We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$17
Agoda.com$17
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
12
41
22
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
41
22
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed here for three nights in Novemeber for the festival of light, the hotel is situated at a perfect location near thai Pai gate and we were able to wath the festival parade from the hotel entrance. As the hotel was situated so centrally, it made travelling around Chiang Mai very easy. The tour guide that worked in the reception was extremely helpful and friendly, so much so that we brought three trips from her.

Aside from the hotels location, another reason i booked was because it had breakfast included, but it really wasn't anything to shout about, the breakfast was very basic, on one of the days we had a trip booked, we left at the same time as breakfast started, so we asked if we came 10 minutes early, if they would be able to do ours now. I didn't think this would be a problem when we arrived half an hour early and the staff were all there working, but we were told that nothing is done until 7. Therefore left for our trip on an empty stomach, i was very disappointed with the lac of service, especially when i'd paid for it.

I had also booked a double bed, but on arrival was given a twin room, although this was sorted straight away, after a 7 hour bus journey i really could have done without the hassle... Another thing was the air con kept freezing over, so we had to turn it off and endure a hot night, with the sound of a dripping, defrosting A/C unit

My stay here was average, but i wouldn't stay again,

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

started staying here about 2 years ago after my 20+ year standby hotel went spa and started pricing for spa ambience. roong ruang has, over the last couple of years begun renovating and have a full selection of rooms from 550 to 750 (prices do change by season but last new years i paid 850 for the new rooms...so still cheap)

the new rooms are basic, clean, safe and the staff are always helpful and nice. the location is perfect for my mix of business and pleasure. breakfast has improved since last year now that they have a proper lobby with restaurant. the serve yourself instant coffee and tea along with toast is now augmented with a hot entree....eggs a few different ways. its nothing fancy, but when you do the math, you get a clean a/c room and simple breakfast in a desireable part of town for 2 for about 20 bucks...it aint bad.

if you're looking for a destination resort, this isnt it. if you're looking for a value play in thapae area, this is a good choice. lastly there seems to be a healthy mix of young, old, asian, farang so no single group is taking it over. i like that

Room tip: room 314 has no view, then again its not that kind of place...but its very quiet.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apaimanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a very nice and clean hotel that you can find in Chiang Mai. The place is very close to the Chiang Mai night market. It is a nice family run hotel that's been established for a very long time. It was very comfortable and relaxing place to rest at the end of the long, hot day.
Highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stay here at least twice a year during Song Kran and Loi Katong. The location is unmatched 30m to TaiPai gate and the old city. The area has plenty of entertainment and choices for food. They really take the extra effort and the staff is always polite. We enjoyed Song Kran last year and I look forward to checking in tomorrow morning for Song Kran 2012 Chiang Mai. The court yard gives you a nice private area away from the busy street. They also have a basic breakfast setup that more than satisfies for the value of the room. One of the things I enjoyed about this place is how much fun they have during major festivals. How can you beat unlimited water for Song Kran? The price is fair and maybe more to the value side because it has all the goodies you need including a fridge. The hotel staff also cleaned the room everyday. I have seen multiple instances of honestly from this establishment and think highly enough that it is my first choice in Chiang Mai. Again not fancy maybe a bit run down but where it shines it really shines.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is it! The hotel was really great - cheap, with great location (just few steps from the old town), with small breakfast, comfortable beds, nice rooms and nice teraaces. It is amazing - because near the hotel is crowdy street, but you cannot here any noise in the room. You can use the internet for free - needs to be reserved. I think that is probably best option in Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krzysiek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews