We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of tranqulity in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranqulity in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Chedi for 5 nights during our honeymoon in April 2012. Arriving into Chiang Mai airport we went to look for our ore-arranged hotel transfer. A sleek black SLK Mercedes pulled up in front of me and I made a joke that it must be our ride. Low and behold it was! Fantastic!

We had booked the Club Lounge suite and would highly recommend it. Check in in the lounge was a breeze, and we were off to our room on the fourth floor before we knew it. We were awed at how gorgeous our room was - it was huge and so luxurious. The free mini bar was off the hook - decanters of spirits which were refilled everyday, and a fridge full of beer and mixers. Amazing.

The Club Lounge was beautiful and the 6-8pm complimentary cocktails and canapes were beyond fantastic. The quality of both the food and the drinks on offer was incredible. Indeed several nights we ate and drank so much in there that we didn't end up needing dinner! The staff were fantastic - very efficient, friendly and they even remembered what we'd had to drink the night before. Great service!

Breakfast was similarly high quality - the ala carte menu was delicious - and the caramalised banana pancakes with mange gelato sublime! Again, staff were great -very efficient without being intrusive.

Had a facial treatment in the spa. Yes it does cost more than at other places in Chiang Mai but you do get what you pay for. The experience was so relaxing, the facilities immaculate and my skin glowed for days afterwards.

We were in Chiang Mai during Songkran, and the hotel offered guests a tuk tuk to drive us around through all the madness with buckets of water, towels, etc thrown in. This was a fabulous experience, but it was even nicer to be able to escape the chaos and return to the Chedi to relax with a book by the gorgeous pool. Oh - and the drinks list available is fantastic - the wine list particularly is huge!

The location is perfect - with the night markets only a minutes walk away. It was hard to believe that all the hustle and bustle was only a few steps way - as the Chedi just radiates calmness and tranquility.

We had high tea on the day we left and it was lovely. New husband also loved the cigar bar. The hotel booked us a cooking school for one day we were there and it was a great experience.

We were really sad to be leaving the Chedi, it really is an incredible place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a classy, relaxing stay in five star facilities. And would stay there again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Lounge grade rooms if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear LarissaB,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and that you have very much appreciated our Club benefits, which are extended to all guests booking a Club Suite.

I appreciate your feedback on the facial you enjoyed. We use products from REN Skincare for our facial treatments. REN products are free from Synthetic fragrance, pore-blocking petrochemicals, sulfate detergents, synthetic colours, animal ingredients and parabens. Many of our guests are impressed by their products.

The Songkran celebrations combined with the activities we offered were much appreciated by other guests, too. This kind of water battle is unique and is a highlight in Chiang Mai that many people schedule their visit for.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    346
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,222
113
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was there while there was a smoke around Chiang Mai city but it's worth for my stay at this hotel. Friendly staffs and they're full of information of Chiang Mai and nearby. Even the location is on road side but it wasn't noisy at all. Nice view of Ping River and easy to access to night market.

I am sure that i will there once again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiggyBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear PiggyBuff,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I regret that you could not fully enjoy the surroundings due to the haze, which lasted for about two weeks.

I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Stefan Noll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in The Chedi, when we visited Thailand for our Honeymoon - Back in Jan 2010!! It is a memorable experience! Chedi staff were very polite and friendly!!! Very clean and amazing rooms, you will find everything you need!! They gave us a complimentary Champagne!! Reserve your stay in Chedi Now!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeeVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear NeeVas,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

Many of our return guests, just like yourself, have stayed with us first time during their honeymoon. Some of those, who live in the region, have made it a habit to return for their anniversary.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay as much as the first one and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Chedi for four nights with my three daughters. Four nights wasnt enough! This is truely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, being the avid traveller that I am.

Hospitality- the staff here have true Thai hospitality, always wanting to help and so kind. The hotel provided us with a 'butler' for our stay, we were picked up from the airport in style, they also booked another leg of our trip down to koh samui.

Rooms/grounds- once you arrive at the hotel you feel so calm. The architecture is so beautiful and integrated and the feung shui is perfect. When we arrived the room was so beautiful and huge! They had fresh fruit each day, laundry services, Epsom salts in the bath. They have wi-fi everywhere in the hotel which makes life a bit easier! The pool service was amazing they lay out your towels, bring you ice cold water and 'refresher spray to cool you down.

Spa - we used the spa a few times and every time it was wonderful. We did the ancient Balinese massage which was amazing and super relaxing and you can choose what scents you want for the oils. My daughters had a pedicure and they couldn't stop raving about it. The spa only used all natural products, even the nail polish!

Restaurant- we ate at the restaurant every morning for breakfast and it was great. They had a good selection of Thai and global food for the continental breakfast and the hot breakfast were 5 star. Great portion sizes, great quality and great service. We also had lunch by the pool a couple of times and it was just as good. The setting for the restaurant was also half the experience, sitting by the river and looking at the old British consulate building was just brilliant!

Concierge- the concierge were always there to help and like I said before they planned the second half of the trip to koh samui and were also very helpful when we had to change our flights to go home early ( we wished we could've stayed longer! ). I would have liked to have more information on the local culture and things to do that werent very touristy (we prefer culture over tourist attractions). I think that they should aim to understand what type of attractions we were looking for because when we arrived we were given a piece of paper that had headings and attractions underneath it. I would have liked it if they talked through the attractions with us instead of us asking lots of questions. But everywhere that we choose to go in the end, that was recommended by the hotel, was very good and they were very helpful and quick when planning, organizing, and paying when we choose something that we wanted to do.


Overall this hotel was amazing and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Family friendly, calm, and beautiful this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone and will definitely be back as soon as I can.

Thank you Chedi for a wonderful stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Susan F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel and that you have overall been impressed by the hotel's services. Kerry is originally from Perth, but has worked a long time in Hong Kong, before he opened his office in Singapore.

Our Spa is a favorite of many of our guests. We use products from REN, ila and VOYA. Ila means earth in Sanskrit and their products are entirely without synthetic chemicals. The founder of ila is Denise Leicester, she is a nurse, aromatherapist and yogist. Before launching the lable she traveled extensively and learned where to find the best ingredients, which she uses for her products today.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

My fiancee and I have travelled around the world a lot and stayed at many good hotels. We have to admit, The Chedi is truly one of the best hotels we have ever been to. We stayed at one of the huge and gorgeous club suites and just loved it. From service to food, location and rooms everything was perfect. We would definiteley stay there again when we got back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindalugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Lindalugano,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that you have enjoyed every possible aspect of the hotel during your stay and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
4.0 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
2.2 km away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,179 - ₹ 31,447
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing