We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Ranked #103 of 369 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed here with a friend last summer and we were more than impressed with this hotel. We arrived at the airport with nowhere booked and went to one of the desks that advertise hotels. They offered this hotel at a discount price and our only mistake was not booking for longer. (thinking we would be ripped off, when actually this was a steal!!)
We stayed in a twin room which was beautifully decorated and the hotel also has a lovely pool, although it can get busy... as we were sight seeing this wasn't a problem, but nice to have an early morning/evening dip.
The breakfast was included in our rate and was what you would expect - buffet style with some authentic thai stuff thrown in too.
This hotel is a little out of town, but the free bus goes into the night market each evening and its soooo cheap to get around on a tuk tuk that this wasn't a problem at all.
The staff were all lovely and friendly. My only tiny complaint was the internet facility - often slow or freezing constantly, better to walk down the road and use a local internet cafe.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if it is in your budget, even better to book at the airport and get it for a third of the price!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    223
    153
    47
    12
See reviews for
62
174
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

In general this hotel has it all: nice and clean rooms (although we stayed in the older part of the hotel, rooms were of a very acceptable level), big swimming pool, VERY friendly and helpful staff, good location (not really in the very busy centre and just outside the "ring road" but centre can be reached by foot or tuktuk easily), bike rental, shops, bars, restaurants close to the hotel, etc...

But showering was really hell! Whenever we took a shower (morning, noon, evening) water went from freezing cold to boiling hot constantly no matter on which level you put the tap... When you stay in a city you want to take a good shower every now and then and I wouldn't even care if the water was not hot enough or not cold enough or whatever, but the constant change of temperature of the water made it almost impossible to shower. When the water was hot it was way too hot and you couldn't stay under the shower. This was a really very bad experience. And it's also very sad because as I said aside from this this hotel has a great potential... Only because of this fact I rate the rooms as terrible... We wanted to make a complaint about this but then we heard from a lot of other couples they were facing the same problem so we did not bother...

As mentioned before the hotel can get really busy when coaches of locals are dropped of. We didn't have noise at night (suppose most of these tourists stayed in another part of the hotel) but breakfast was really busy and very noisy sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Chiang Mai Gate Hotel - reasonable value, close to the inner, old centre of Chiang Mai, good cheap eats just minutes away, 30 minute walk to the Night Market (if you really need cheap T shirts and junk watches).
BUT - when this place fills up with coach loads of local tourists - you better have your ear plugs handy. The place reverberates like you're inside a huge drum with 50 people all yacking away just outside your door.
They rampage up and down the corridors having loud conversations with their fellow coaching friends several doors down.
They also appear to not require any sleep - because despite yacking away until 1.00am, they're at it again at 4.30 as they pack and head down for breakfast (not a lot of energy goes into preparing this) and a drive to somewhere else that needs keeping awake.
By midnight my Thai wife started phoning down to the helpless girl on night duty at the desk asking that something be done about our raucus neighbours. The result? No change to the decibel level that I could notice, and I measure sound levels as a profession.
I guess maybe I married the only quiet, introspective local available. I am extremely thankful for that anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikecwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

we stayed here for several nights due to being booked here as part of our travel plan..

firstly we stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which the shower didnt work properely and all the bathrooms were a bit grimey!! The views arent fantastic and the rooms are extremly basic. not to mention evey glass top on the tables in our room was broken!! we mentioned this each time we checked into a new room and the reception said they were aware.... yet the manager tried to charge us for the broken glass when we checked out!!

The pool area was OK but dangerous as the grates around the pool were broken and held up with broken bits of brick. The corridors where scruffy and dirty and the food wasnt too great. The breakfast was a little average but ok and the same everyday, mostly under cooked food or things that looked a day or so old and when we ordered room service the food was very greasy and dispite asking for one of the dishes to be very mild it came to us very hot!! My partner can stomach hot foods, i cant and even he noted how spicy my dish was!

The staff really are the making of this hotel, especially the ladies at reception, the men seem quite moody and bored yet the women at reception are very helpful and polite and defiantly help as much as they can, the manager on the other hand is a grumpy and strange little man and changes his accent with every new sentence..

Good points... the bed is massive and the bedroom itself seemed clean it was the bathroom that was dirty! also the hotel is near to the weekend market which is huge!!! they also run a free bus to the night bazaar and the staff are great.

The hotel could do with updating as the rooms seem really dull and drab and they could do with maybe fresher breakfast selections

Room Tip: Just make sure your shower is working and that if the glass top on the table is broken make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was a good choice for Chiang Mai. It was clean, the rooms immaculate. It could do with some updating, but over all was very clean and comfortable, and that was most important to me. The staff were wonderful and helpful. There is a free bus to the night bazaar and on Saturday night a more local market happens one street over. (super fun!) This is a great choice if you are looking for an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corinne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 km away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#168 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#116 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 km away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#143 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#91 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.2 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#38 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 369 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,703 - ₹ 2,861
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing