We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Rating is Understatement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 372 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Rating is Understatement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

If this review comes across as gushing its because it is. This is an amazing property and one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. I stayed there with my wife for 3 nights in conjunction with a Bangkok-Koh Phangan visit. Its simply a cool property - the design is very well done. Its directly on the Ping River with a nice view of the Iron Bridge. The grounds are impeccable. At the center of the hotel is a colonial era building that once served as the British consulate and is now the restaurant and bar. The veranda is an awesome place for afternoon drinks or tea The rest of the hotel is a more modern design, but it is all beautifully put together. The lobby is large and open and flows into the green space with some great water features. The pool is beautiful and is surrounded by a great coy pond. It is a particularly beautiful setting at night. The lobby/courtyard is candlelit including floating candles on the ponds and a girl playing some sort of xylopone (I think) which filled the lobby with great sound (both nice touches). I spent 30 minutes taking photos of the lobby, courtyard and pool - can't remember a hotel that inspired that before.

We had a standard room which was plenty spacious and well done. Nicely put together and functional. We saw the Club Suite rooms which were a similar layout but much larger and they were nice. The two-person day-bed on the patio is a great touch and the bed was very comfortable.

The service at the hotel was terrific. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was terrific.

The location in Chiang Mai is great. Walking distance to the night market, a wine shop, a handful of restaurants, a 711, massages and other basics. Its a short and inexpensive tuk-tuk ride to the Old Town.

No place is perfect and the only knock was the mosquitoes. They were bad which you can't really blame the hotel for, and it was mainly in late afternoon/early evening. The hotel was great about providing bug spray at the bar & restaurant and candles in the room. Its worth slathering on some DEET and toughing it out. At the price point, its hard to imagine a better hotel with such design, location and service. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lak711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear lak711,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and our services, I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    320
    75
    25
    15
See reviews for
414
1,163
105
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in the Chedi in January 2011. It is an amazing hotel, everything we experienced was five star. Food was amazing, spa was incredible and the service was second to none. The rooms were on the small side but with so much to do in Chiang mai you don't spend much time in your room. We would go back to Thailand just to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jencal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Jencal22,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I appreciate the great comments on your stay and am glad you have overall enjoyed the whole experience. I regret that you found the 50sqm Deluxe rooms a bit small, perhaps a Club Suite, which are double in size, may be a better option next time.

Once again many thanks and best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. The service is incredible. The rooms are amazing. A truely lovely outdoor area with each room and a small lobby inside your door before you enter your room. Quite different. The corridors are a bit ordinary but once inside your room all is forgotten. Such a convenient hotel to the fun night market. A short stroll. For all the activity outside the peace and quiet within was extraodinary. The breakfast was delightful, no waiting around for eggs to be cooked, your order taken at your table. Not a large hotel. On the Ping River, not the prettiest of places but gives an authentic feel to your holiday. We were on a ground floor and the mosquitos were troublesome. Every effort was used, both inside and out to help ease the problem. Perhaps if you were higher up they would not be so troublesome. We would recommend this Chedi and look forward to visiting more of this chain.

Room Tip: Suggest up stairs if it is the mosquito season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear margtierney,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel, with its contemporary yet warm approach.

It is a shame that you got to experience the hotel at the peak of mosquito season and I regret the inconvenience they may have caused you. As a matter of fact we have preventive measures in place to keep their population to a minimum.

I hope we may welcome you again on your next trip to Chiang Mai.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

During early May 2012 we stayed for five nights at the chedi Chiangmai. The hotel is in the city walking distance (10min) to night bazaar, massages, restaurants and shopping mall. Also of will cost u max $2 by tuk tuk to go to another day marker called wororot kad ludung. The hotel deco is all wood and the hotel is sorrounded by nice water pools and candles at night. The open bedroom has bed on one side, middle is tv which can rotate 360 degree and the other side there is a day bed and a small round dining table with two chairs. There is also outside patio with day bed and a small round table for drinks and snacks even breakfast. The big full glass windows overlooks to a muddy river - not that great view!! The room amenities are average, the bathtub and shower are normal size and not big enough for a romantic sharing. There is free cofee and tea and if u take a club room like we did, there is free laundary of up to 7pces per day and free drinks (both alcohol and non alcohol) plenty of stock including whiskey, beer, energy drinks etc. For a club room u have an option to have breakfast in your room

The swimming pool is long and good for those who want to do lapses. However we found the breakfast room too hot with only one fan working. I completed a suggestion form for the hotel to add one or two more cooling fan especially during summer or install an air conditioning!

We found the service in this hotel is excellent especially the concierge. He was great giving various options when we wanted to book a day tour to Chiangrai and the golden triangle. The hotel charges $250 per person and outside travel tours was $250 for two of us with our own vehicle!

Overall a good hotel but if ur looking for a romantic and total tranquility with excellent Ching Mai mountain and rice fields and away from all the hassle, then why not indulge ur self with the four seasons hotel which is around 25km from chiang Mai. We visited it and will book there in future

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have small garden view Four floor club room have muddy river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Kwamtoro,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

Your feedback on our location and services is much appreciated, please note that breakfast can be served in the comfort of your own room regardless of the room category booked. This service is offered at no additional cost.

We offer a number of tours and excursions, prices depend on what kind of vehicle you choose for the four hours drive (one way) and what kind of other activities are included besides the actual trip to Chiang Rai.

Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Chedi for 5 nights during our honeymoon in April 2012. Arriving into Chiang Mai airport we went to look for our ore-arranged hotel transfer. A sleek black SLK Mercedes pulled up in front of me and I made a joke that it must be our ride. Low and behold it was! Fantastic!

We had booked the Club Lounge suite and would highly recommend it. Check in in the lounge was a breeze, and we were off to our room on the fourth floor before we knew it. We were awed at how gorgeous our room was - it was huge and so luxurious. The free mini bar was off the hook - decanters of spirits which were refilled everyday, and a fridge full of beer and mixers. Amazing.

The Club Lounge was beautiful and the 6-8pm complimentary cocktails and canapes were beyond fantastic. The quality of both the food and the drinks on offer was incredible. Indeed several nights we ate and drank so much in there that we didn't end up needing dinner! The staff were fantastic - very efficient, friendly and they even remembered what we'd had to drink the night before. Great service!

Breakfast was similarly high quality - the ala carte menu was delicious - and the caramalised banana pancakes with mange gelato sublime! Again, staff were great -very efficient without being intrusive.

Had a facial treatment in the spa. Yes it does cost more than at other places in Chiang Mai but you do get what you pay for. The experience was so relaxing, the facilities immaculate and my skin glowed for days afterwards.

We were in Chiang Mai during Songkran, and the hotel offered guests a tuk tuk to drive us around through all the madness with buckets of water, towels, etc thrown in. This was a fabulous experience, but it was even nicer to be able to escape the chaos and return to the Chedi to relax with a book by the gorgeous pool. Oh - and the drinks list available is fantastic - the wine list particularly is huge!

The location is perfect - with the night markets only a minutes walk away. It was hard to believe that all the hustle and bustle was only a few steps way - as the Chedi just radiates calmness and tranquility.

We had high tea on the day we left and it was lovely. New husband also loved the cigar bar. The hotel booked us a cooking school for one day we were there and it was a great experience.

We were really sad to be leaving the Chedi, it really is an incredible place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a classy, relaxing stay in five star facilities. And would stay there again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Lounge grade rooms if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear LarissaB,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and that you have very much appreciated our Club benefits, which are extended to all guests booking a Club Suite.

I appreciate your feedback on the facial you enjoyed. We use products from REN Skincare for our facial treatments. REN products are free from Synthetic fragrance, pore-blocking petrochemicals, sulfate detergents, synthetic colours, animal ingredients and parabens. Many of our guests are impressed by their products.

The Songkran celebrations combined with the activities we offered were much appreciated by other guests, too. This kind of water battle is unique and is a highlight in Chiang Mai that many people schedule their visit for.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#2 of 372 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
3.1 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.5 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#32 of 372 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,177 - ₹ 71,482
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing