derek.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear wing are quiet
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews