We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience that leaves a deep impression” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #27 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience that leaves a deep impression”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Location is great, just a stone throw away from the night market. Yet it is not too noisy as need to walk 200m into the hotel main building. My hubby and i can walk around the hotel for a day as there are many temples within walking distance.
A few good spas are just within 10 min walk.

Colour theme is really warmth and make us feel good!! The hotel from the entrance to the reception, club reception area, rooms, restaurants are all modernly designed, very stylish and impressive. Especially love the level 1 restaurant where we had our breakfast, its beautiful!!

Drinks and snacks are available at the club reception (for club rooms only). Excellent!!

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth the value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpshane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    527
    145
    40
    18
See reviews for
310
805
123
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here one night. The hotel is located close to the night market and great restaurants (Just Khao Soy and Rod Nueng noodles). The service at the pool was especially exceptional. Upon check-in, you are greeted with a welcome drink. When we checked out, the staff of the lobby broke into dance! It was a cute extra.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elim102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is obviously trying to be very cool and hip, and to some extent it succeeds! We were upgraded to a suite on arrival, which was very spacious, with a large King bed, a sitting room and a very large and well-appointed bathroom (though with one of those picture windows between the bathroom and the bedroom for those who want to ogle their partner taking a shower – fortunately a blind was also provided!). And for about 4,000 Baht we reckoned it was good value. So if you want to avoid the tiny rooms mentioned by other reviewers, maybe it’s best to shell out a bit more for a suite.

Breakfast was pretty good – and included in the price – with chefs on hand to produce cooked breakfast to order. Otherwise service was a bit haphazard – we had to ask about three times before we were brought any coffee! The swimming pool was small but nicely secluded, with very attentive staff to provide you with towels, loungers, food and drink.

We’d agree with the comments about the all-pervasive music in the common areas, which one really could do without. Worse still is the hotel’s outside bar in the street, which blares out music at a very irritating volume. So there isn’t really anywhere you can just sit quietly and chill out – unless you happen to share the hotel’s taste in music of course.

The location is good, though not ideal for sightseeing – it’s actually quite a long hot walk to the old town, which is where all the main sights are to be found, so you might be better off finding a hotel a bit closer to the centre of things.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Extremely well located in the middle of night market. The staff service, from car park attendants to waiters, is excellent, with them remembering to put in all those small little touches that show that they care. Breakfast is however very average and not up to par. Shower was very good in terms of water pressure, but sometimes it runs hot then cold suddenly, making you jump in and out. Value for money at this low season period, but I would not pay much more than the US$100 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

As with most of the reviews, we liked this hotel as it was at a convenient location. It was off the main night bazaar strip, but we could not hear the noise from the road in our room.

There are 2 starbucks around the corner - as you turn onto the main street. We recommend the one on the right towards the Royal Princess Hotel. It had a better selection.

We were on the club level - there was free water and soda throughout the day. Between 5-7pm, there is a happy hour which served some snacks on tiny little plates that changes daily. Wine is also available.

The breakfast was included in our rate - a good spread from cold breakfast, fruit to a hot breakfast. We enjoyed breakfast at this hotel as there was no mad rush at breakfast. They served the coffee or tea quite promptly.

The hotel played funky modern music throughout the day. We thought it was nice at the beginning but thought the sound level was abit too high. For someone who might be looking to chill out for a while in the lobby area with a book or laptop (free-wifi), it can be a little distracting.

The room was not that big, but it had the King bed, a build in couch and a tiny TV! The bed was hard on the first night but by the second night, we slept very well. We noted also with a smile that they had a range of pillows available on request.

Housekeeping button is re-named "Desire" button. :)

If you are adventurous enough, you can walk to the old city of chiangmai in about 20-30min. Ask for a map and it is easy to walk to. But it can be rather hot and dusty. Just the perfect excuse to get a great massage at Lila's which is just within the old city walls.

We forget the name of a "hole in the wall" place - again very close to the old city walls. Nothing to look at, but there are many tourists and it had cheap Thai food - northern noodle, mango smoothie and sticky rice and mango - yum yum!

Speaking of massage places - plentiful near the hotel too - just along the main street. 1 hour for thai massage ranges from 150 to 200 baht. Its worth having it daily!

A fairly nice restaurant to go to (no need to dress up, as we found out), is called the Gallery, right along the moat. (ask the concierge - 5 min on tuk tuk)

We tried the Flight of the Gibbon (Highly recommended! but very expensive), and rented a taxi to bring us to Tiger Kingdom (highly recommend too! choose the size of tigers you want to get up close with), a temple in the hills, the tribal village (tourist trap but its still worth a visit). There are elephant farm, insect world, orchid gardens, monkey land, etc along the way - if you are interested.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#52 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
0.3 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.8 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
3.1 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,929 - ₹ 14,273
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing